University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2013-14
The 2013-14 Common Data Set for University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$72,200
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
91%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$11,655
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$14,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
150numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://oira.unc.edu/facts-and-figures/data-summaries-and-publications/common-data-set/
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 277 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 303 | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2501 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 22 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 405 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 162 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 194 | 460 | 496 |
| Total | 3946 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 4 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 4627 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 2043 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 673 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 3880 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 3877 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 3143 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 292 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 61 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 3496 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 90.2% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 3800 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 3796 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 2923 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 407 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 67 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 3397 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 89.5% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2009 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 0 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2009 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units16
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Academic electives1
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 85 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 610 | 710 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 26 | 31 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 26 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 25 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class78
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class96
Percent in top half of high school graduating class99
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class1
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.741.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.490.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.1
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100.0
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:4.56
Amount of application fee:80
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1613 | 1819 | Not reported | 3432 |
| Admitted | 615 | 745 | Not reported | 1360 |
| Enrolled | 395 | 481 | Not reported | 876 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Requirements may vary by department.
Fall Closing Date: Month2
Fall Notification Date: Month4
Fall Closing Date:Day14
Fall Notification Date: Day30
Student Life
1 TABLECampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 28205 | 28205 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2012-2013 estimated
Federal$16,509,285
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$64,234,996
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$8,046,464
Total Scholarships/Grants$103,564,476
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$25,122,508
Federal Work-Study$2,577,947
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$27,700,455
Parent Loans$546,271
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$38,257
Federal$7,749
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$4,595,894
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,604,435
Total Scholarships/Grants$13,910,062
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$15,441,591
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$15,441,591
Parent Loans$7,867,394
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$65,305
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):15
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:The Carolina Covenant® program - a no-loans program for qualifying low-income students (whether in-state or out-of-state) who gain admission to the University. To qualify, students must be dependent on their families and the family's adjusted gross income may not exceed 200% of the federal poverty standard, indexed by family size. In 2004, the first year of implementation, Carolina enrolled 224 Covenant Scholars. In fall 2013, Carolina enrolled 669 Covenant Scholars (535 first-year students, representing 14% of our entering first-year class plus 134 transfer students). For additional information, please see: http://www.unc.edu/carolinacovenant/.
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.