University of Alaska Fairbanks
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for University of Alaska Fairbanks — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$48,866
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
38%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$10,892
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,291
federal loans only
FSA
20%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
434numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Public
CertificateX
AssociateX
Transfer AssociateX
Terminal AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6879 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 5 | 54 | 80 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 59 | 353 | 441 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 9 | 153 | 193 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 372 | 2153 | 3078 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 100 | 594 | 849 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 22 | 100 | 131 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 4 | 26 | 38 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 78 | 446 | 586 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 29 | 231 | 496 |
| Total | 678 | 4110 | 5892 |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 67.93% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
SATX
ACTX
CLEPX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 636 | 766 | Not reported | 1,402 |
| Admitted | 426 | 481 | Not reported | 907 |
| Enrolled | 255 | 247 | Not reported | 502 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 247 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 33 | 88 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Social studies3
Foreign language2
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | — | Yes |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | — | Yes |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | — | Yes |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 13 | 84 |
| ACT | 18 | 110 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1125 | 1330 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 568 | 670 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 550 | 670 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 16 | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 16 | 25 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 15 | 26 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80017.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69946.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59928.6
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4994.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3992.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80014.1
SAT Math: 600-69936.5
SAT Math: 500-59938.8
SAT Math: 400-49910.6
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160015.1
SAT Composite: 1200-139944.2
SAT Composite: 1000-119934.9
SAT Composite: 800-9995.8
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3610.2
ACT Composite: 24-2933.1
ACT Composite: 18-2328.0
ACT Composite: 12-1727.1
ACT Composite: 6-111.7
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class20
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class41
Percent in top half of high school graduating class75
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class7
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class7
Percent who had GPA of 4.00
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9929.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7420.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2411.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9917.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.494.5
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.6
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X
Application closing date (fall): Month6
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Priority Date: Month2
Priority Date: Day15
Amount of housing deposit:7
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESDescribe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:- D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit: C/2.00 Number Unit Type - D13 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution: Depends on specific degree Number Depends on Unit Type - D14 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution: specific degree - D15 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree: 15.00 - D16 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor's degree: 30.00 - D17 Describe other transfer credit policies: ## D18-D22: Military Service Transfer Credit Policies - D18 Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits: Yes No Number Unit Type - D19 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on military education evaluated by the American Council on Education (ACE): Number Unit Type - D20 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on Department of Defense supported prior learning assessments (College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)): Yes No - D21 Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website? - D22 Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution: Credits may be awarded for formal service schooling and military occupational specialties (MOS) based on recommendations published by the American Council on Education. ACE military credit recommendations can be found online. Credit completed through the Community College of the Air Force or Department of Defense courses is included in the category of military X If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located: No set limit. Must meet residency requirements of No set limit. Must meet residency American Council on Education (ACE) College Level Examination Program (CLEP) DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST) ##
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:Credits may be awarded for formal service schooling and military occupational specialties (MOS) based on recommendations published by the American Council on Education. ACE military credit recommendations can be found online. Credit completed through the Community College of the Air Force or Department of Defense courses is included in the category of military X If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located: No set limit. Must meet residency requirements of No set limit. Must meet residency American Council on Education (ACE) College Level Examination Program (CLEP) DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST) ## D12-D17: Transfer Credit Policies https://catalog.uaf.edu/getting-started/transferring-credits/ - E1 Special study options: Identify those programs available at your institution. Refer to the glossary for definitions. - [x] X Accelerated program - [ ] X Cooperative education program - [ ] X Cross-registration - [ ] X Distance learning - [ ] X Double major - [ ] X Dual enrollment - [ ] X English as a Second Language (ESL) - [ ] X Exchange student program (domestic) - [ ] X External degree program - [ ] X Honors Program - [ ] X Independent study - [ ] X Internships - [ ] Liberal arts/career combination - [ ] X Student-designed major - [ ] X Study abroad - [ ] X Teacher certification program - [ ] X Weekend college - [ ] X Other (specify): - E2 Has been removed from the CDS. - E3 Areas in which all or most students are required to complete some course work prior to graduation: - [ ] X Arts/fine arts - [ ] Computer literacy - [ ] X English (including composition) - [ ] Foreign languages - [ ] History - [x] X Humanities - [x] X Mathematics - [ ] Philosophy - [ ] X Sciences (biological or physical) - [ ] X Social science - [ ] X Other (describe): ##
