University of Louisville
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for University of Louisville — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$53,899
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
61%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$17,988
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,500
federal loans only
FSA
11%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
478numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESStreet Address Line 1:2301 South Third Street
CityLouisville
StateKy
Zip40,292
Country:United States of America
Main Phone Number:(502)852-6531
WWW Home Page Address:www.louisville.edu
Admissions Email Address:admitme@louisville.edu
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1259 | 1658 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 418 | 495 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 3464 | 4431 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 5141 | 6584 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 44 | 33 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 5185 | 6617 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 100 | 100 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 137 | 181 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 841 | 1103 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 1078 | 1384 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 1789 | 2603 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 541 | 728 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1150 | 1598 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 32 | 13 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 147 | 148 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 678 | 706 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 83 | 121 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 908 | 975 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 36 | 188 | 233 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 311 | 1172 | 1357 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 513 | 2217 | 2530 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1863 | 8880 | 9921 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 5 | 22 | 28 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 183 | 786 | 949 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 8 | 10 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 205 | 898 | 1005 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 1 | 16 | 161 |
| Total | 3117 | 14187 | 16194 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 146 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 2938 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 1762 |
| Post-master's certificates | 8 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 159 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 415 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 882 | 448 | 1310 | 2640 |
| Did not persist | 11 | 8 | 14 | 33 |
| Final cohort | 871 | 440 | 1296 | 2607 |
| Completed in less than four years | 270 | 187 | 674 | 1131 |
| Completed in less than five years | 125 | 61 | 174 | 360 |
| Completed in less than six years | 30 | 19 | 41 | 90 |
| Total completers | 425 | 267 | 889 | 1581 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 48.8% | 60.7% | 68.6% | 60.6% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 824 | 455 | 1465 | 2744 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 4 | 14 | 30 |
| Final cohort | 812 | 451 | 1451 | 2714 |
| Completed in less than four years | 274 | 183 | 698 | 1155 |
| Completed in less than five years | 118 | 75 | 231 | 424 |
| Completed in less than six years | 35 | 19 | 54 | 108 |
| Total completers | 427 | 277 | 983 | 1687 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 52.6% | 61.4% | 67.7% | 62.2% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 80.5% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 6174 | 8647 | Not reported | 14,821 |
| Admitted | 4979 | 6958 | Not reported | 11,937 |
| Enrolled | 1359 | 1758 | Not reported | 3,117 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1259 | 1658 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 100 | 100 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units22
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Academic electives5
Visual/Performing Arts1
Total academic units11
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 15 | 478 |
| ACT | 88 | 2736 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1010 | 1120 | 1220 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 510 | 570 | 630 |
| SAT math | 510 | 560 | 620 |
| ACT composite | 19 | 23 | 27 |
| ACT math | 17 | 22 | 26 |
| ACT English | 19 | 23 | 28 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8007.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69932.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59943.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49915.6
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990.6
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 700-8008.6
SAT Math: 600-69924.2
SAT Math: 500-59947.6
SAT Math: 400-49917.6
SAT Math: 300-3992
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Composite: 1400-16005.4
SAT Composite: 1200-139924.1
SAT Composite: 1000-119948.5
SAT Composite: 800-99921.1
SAT Composite: 600-7990.8
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-3614.8
ACT Composite: 24-2929.9
ACT Composite: 18-2338.7
ACT Composite: 12-1716.4
ACT Composite: 6-110.2
ACT Composite: Below 60
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA of 4.036
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9918.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7414.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4912.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.249.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.998.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.6
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.3
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:100
Amount of application fee:30
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month08
Application closing date (fall): Day01
Priority Date: Month02
Priority Date: Day15
If yes, maximum period of postponement:one year
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 991 | 1849 | Not reported | 2840 |
| Admitted | 725 | 1226 | Not reported | 1951 |
| Enrolled | 373 | 594 | Not reported | 967 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:⇒ GPA minimum varies based on academic unit
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)26%
Percent of males who join fraternities14%
Percent of females who join sororities10%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing63%
Percent who live off campus or commute37%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)23%
Percent of males who join fraternities14%
Percent of females who join sororities10%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing35%
Percent who live off campus or commute65%
Percent of students age 25 and older13%
Average age of full-time students17.4
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)17.5
Average age of full-time students20.1
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21.1
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | 29286 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | 12940 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | 12940 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | 29286 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | 196 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | 12176 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | 7514 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | 4662 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1274 | 1274 | 1274 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 12176 |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 620 | 2145 | 61 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 9707 | 9727 | 3866 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 111 | 441 | 8 |
| Average athletic grant | 24399 | 24094 | 24413 |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$27,346,897
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$24,574,064
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$34,753,554
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,359,589
Total Scholarships/Grants$94,034,104
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$28,412,799
Federal Work-Study$6,129,719
Total Self-Help$34,542,519
Parent Loans$5,162,252
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,509,365
Athletic Awards$3,195,162
Federal$20,209
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$5,965,827
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$28,509,750
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,505,184
Total Scholarships/Grants$40,000,970
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$12,200,011
Total Self-Help$12,200,011
Parent Loans$5,913,325
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,956,045
Athletic Awards$9,006,088
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 2917 | 11725 | 2462 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2446 | 8594 | 1622 |
| Determined to have financial need | 2068 | 7354 | 1455 |
| Awarded any aid | 2053 | 7156 | 1265 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2041 | 6880 | 1120 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1041 | 3899 | 562 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 276 | 766 | 80 |
| Need fully met | 405 | 1241 | 114 |
| Average percentage of need met | 67 | 62 | 43 |
| Average financial aid package | 18488 | 16492 | 8345 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 15061 | 13487 | 7098 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 5215 | 4152 | 5191 |
| Average need-based loan | 3491 | 4152 | 3930 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,831
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:⇒ The Cardinal Commitment Grant aims to eliminate financial barriers to college for eligible Kentucky students. This grant is intended to provide aid for college-ready Kentucky students, giving them the financial support needed to earn a degree from the University of Louisville. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐Yes ☒No Common Data Set 2023-2024
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 929 | 674 | 1603 |
| Members of minority groups | 193 | 144 | 337 |
| Females | 441 | 385 | 826 |
| Males | 488 | 289 | 777 |
| Nonresidents | 112 | 18 | 130 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 811 | 158 | 969 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 95 | 205 | 300 |
| Bachelor's degree | 8 | 34 | 42 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 15 | 277 | 292 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 858 | 194 | 1052 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio13.73
based on ____ students15,837
and ____ faculty1,154
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 437 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 437 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 657 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 812 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 358 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 151 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 192 | Not reported |
| Total | 64 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 5.1% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 13.6% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.3% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 7.9% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.1% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.3% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 14.4% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 8.9% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.