University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2011-12
The 2011-12 Common Data Set for University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$72,200
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
91%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$11,655
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$14,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
226numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://oira.unc.edu/facts-and-figures/data-summaries-and-publications/common-data-set.html
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 89 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 253 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2782 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 24 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 345 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | 17791 | 18430 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 11 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 4605 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 157 |
| Master's degrees | 1925 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 668 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 3749 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 3747 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 2888 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 418 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 51 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 3357 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 3589 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 3584 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 409 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 78 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2007 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2007 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 97.2% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 9286 | 14467 | Not reported | 23,753 |
| Admitted | 3093 | 4376 | Not reported | 7,469 |
| Enrolled | 1697 | 2328 | Not reported | 4,025 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 2328 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Alumni relation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 94 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 610 | 700 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 27 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 26 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 26 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class80
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class97
Percent in top half of high school graduating class99
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class1
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.742.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.491.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.1
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100.0
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:4.50
Amount of application fee:80
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1228 | 1631 | Not reported | 2859 |
| Admitted | 683 | 515 | Not reported | 1198 |
| Enrolled | 359 | 432 | Not reported | 791 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Some programs have requirements or deadlines specific to their respective department. 1,457* 6,315*
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Fall Closing Date:Day14
Fall Notification Date: Day12
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)17%
Percent of males who join fraternities14%
Percent of females who join sororities14%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)18%
Percent of males who join fraternities17%
Percent of females who join sororities17%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing46%
Percent who live off campus or commute54%
Percent of students age 25 and older4%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://npc.collegeboard.org/student/app/unc
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 24954 | 24954 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1880 | 1880 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2010-2011 estimated
Federal$19,332,016
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$50,420,992
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,532,627
Total Scholarships/Grants$90,543,117
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$20,566,636
Federal Work-Study$3,012,400
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$23,579,036
Parent Loans$765,445
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$4,244,311
Federal$335,193
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$5,352,958
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$8,708,200
Total Scholarships/Grants$16,731,275
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$15,100,001
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$15,100,001
Parent Loans$6,812,004
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$9,308
Athletic Awards$5,751,223
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):15
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:The Carolina Covenant® program - a no-loans program for qualifying low-income students (whether in-state or out-of-state) who gain admission to the University. To qualify, students must be dependent on their families and the family's adjusted gross income may not exceed 200% of the federal poverty standard, indexed by family size. In 2004, the first year of implementation, Carolina enrolled 224 Covenant Scholars. In fall 2011, Carolina enrolled 582 Covenant Scholars (495 first-year students, representing 12% of our entering first-year class plus 87 transfer students). For additional information, please see: http://www.unc.edu/carolinacovenant/.
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | 0% | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | 1.43% | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | 0% | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | 7.19% | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | 11.27% | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | 0% | 10% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | 0.67% | 11% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | 0% | 12% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 13% |
| Engineering | Not reported | 0% | 14% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | 0% | 15% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | 4.62% | 16% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | 0.30% | 19% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | 0% | 22% |
| English | Not reported | 3.72% | 23% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | 0.21% | 24% |
| Library science | Not reported | 0% | 25% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | 8.20% | 26% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | 2.12% | 27% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | 1.46% | 30% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | 4% | 31% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | 2.03% | 38% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | 0% | 39% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | 3.26% | 40% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | 0% | 41% |
| Psychology | Not reported | 7.58% | 42% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | 0% | 43% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | 1.75% | 44% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | 16.52% | 45% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | 0% | 46% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | 0% | 47% |
| Precision production | Not reported | 0% | 48% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | 0% | 49% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 97.3% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.