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
External degree programX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Other (specify):X
Specify:-
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Describe:## E. ACADEMIC OFFERINGS AND POLICIES
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)17%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing40%
Percent who live off campus or commute60%
Percent of students age 25 and older8%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)18%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing19%
Percent who live off campus or commute81%
Percent of students age 25 and older29%
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Average age of full-time students23
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)27
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Symphony orchestraX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Other housing options (specify):X
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 7800 | 8670 |
| Tuition: in-state | 7800 | 8670 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 24780 | 25650 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 24780 | 25650 |
| Required fees | 2082 | 2117 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?Yes
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 2000 | 2000 | 2000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 400 | 2000 | 2000 |
| Other expenses | 2250 | 2250 | 2250 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 84 | 328 | 41 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 3771 | 3953 | 3788 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 19 | 74 | 2 |
| Average athletic grant | 8045 | 12576 | 4375 |
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Federal$5,244,000
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,337,113
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$1,951,332
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,379,765
Total Scholarships/Grants$11,912,210
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$6,942,474
Federal Work-Study$90,526
Total Self-Help$7,033,000
Parent Loans$275,350
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$269,544
Federal$1,538
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$1,812,743
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$1,457,716
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,639,186
Total Scholarships/Grants$4,911,183
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,506,307
Total Self-Help$1,506,307
Parent Loans$242,011
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$939,351
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 513 | 2343 | 1923 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 472 | 1959 | 1184 |
| Determined to have financial need | 269 | 1269 | 935 |
| Awarded any aid | 265 | 1235 | 850 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 244 | 1071 | 665 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 84 | 541 | 420 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 35 | 124 | 12 |
| Need fully met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.23
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 116 | 44.44 | 26718 |
| Federal loan programs | 114 | 43.68 | 22228 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | 15 | 5.75 | 26100 |
| Private student loans | 10 | 3.83 | 17375 |
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month2
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:X
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):7
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):1
b) Students notified on a rolling basis:X
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):1
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:The "Come Home to Alaska" program allows students with parents or grandparents in Alaska to pay resident tuition rates. In addition, the "Nanook Pledge" program will provide annual assistance to first-year students, transfer students and readmitted students at UAF. In addition, The "Nanook Commitment" scholarship is a renewable award for incoming
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 412 | 471 | 883 |
| Members of minority groups | 75 | 318 | 393 |
| Females | 180 | 111 | 291 |
| Males | 232 | 360 | 592 |
| Nonresidents | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 330 | 153 | 483 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 45 | 9 | 54 |
| Bachelor's degree | 19 | 8 | 27 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 18 | 301 | 319 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 7 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 7 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 4 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 1 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0.4% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.4% | 0.0% | 3.5% |
| Architecture | 0.0% | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | 0.0% | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Communication technologies | 1.3% | 5.8% | 1.2% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | 7.6% | 1.6% | 0.0% |
| Education | 0.8% | 5.4% | 5.6% |
| Engineering | 0.0% | 0.0% | 12.9% |
| Engineering technologies | 1.3% | 6.2% | 0.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | 0.0% | 3.5% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | 0.0% | 2.3% | 0.0% |
| English | 0.0% | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 0.0% | 32.9% | 0.0% |
| Library science | 0.0% | 0.0% | 8.3% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.7% |
| Military science and military technologies | 2.1% | 6.2% | 8.5% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.9% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0.0% | 0.0% | 2.3% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | 0.0% | 0.8% | 0.0% |
| Psychology | 0.0% | 0.0% | 5.6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 0.4% | 5.4% | 13.7% |
| Public administration and social services | 2.5% | 1.2% | 5.5% |
| Social sciences | 9.7% | 0.0% | 2.6% |
| Construction trades | 2.5% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 16.5% | 1.2% | 0.0% |
| Precision production | 1.3% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0.0% | 0.0% | 4.2% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | 33.9% | 14.0% | 0.0% |
| Business/marketing | 19.1% | 17.1% | 12.3% |
| History | 0.0% | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.