University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 15, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign says 73,742 first-year students applied and 31,247 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 42%. 9,008 admitted students enrolled (29% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1390–1520 and ACT of 30–34. Waitlist: 2,794 offered a spot, 1,874 accepted one, and 1 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 73,742 | 31,247 | 42% | 9,008 | School-reported totals. |
67% joined after being offered a spot. 0% of students who joined were admitted. 4% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 2,794 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 1,874 |
| Admitted from wait list | 1 |
| Joined after being offered | 67% |
| Admitted after joining | 0% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
7 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 4,535 | 4,468 | 0 | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 284 | 273 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 13,588 | 12,459 | 0 | 11 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 18,407 | 17,200 | 0 | 12 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 332 | 153 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 18,739 | 17,353 | 0 | 12 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 7 | 5 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 425 | 197 | 0 | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 435 | 203 | 0 | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 208 | 180 | 0 | 9 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 643 | 383 | 0 | 10 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 19,382 | 17,736 | 0 | 22 | 37,140 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 2,330 | 1,960 | 0 | 19 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 5,084 | 4,027 | 0 | 29 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 34 | 23 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 7,448 | 6,010 | 0 | 48 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 841 | 609 | 0 | 13 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 3,709 | 2,746 | 0 | 48 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 304 | 312 | 0 | 10 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 4,854 | 3,667 | 0 | 71 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 12,302 | 9,677 | 0 | 119 | 22,098 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 31,684 | 27,413 | 0 | 141 | 59,238 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 1,250 | 5,045 | 5,533 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1,434 | 5,226 | 5,266 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 443 | 1,925 | 1,944 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 3,112 | 13,609 | 13,824 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 3 | 12 | 12 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2,153 | 8,378 | 8,419 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 11 | 12 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 392 | 1,493 | 1,512 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 219 | 559 | 618 |
| Total | 9,008 | 36,258 | 37,140 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 0 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 8,587 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 426 |
| Master's degrees | 6,489 |
| Post-master's certificates | 6 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 870 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 374 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,917 | 1,074 | 4,609 | 7,600 |
| Did not persist | 4 | 1 | 2 | 7 |
| Final cohort | 1,913 | 1,073 | 4,607 | 7,593 |
| Completed in less than four years | 1,198 | 796 | 3,565 | 5,559 |
| Completed in less than five years | 224 | 90 | 444 | 758 |
| Completed in less than six years | 50 | 13 | 84 | 147 |
| Total completers | 1,472 | 899 | 4,093 | 6,464 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.8% | 0.8% | 0.9% | 0.9% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,849 | 1,125 | 4,529 | 7,503 |
| Did not persist | 3 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Final cohort | 1,846 | 1,125 | 4,527 | 7,498 |
| Completed in less than four years | 1,171 | 847 | 3,492 | 5,510 |
| Completed in less than five years | 204 | 95 | 427 | 726 |
| Completed in less than six years | 41 | 13 | 75 | 129 |
| Total completers | 1,416 | 955 | 3,994 | 6,365 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.8% | 0.8% | 0.9% | 0.8% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | N/A | N/A |
| Did not persist | N/A | N/A |
| Final cohort | N/A | N/A |
| Completed program in less than two years | N/A | N/A |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | N/A | N/A |
| Completed program in less than four years | N/A | N/A |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | N/A | N/A |
| Transfers out | N/A | N/A |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | N/A | N/A |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | N/A | N/A |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | 0.9 |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 41,597 | 32,124 | 0 | 21 | 73,742 |
| Admitted | 15,134 | 16,102 | 0 | 11 | 31,247 |
| Enrolled full-time | 4,538 | 4,469 | 0 | 1 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 9,008 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 0.4 | 3,719 |
| ACT | 0.1 | 1,291 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,390 | 1,470 | 1,520 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 680 | 720 | 750 |
| SAT math | 700 | 770 | 790 |
| ACT composite | 30 | 33 | 34 |
| ACT math | 29 | 32 | 35 |
| ACT English | 32 | 34 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 3,370 | 2,335 | 0 | 10 | 5,715 |
| Admitted | 1,526 | 1,218 | 0 | 4 | 2,748 |
| Enrolled | 837 | 708 | 0 | 2 | 1,547 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
5 TABLESAnnual Expenses
9 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | N/A | N/A |
| Tuition: in-district | $12,992 | $12,712 |
| Tuition: in-state | $12,992 | $12,712 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $33,344 | $31,832 |
| Tuition: nonresident | $34,338 | $32,780 |
| Required fees | $5,056 | $5,056 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $15,184 | $14,020 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $8,094 | $7,268 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $7,090 | $6,752 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | XXXXX | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $1,200 | $1,200 | $1,200 |
| Food only | Not reported | XXXXX | XXXXX |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | XXXXX |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $15,184 |
| Transportation | $500 | $500 | $500 |
| Other expenses | $2,000 | $2,000 | $2,000 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 67 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $3,644 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 7 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | $11,646 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 33,994 | 629 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 21,534 | 226 | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | 15,331 | 169 | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 14,731 | 148 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 13,568 | 136 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 9,648 | 62 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2,403 | 15 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 2,734 | 35 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 1% | 1% | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | $23,217 | $16,509 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $21,943 | $16,223 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | $4,688 | $3,868 | $1,045 |
| Average need-based loan | $4,272 | $3,530 | Not reported |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 2,923 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Federal loan programs | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Institutional loan programs | 40,705 | Not reported | $5,836 |
| State loan programs | Not reported | x | Not reported |
| Private student loans | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 2,691 | 306 | 2,997 |
| Members of minority groups | 819 | 46 | 865 |
| Females | 1,151 | 150 | 1,301 |
| Males | 1,540 | 156 | 1,696 |
| Nonresidents | 204 | 68 | 272 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 2,458 | 157 | 2,615 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 172 | 66 | 238 |
| Bachelor's degree | 58 | 31 | 89 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 3 | 52 | 55 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 245 | 73 | 318 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 523 | 630 |
| 10-19 students | 953 | 717 |
| 20-29 students | 951 | 1,316 |
| 30-39 students | 412 | 724 |
| 40-49 students | 276 | 146 |
| 50-99 students | 419 | 182 |
| 100+ students | 356 | 135 |
| Total | 3,890 | 3,850 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 1.0% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.