University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for University of Minnesota-Twin Cities — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$69,020
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
85%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$16,778
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,500
federal loans only
FSA
5%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
463numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESStreet Address Line 1:100 Church St. SE
CityMinneapolis
StateMN
Zip55,455
Country:US
Main Phone Number (Area Code)612
Main Phone Number:625-5000
WWW Home Page Address:https://twin -cities.umn.edu/
Admissions Email Address:admissions@umn.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://admissions.tc.umn.edu/apply/how-apply
CertificateX
DiplomaX
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 3108 | 3589 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 435 | 510 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 9494 | 11397 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 13037 | 15496 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 286 | 305 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 13323 | 15801 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 11 | 28 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 43 | 34 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 936 | 884 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 990 | 946 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 4629 | 5803 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 1159 | 1756 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2620 | 3767 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 11 | 4 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 322 | 407 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 2366 | 2740 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 65 | 117 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 2753 | 3264 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 466 | 1800 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 409 | 1826 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 654 | 2714 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 3720 | 18040 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 27 | 107 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 999 | 3998 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 13 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 373 | 1521 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 87 | 450 | Not reported |
| Total | 6736 | 30469 | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 7640 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 3100 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 753 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 1051 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1089 | 1172 | 3920 | 6181 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 1088 | 1171 | 3920 | 6179 |
| Completed in less than four years | 707 | 849 | 3025 | 4581 |
| Completed in less than five years | 99 | 86 | 357 | 542 |
| Completed in less than six years | 26 | 18 | 74 | 118 |
| Total completers | 832 | 953 | 3456 | 5241 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 76.5% | 81.4% | 88.2% | 84.8% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 90.9% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 18901 | 20862 | Not reported | 34,699 |
| Admitted | 14427 | 16218 | Not reported | 26,880 |
| Enrolled | 3111 | 3610 | Not reported | 6,721 |
| Enrolled full-time | 3100 | 3582 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 11 | 28 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied13,982
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted10,498
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied19,461
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted15,400
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied1,256
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted982
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Visual/Performing Arts1
Total academic units19
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Visual/Performing Arts1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 8 | 536 |
| ACT | 34.3 | 2312 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1328 | 1400 | 1460 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 640 | 680 | 720 |
| SAT math | 670 | 720 | 760 |
| ACT composite | 27 | 29 | 31 |
| ACT math | 25 | 28 | 31 |
| ACT English | 25 | 28 | 33 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80039.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69950.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5997.7
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4992.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 700-80064
SAT Math: 600-69928.3
SAT Math: 500-5997
SAT Math: 400-4990.8
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Composite: 1400-160052.8
SAT Composite: 1200-139941.6
SAT Composite: 1000-11994.9
SAT Composite: 800-9990.8
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-3644.6
ACT Composite: 24-2947.8
ACT Composite: 18-237.4
ACT Composite: 12-170.3
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class39.4
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class73
Percent in top half of high school graduating class96.9
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class3.1
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:37
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Amount of application fee:55
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month01
Application closing date (fall): Day01
Priority Date: Month11
Priority Date: Day01
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2641 | 2680 | Not reported | 5321 |
| Admitted | 1361 | 1436 | Not reported | 2797 |
| Enrolled | 765 | 811 | Not reported | 1576 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:⇒ None
Fall Closing Date: Month02
Spring Closing Date: Month10
Fall Notification Date: Month06
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Fall Closing Date:Day01
Spring Closing Date: Day01
Fall Notification Date: Day01
Spring Notification Date: Day01
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
External degree programX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)29%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing78%
Percent who live off campus or commute22%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)25%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing25%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older5%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Living Learning CommunitiesX
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 988 | 2663 | 57 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 5481 | 5745 | 3620 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 22 | 73 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 9606 | 9791 | Not reported |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$41,172,719
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$59,742,446
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$80,184,306
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$11,054,911
Total Scholarships/Grants$192,154,382
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$75,101,666
Federal Work-Study$6,050,870
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$15,654,844
Total Self-Help$96,807,380
Parent Loans$5,153,877
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$10,822,361
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$282,417
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$19,198,200
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,228,164
Total Scholarships/Grants$23,708,781
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$73,983,688
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$73,983,688
Parent Loans$16,770,362
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,389,429
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 6697 | 28533 | 1936 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 5512 | 19666 | 1000 |
| Determined to have financial need | 3405 | 13646 | 792 |
| Awarded any aid | 3380 | 13457 | 740 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3028 | 11985 | 609 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 2661 | 10489 | 556 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 304 | 1212 | 23 |
| Need fully met | 918 | 3624 | 69 |
| Average percentage of need met | 77.3 | 76.6 | 51.8 |
| Average financial aid package | 17880 | 17405 | 9838 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 15530 | 14537 | 7244 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 5040 | 5720 | 5159 |
| Average need-based loan | 3402 | 4260 | 4066 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.5,374
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:⇒ Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID -19 pandemic? ☐Yes ☐No Common Data Set 2023-2024
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 2432 | 1135 | 3567 |
| Members of minority groups | 527 | 162 | 689 |
| Females | 1125 | 559 | 1684 |
| Males | 1307 | 576 | 1883 |
| Nonresidents | 130 | 25 | 155 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 2271 | 742 | 3013 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 105 | 218 | 323 |
| Bachelor's degree | 25 | 94 | 119 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 31 | 81 | 112 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
based on ____ students333
and ____ faculty2,245
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 578 | 134 |
| 10-19 students | 578 | 134 |
| 20-29 students | 1141 | 304 |
| 30-39 students | 1001 | 304 |
| 40-49 students | 441 | 106 |
| 50-99 students | 293 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 497 | 1663 |
| Total | 312 | 1663 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Communication/journalism | 4.6% | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 0.5% | Not reported | 10.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Education | 33.3% | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 10.1% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 2.5% | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 12% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 7.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Health professions and related programs | 3% | Not reported | 6.5% |
| Business/marketing | 55.6% | Not reported | 11.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.