University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$72,200
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
91%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$11,655
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$14,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
476numbers from this report.
General Information
8 TABLESOffice:Institutional Research and Assessment
Address Line 1:311 Henry Owl Building, CB#3350
Zipcode27599-3350
Phone:919-962-1500
Email Address:Yes No
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://oira.unc.edu/reports/reports-archives/common-data-set/
City:Chapel Hill
StateNC
Name of College/University:University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
CityChapel Hill
StateNC
Zip27,599
Main Phone Number (Area Code)919
Main Phone Number:962-2211
WWW Home Page Address:www.unc.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):919
Admissions Phone Number:962-2211
Admissions Email Address:unchelp@admissions.unc.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://admissions.unc.edu/apply/
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 19897 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 11836 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 31733 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 286 | 1051 | 1109 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 435 | 1913 | 1917 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 418 | 1692 | 1696 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2519 | 10963 | 11035 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 19 | 72 | 72 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 635 | 2494 | 2504 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 14 | 14 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 261 | 1027 | 1032 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 114 | 517 | 518 |
| Total | 4689 | 19743 | 19897 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 855 | 540 | 2678 | 4073 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 855 | 540 | 2678 | 4073 |
| Completed in less than four years | 687 | 451 | 2324 | 3462 |
| Completed in less than five years | 51 | 28 | 160 | 239 |
| Completed in less than six years | 13 | 6 | 22 | 41 |
| Total completers | 751 | 485 | 2506 | 3742 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 87.8% | 89.8% | 93.6% | 91.9% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 810 | 607 | 2559 | 3976 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 809 | 607 | 2558 | 3974 |
| Completed in less than four years | 655 | 519 | 2235 | 3409 |
| Completed in less than five years | 52 | 21 | 121 | 194 |
| Completed in less than six years | 18 | 3 | 21 | 42 |
| Total completers | 725 | 543 | 2377 | 3645 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 89.6% | 89.5% | 92.9% | 91.7% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 96.5% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESTotal academic units16
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Academic electives1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | — | Yes | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 15 | 1576 |
| ACT | 60 | 2336 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1330 | 1500 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 660 | 770 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 29 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 27 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 28 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Math: 700-80059.3
SAT Math: 600-69934
SAT Math: 500-5996.2
SAT Math: 400-4990.4
SAT Math: 300-3990.1
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160058.6
SAT Composite: 1200-139935.6
SAT Composite: 1000-11995.5
SAT Composite: 800-9990.3
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3669.3
ACT Composite: 24-2927.3
ACT Composite: 18-233.4
ACT Composite: 12-170
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class74
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class94
Percent in top half of high school graduating class99
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class1
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent who had GPA of 4.093
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.993
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.742
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.491
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.241
Total100
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Can on-line application fee be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)No
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1693 | 1861 | Not reported | 3554 |
| Admitted | 757 | 909 | Not reported | 1666 |
| Enrolled | 446 | 578 | Not reported | 1024 |
FallX
SummerX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Requirements may vary by department. CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2021-22
Fall Closing Date: Month15
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:2
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45
American Council on Education (ACE)No
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:* CLEP is accepted for French and Spanish language only ** The number of credits and courses that may be transferred differs by military branch.
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESCross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Other (specify):X
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)16%
Percent of males who join fraternities15%
Percent of females who join sororities15%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing99%
Percent who live off campus or commute1%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)14%
Percent of males who join fraternities14%
Percent of females who join sororities14%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing46%
Percent who live off campus or commute54%
Percent of students age 25 and older2%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:](https://npc.collegeboard.org/student/app/unc)
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | 7020 | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 35580 | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | 35580 | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1978 | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
Financial Aid
11 TABLESFederal$25,745,745
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$71,002,537
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$6,942,233
Total Scholarships/Grants$118,276,763
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$12,815,742
Federal Work-Study$1,829,834
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$14,645,575
Parent Loans$659,379
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$20,991
Athletic Awards$3,922,044
Federal$13,779
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$8,381,730
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$10,829,358
Total Scholarships/Grants$20,213,469
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$14,423,483
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$14,423,483
Parent Loans$5,567,306
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$17,845
Athletic Awards$12,300,946
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 4396 | 18495 | 781 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 3525 | 11053 | 361 |
| Determined to have financial need | 1872 | 7798 | 283 |
| Awarded any aid | 1872 | 7798283 | 283 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1769 | 7284 | 267 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 690 | 3604 | 120 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 269 | 763 | 17 |
| Need fully met | 1579 | 5749203 | 203 |
| Average percentage of need met | 100 | 100 | 100 |
| Average financial aid package | 16139 | 17577 | 11748 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 14794 | 16295 | 10610 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 2899 | 3302 | 2974 |
| Average need-based loan | 3099 | 2589 | 3262 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.3,964
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1389 | 35 | 20280 |
| Federal loan programs | 1344 | 34 | 14742 |
| Institutional loan programs | 560 | 14 | 4450 |
| State loan programs | 6 | 0 | 8917 |
| Private student loans | 202 | 5 | 28761 |
FAFSAX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month3
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
If yes, starting date (Month):1
If yes, starting date (Day):31
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
State LoansX
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
LeadershipX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:The Carolina Covenant® program - a no-loans program for qualifying low-income students (whether in-state or out-of- state) who gain admission to the University. To qualify, students must be dependent on their families and the family's adjusted gross income may not exceed 200% of the federal poverty standard, indexed by family size. In 2004, the first year of implementation, Carolina enrolled 224 Covenant Scholars. In fall 2021, Carolina enrolled 599 Covenant Scholars (441 first-year students, representing over 9% of our entering first-year class, plus 158 transfer students). For additional information, please see: https://studentaid.unc.edu/incoming/what-aid-is-available/carolina-covenant/ Yes No Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? X
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1613 | 694 | 2307 |
| Members of minority groups | 374 | 106 | 480 |
| Females | 761 | 355 | 1116 |
| Males | 852 | 339 | 1191 |
| Nonresidents | 53 | 5 | 58 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1348 | 286 | 1634 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 160 | 195 | 355 |
| Bachelor's degree | 20 | 45 | 65 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 85 | 168 | 253 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 232 | 180 | 412 |
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 279 | 62 |
| 10-19 students | 279 | 62 |
| 20-29 students | 801 | 327 |
| 30-39 students | 772 | 304 |
| 40-49 students | 271 | 135 |
| 50-99 students | 208 | 7 |
| 100+ students | 165 | 21 |
| Total | 192 | 2 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.05% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.85% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 10.06% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.51% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 1.78% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 1.17% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.95% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.49% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.38% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.70% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11.12% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.87% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 8.90% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 5.95% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.27% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.46% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 0.88% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.87% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 14.77% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 1.61% |
| Health professions and related programs | 0.02% | Not reported | 3.51% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 6.72% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2.13% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.02% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.