University of Kentucky
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for University of Kentucky — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$59,025
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
71%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$18,851
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,500
federal loans only
FSA
9%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
223numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 51 | 495 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 349 | 1136 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 372 | 1571 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 4031 | 16477 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 14 | 41 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 151 | 620 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 3 | 12 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 258 | 878 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 119 | 634 | Not reported |
| Total | 5348 | 21864 | 0 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 204 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 5100 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 151 |
| Master's degrees | 1253 |
| Post-master's certificates | 23 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 337 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 622 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2015 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2015 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 85.0% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 7648 | 11111 | Not reported | 18,759 |
| Admitted | 7285 | 10696 | Not reported | 17,981 |
| Enrolled | 2240 | 3053 | Not reported | 5,293 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 3053 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 39 | 16 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units24
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
History7
Computer Science1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 23 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1070 | 1310 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 540 | 650 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 530 | 670 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 22 | 29 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 22 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 22 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class33
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class58.6
Percent in top half of high school graduating class84.8
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class15.2
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class3.6
Percent who had GPA of 4.010.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9928.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7421.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2410.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9910.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.9
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.52
Amount of application fee:50
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:6 months
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 843 | 930 | Not reported | 1773 |
| Admitted | 678 | 774 | Not reported | 1452 |
| Enrolled | 483 | 519 | Not reported | 1002 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month8
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?Yes
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:https://www.uky.edu/veterans/content/military-transfer-credit
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)36%
Percent of males who join fraternities22%
Percent of females who join sororities43%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing89%
Percent who live off campus or commute12%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)31%
Percent of males who join fraternities22%
Percent of females who join sororities35%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing33%
Percent who live off campus or commute67%
Percent of students age 25 and older6%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 29945 | 29945 |
| Tuition: in-district | 11135 | 11135 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | 1349 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
In-district:$464
In-state (out-of-district):$464
Out-of-state:$1,248
Financial Aid
7 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$26,533,679
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$116,642,881
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,992,518
Total Scholarships/Grants$180,556,209
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$88,456,176
Federal Work-Study$406,051
Total Self-Help$88,862,226
Parent Loans$38,753,429
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,155,110
Athletic Awards$13,089,432
Total Scholarships/Grants$0
Total Self-Help$0
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.3,777
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:303
If yes, starting date (Month):2
If yes, starting date (Day):15
AcademicsX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:The University of Kentucky implemented the Leveraging Economic Affordability for Developing Success (UK LEADS) program, which provides one-time grants to help retain academically successful students with unmet financial need. In the 2017-18 academic year, UK LEADS grants averaging $7,500 were awarded to 365 undergraduates. UK is
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
based on ____ students24,999
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 7.4% | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.5% | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Communication/journalism | 14.7% | Not reported | 8.2% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 1.5% | Not reported | 7.7% |
| Engineering | 27.9% | Not reported | 9.5% |
| Engineering technologies | 2.5% | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 0.5% | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 14.2% | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Social sciences | 6.9% | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 2.0% | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Health professions and related programs | 8.8% | Not reported | 10.0% |
| Business/marketing | 13.2% | Not reported | 21.6% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 0.00% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.