University of Miami
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for University of Miami — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 17, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$75,328
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
84%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$37,244
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$17,500
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
225numbers from this report.
General Information
7 TABLESFirst Name:Dave Becher,
Last Name:Ed.D.
Title:Associate Provost
Office:Office of Planning, Institutional Research, and Assessment
Address Line 1:Gables One Tower, Suite 260, 1320 S. Dixie Hwy.,
Zipcode33,146
Phone:(305) 284-3856
Email Address:davebecher@miami.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://pira.miami.edu/facts-and-information/common-data-set/index.html
City:Coral Gables
StateFL
Name of College/University:University of Miami
Street Address Line 1:P.O. Box 248025
CityCoral Gables, FL 33124, U.S.A.
Main Phone Number:(305) 284-2211
WWW Home Page Address:www.m iam i.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(305) 284-4323
Admissions Email Address:admission@miami.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 11117 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6214 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 17331 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 333 | 1631 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 406 | 2428 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 216 | 917 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1106 | 4581 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 4 | 15 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 112 | 537 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 4 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 86 | 330 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 103 | 425 | Not reported |
| Total | 2366 | 10868 | 0 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 6 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 2661 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 144 |
| Master's degrees | 1602 |
| Post-master's certificates | 6 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2014 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2014 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 15556 | 18723 | Not reported | 34,279 |
| Admitted | 5259 | 5761 | Not reported | 11,020 |
| Enrolled | 1124 | 1218 | Not reported | 2,342 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 1218 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 18 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language4
Social studies4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | Yes | — | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | Yes | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 51 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 620 | 690 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 630 | 740 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 29 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 26 | 31 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 29 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class55
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class83
Percent in top half of high school graduating class95
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class5
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7426
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4920
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.994
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.60
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1222 | 1363 | Not reported | 2585 |
| Admitted | 619 | 763 | Not reported | 1382 |
| Enrolled | 257 | 352 | Not reported | 609 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
Fall Closing Date: Month1
Spring Closing Date: Month1
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:2
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)70%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing89%
Percent who live off campus or commute11%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)60%
Percent of males who join fraternities17%
Percent of females who join sororities18%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing38%
Percent who live off campus or commute62%
Percent of students age 25 and older5%
Average age of full-time students18.1
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.1
Average age of full-time students20.1
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20.5
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/miami
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 50400 | 50400 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1530 | 1530 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$10,281,752
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$88,287,424
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,167,753
Total Scholarships/Grants$108,557,177
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$9,432,987
Federal Work-Study$5,945,070
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$13,935
Total Self-Help$15,391,992
Parent Loans$1,578,300
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,952,275
Athletic Awards$998,625
Federal$7,392
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$68,646,358
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$13,014,677
Total Scholarships/Grants$96,074,857
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$94,426
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$558,500
Total Self-Help$652,926
Parent Loans$15,762,856
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$18,678,363
Athletic Awards$12,495,251
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,877
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Moving toward meeting 100% of a student's demonstrated need using Institutional Methodology (IM).
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio12
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 17% | Not reported | 1% |
| Architecture | 17% | Not reported | 1% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 8% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 17% | Not reported | 2% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 10% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 15% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 33% | Not reported | 6% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| Business/marketing | 17% | Not reported | 21% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 0% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.