University of North Carolina Wilmington
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of North Carolina Wilmington — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, University of North Carolina Wilmington says 20,393 first-year students applied and 13,101 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 64%. 2,754 admitted students enrolled (21% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1230–1340 and ACT of 24–29. Waitlist: 2,050 offered a spot and 389 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 20,393 | 13,101 | 64% | 2,754 | School-reported totals. |
n/a joined after being offered a spot. n/a of students who joined were admitted.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 2,050 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | n/a |
| Admitted from wait list | 389 |
| Joined after being offered | n/a |
| Admitted after joining | n/a |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Application fee: $80.
This school marks applicant interest as Considered. Read yield and wait-list behavior with that policy in mind.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
3 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 950 | 1,802 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 304 | 300 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 3,638 | 5,989 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 4,892 | 8,091 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 106 | 128 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 4,998 | 8,219 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1 | 1 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 16 | 26 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 569 | 1,326 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 586 | 1,353 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 34 | 64 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 620 | 1,417 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 5618 | 9636 | Not reported | 0 | 15,254 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 202 | 495 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 153 | 464 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 5 | 6 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 360 | 965 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 176 | 513 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 432 | 1,096 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 40 | 12 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 648 | 1,621 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3,594 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 18,848 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 26 | 154 | 261 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 245 | 1,355 | 1,381 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 63 | 608 | 620 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2,205 | 11,763 | 11,921 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 11 | 71 | 72 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 57 | 305 | 325 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 27 | 28 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 116 | 506 | 511 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 29 | 133 | 135 |
| Total | 2,754 | 14,922 | 15,254 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 5 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 3,752 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 70 |
| Master's degrees | 1,316 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 35 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 61 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 494 | 484 | 1,165 | 2,143 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 493 | 484 | 1,165 | 2,142 |
| Completed in less than four years | 255 | 307 | 646 | 1,208 |
| Completed in less than five years | 48 | 52 | 151 | 251 |
| Completed in less than six years | 12 | 4 | 37 | 53 |
| Total completers | 315 | 363 | 834 | 1,512 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 63.9% | 75% | 74.2% | 70.6% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 520 | 501 | 1,116 | 2,137 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 519 | 501 | 1,115 | 2,135 |
| Completed in less than four years | 273 | 287 | 631 | 1,191 |
| Completed in less than five years | 64 | 55 | 152 | 271 |
| Completed in less than six years | 13 | 8 | 27 | 48 |
| Total completers | 350 | 350 | 810 | 1,510 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 67.4% | 69.9% | 72.6% | 70.7% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 6,787 | 13,602 | Not reported | 4 | 20,393 |
| Admitted | 4,100 | 9,000 | Not reported | 1 | 13,101 |
| Enrolled full-time | 950 | 1,802 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 1 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2,754 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | Yes | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 5 | Not reported |
| ACT | 12 | Not reported |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,230 | 1,280 | 1,340 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 620 | 650 | 680 |
| SAT math | 610 | 630 | 660 |
| ACT composite | 24 | 27 | 29 |
| ACT math | 23 | 25 | 27 |
| ACT English | 23 | 26 | 30 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1,252 | 2,202 | Not reported | Not reported | 3,454 |
| Admitted | 1,146 | 2,036 | Not reported | Not reported | 3,182 |
| Enrolled | 704 | 1,179 | Not reported | Not reported | 1,883 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
7 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $4,443 | $4,443 |
| Tuition: in-state | $4,443 | $4,443 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $21,318 | $21,318 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | $2,834 | $2,834 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $14,268 | $14,268 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $9,128 | $9,128 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $5,140 | $5,140 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | The tuition & fees above are for the 2024-25 academic year. | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $860 | $860 | $860 |
| Food only | Not reported | $5,140 | $5,140 |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $9,128 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $14,268 |
| Transportation | $1,300 | $1,300 | $1,300 |
| Other expenses | $4,299 | $4,299 | $4,299 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 348 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $3,457 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 28 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | $1,857 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2,293 | 8,403 | 819 |
| Determined to have financial need | 1,294 | 5,777 | 683 |
| Awarded any aid | 1,267 | 5,657 | 620 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1,189 | 5,110 | 522 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 777 | 3,361 | 314 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 301 | 955 | 28 |
| Need fully met | 31 | 121 | 4 |
| Average percentage of need met | 58% | 57% | 42% |
| Average financial aid package | $11,569 | $12,168 | $8,310 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $7,760 | $8,185 | $5,175 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $1,918 | $2,328 | $1,644 |
| Average need-based loan | $5,497 | $5,340 | $3,770 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 892 | 52% | $27,202 |
| Federal loan programs | 860 | 50% | $19,246 |
| Institutional loan programs | 1 | 0% | $747 |
| State loan programs | 29 | 2% | $12,860 |
| Private student loans | 188 | 11% | $39,033 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 770 | 496 | 1,266 |
| Members of minority groups | 113 | 71 | 184 |
| Females | 412 | 304 | 716 |
| Males | 358 | 192 | 550 |
| Nonresidents | 101 | 8 | 109 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 646 | 177 | 823 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 124 | 297 | 421 |
| Bachelor's degree | 0 | 22 | 22 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 99 | 32 | 131 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 168 | 105 |
| 10-19 students | 458 | 122 |
| 20-29 students | 586 | 197 |
| 30-39 students | 255 | 40 |
| 40-49 students | 102 | 2 |
| 50-99 students | 112 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 44 | 0 |
| Total | 1,725 | 485 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 20% | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | 60% | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.4% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 26.1% |
| Business/marketing | 20% | Not reported | 17.7% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 0% | 100% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.