University of Alabama at Birmingham
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for University of Alabama at Birmingham — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$54,501
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
64%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$18,749
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,300
federal loans only
FSA
12%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
155numbers from this report.
General Information
6 TABLESOffice:Institutional Effectiveness and Analysis
Address Line 1:1720 2nd Avenue South, AB 420
Zipcode35294-0104
Country:United States
Phone:(205) 975-4323
Email Address:iea@uab.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?No
City:Birmingham
StateAlabama
Street Address Line 1:1720 2nd Avenue South
CityBirmingham
StateAlabama
Zip35,294
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(205) 934-4011
WWW Home Page Address:www.uab.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(205) 934-8221
Admissions Email Address:chooseuab@uab.edu
Bachelor'sX
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.uab.edu/dei/
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 682 | 1375 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 283 | 436 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2656 | 4373 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 3621 | 6184 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 82% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 10,919 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 9,655 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied6,429
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted6,014
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied3,346
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted3,143
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied1,144
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted498
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Foreign language3
Academic electives4
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language4
Academic electives4
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 5 | 96 |
| ACT | 49 | 1021 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1170 | 1270 | 1363 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 588 | 640 | 700 |
| SAT math | 578 | 620 | 700 |
| ACT composite | 22 | 26 | 30 |
| ACT math | 20 | 24 | 27 |
| ACT English | 22 | 26 | 33 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80026
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69948
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59921
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4995
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80026
SAT Math: 600-69941
SAT Math: 500-59930
SAT Math: 400-4993
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.023
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9917.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7416.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4913.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9916.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.7
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.039.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9918.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7414.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.247.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.999.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.4
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.80
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.7
Priority Date: Month6
Priority Date: Day1
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 845 | 1411 | Not reported | 2256 |
| Admitted | 669 | 1166 | Not reported | 1835 |
| Enrolled | 417 | 643 | Not reported | 1060 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:If a transfer applicant has completed fewer than 24 semester hours, the requirements of beginning freshman must also be met. Applicant must request that a high school transcript be sent to UAB, and official ACT or SAT scores are required.
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://www.uab.edu/students/veterans/prospective-students
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://tcc.ruffalonl.com/University%20of%20Alabama%20at%20Birmingham/Freshman-Students
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1200 | 1200 | 1200 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 14390 |
| Transportation | 2595 | 2845 | 2845 |
| Other expenses | 3186 | 3186 | 3186 |
Financial Aid
2 TABLESAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$3,149,751
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.07% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.65% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.92% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 6.30% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 5.90% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 1.10% | Not reported | 0.47% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.48% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.25% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 13.65% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.50% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.50% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 2.35% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.42% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.31% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.09% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.25% |
| Health professions and related programs | 36.26% | Not reported | 19.38% |
| Business/marketing | 62.64% | Not reported | 19.35% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.51% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.