University of Louisville
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for University of Louisville — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$53,899
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
61%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$17,988
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,500
federal loans only
FSA
11%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
406numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESMain Phone Number:(502)852- 6531
WWW Home Page Address:www.louisville.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(502)852- 6531
Admissions Email Address:admitme@louisville.edu
AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 16 | 176 | 186 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 199 | 885 | 970 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 361 | 1876 | 2081 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1944 | 9746 | 10863 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 16 | 19 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 130 | 678 | 791 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 5 | 5 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 210 | 911 | 990 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 3 | 16 | 22 |
| Total | 2866 | 14309 | 15927 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 45 |
| Associate degrees | 5 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 3112 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 1359 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 443 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 857 | 464 | 1509 | 2830 |
| Did not persist | 16 | 3 | 12 | 31 |
| Final cohort | 841 | 461 | 1497 | 2799 |
| Completed in less than four years | 236 | 153 | 639 | 1028 |
| Completed in less than five years | 147 | 83 | 297 | 527 |
| Completed in less than six years | 40 | 23 | 72 | 135 |
| Total completers | 423 | 259 | 1008 | 1690 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 50.3% | 56.2% | 67.3% | 60.4% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 846 | 472 | 1487 | 2805 |
| Did not persist | 6 | 4 | 6 | 16 |
| Final cohort | 840 | 468 | 1481 | 2789 |
| Completed in less than four years | 239 | 144 | 656 | 1039 |
| Completed in less than five years | 130 | 93 | 263 | 486 |
| Completed in less than six years | 36 | 20 | 52 | 108 |
| Total completers | 405 | 257 | 971 | 1633 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 54.9% | 65.6% | 58.6% | 58.6% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 80.9% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 7068 | 9530 | Not reported | 16,598 |
| Admitted | 4666 | 6244 | Not reported | 10,910 |
| Enrolled | 1256 | 1352 | Not reported | 2,608 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 1352 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 117 | 141 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units22
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
History5
Computer Science1
Total academic units11
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 14 | 410 |
| ACT | 100 | 2334 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 530 | 640 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 520 | 640 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 21 | 29 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 20 | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 21 | 30 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80010
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69931
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59949
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4999
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-8009
SAT Math: 600-69932
SAT Math: 500-59947
SAT Math: 400-49912
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: 30-3620.3
ACT Composite: 24-2935.3
ACT Composite: 18-2341
ACT Composite: 12-173.5
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent who had GPA of 4.035.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9919.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4912.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.248.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.998.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.9
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.2
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Amount of application fee:25
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month8
Application closing date (fall): Day01
Priority Date: Month2
Priority Date: Day15
If yes, maximum period of postponement:Click or tap here to enter text.
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1282 | 1966 | Not reported | 3248 |
| Admitted | 791 | 1195 | Not reported | 1986 |
| Enrolled | 365 | 539 | Not reported | 904 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:⇒ GPA minimum varies based on academic unit
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
2 TABLESCampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 11966 | 11966 |
| Tuition: in-state | 11966 | 11966 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 28312 | 28312 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 28512 | 28512 |
| Required fees | 196 | 196 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1200 | 1200 | 1200 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-district:$499
Out-of-state:$1,180
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 502 | 1840 | 152 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 9042 | 9133 | 8265 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 87 | 421 | 15 |
| Average athletic grant | 24347 | 23964 | 14040 |
Academic Year2020-2021 estimated
Federal$20,677,849
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$14,448,954
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$25,418,705
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,806,296
Total Scholarships/Grants$68,351,804
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$30,085,003
Federal Work-Study$963,601
Total Self-Help$31,048,604
Parent Loans$4,897,966
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,022,409
Athletic Awards$3,816,464
Federal$8,934
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$6,998,331
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$22,216,665
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,799,380
Total Scholarships/Grants$35,023,310
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$14,217,325
Total Self-Help$14,217,325
Parent Loans$5,310,797
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,102,008
Athletic Awards$7,973,146
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 2608 | 11547 | 2762 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2359 | 8997 | 1853 |
| Determined to have financial need | 1799 | 7221 | 1546 |
| Awarded any aid | 1769 | 6973 | 1335 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1733 | 6560 | 1173 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 816 | 3777 | 600 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 291 | 878 | 111 |
| Need fully met | 351 | 1188 | 149 |
| Average percentage of need met | 56 | 56 | 42 |
| Average financial aid package | 13255 | 12765 | 7103 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | Not reported | 5985 |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | 3229 |
| Average need-based loan | 4022 | 3868 | Not reported |
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1092 | 55 | 25324 |
| Federal loan programs | 1069 | 54 | 20363 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 253 | 13 | 23269 |
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:- [x] ⇒ Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic?
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 917 | 790 | 1707 |
| Members of minority groups | 220 | 178 | 398 |
| Females | 400 | 469 | 869 |
| Males | 517 | 321 | 838 |
| Nonresidents | 30 | 11 | 41 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 789 | 265 | 1054 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 115 | 328 | 443 |
| Bachelor's degree | 5 | 57 | 62 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 8 | 140 | 148 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 835 | 181 | 1016 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio13.49
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 404 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 404 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 708 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 787 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 346 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 147 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 185 | Not reported |
| Total | 58 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.02% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 7.20% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 7.87% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 13.04% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.33% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 100% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.13% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.33% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 70% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 7.74% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 67% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.62% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6.03% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 4.32% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.75% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.09% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.33% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 10.89% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 17.61% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.24% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.