University of Michigan-Flint
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for University of Michigan-Flint — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Apr 26, 2021. Subscribe via RSS.
Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2020-21 template isn't published yet.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
6 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 5424 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1405 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6829 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 2 | 95 | 96 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 76 | 621 | 691 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 411 | 3335 | 3694 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 31 | 33 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 13 | 94 | 104 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 4 | 4 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 22 | 167 | 171 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 6 | 109 | 352 |
| Total | 559 | 4722 | 5424 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 0 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1066 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 2 |
| Master's degrees | 364 |
| Post-master's certificates | 14 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 314 | 81 | 200 | 595 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 314 | 81 | 200 | 595 |
| Completed in less than four years | 32 | 11 | 39 | 82 |
| Completed in less than five years | 41 | 18 | 41 | 100 |
| Completed in less than six years | 21 | 10 | 11 | 42 |
| Total completers | 94 | 39 | 96 | 224 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 30% | 48% | 48% | 38% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 302 | 106 | 257 | 665 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 302 | 106 | 256 | 664 |
| Completed in less than four years | 29 | 11 | 66 | 106 |
| Completed in less than five years | 55 | 15 | 44 | 114 |
| Completed in less than six years | 23 | 10 | 14 | 47 |
| Total completers | 107 | 36 | 124 | 267 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.354304636% | 0.339622642% | 0.484375% | 0.402108434% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 72.40% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | — | Yes |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 92 | 517 |
| ACT | 13 | 72 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 970 | Not reported | 1200 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 490 | Not reported | 610 |
| SAT math | 480 | Not reported | 600 |
| ACT composite | 19 | Not reported | 26 |
| ACT math | 17 | Not reported | 25 |
| ACT English | 18 | Not reported | 26 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
4 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 413 | 909 | Not reported | 1322 |
| Admitted | 274 | 642 | Not reported | 916 |
| Enrolled | 153 | 347 | Not reported | 500 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
2 TABLESAnnual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 12438 | 12438 |
| Tuition: in-state | 12438 | 12438 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 24168 | 24168 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 24168 | 24168 |
| Required fees | 454 | 454 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 696 | 2784 | 2784 |
| Other expenses | 1348 | 1348 | 1348 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 85 | 199 | 16 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 4798 | 4817 | 1564 |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 3538 | 1588 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 516 | 2966 | 1106 |
| Determined to have financial need | 406 | 2578 | 998 |
| Awarded any aid | 404 | 2545 | 929 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 284 | 1861 | 617 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 261 | 1823 | 624 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 296 | 1539 | 411 |
| Need fully met | 54 | 183 | 30 |
| Average percentage of need met | 72.0 | 68.0 | 58.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 12571 | 13143 | 9340 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 8414 | 7220 | 4132 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3296 | 4234 | 3909 |
| Average need-based loan | 2984 | 4054 | 3868 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 246 | 68.00 | 30813 |
| Federal loan programs | 240 | 66.00 | 28225 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 41 | 11.00 | 19663 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 273 | 229 | 502 |
| Members of minority groups | 58 | 40 | 98 |
| Females | 155 | 138 | 293 |
| Males | 118 | 91 | 209 |
| Nonresidents | 7 | 1 | 8 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 203 | 77 | 280 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 65 | 133 | 198 |
| Bachelor's degree | 3 | 16 | 19 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 62 | 8 |
| 10-19 students | 62 | 8 |
| 20-29 students | 154 | 50 |
| 30-39 students | 209 | 34 |
| 40-49 students | 57 | 3 |
| 50-99 students | 10 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 13 | 0 |
| Total | 0 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 33% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 22% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.0% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.