University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2008-09
The 2008-09 Common Data Set for University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$72,200
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
91%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$11,655
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$14,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
248numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESOffice:Office of Institutional Research and Assessment
Address Line 1:311 Carr Building, CB# 3350
Zipcode27599-3350
Phone:(919) 962-1500
City:Chapel Hill
StateNC
Name of College/University:The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
CityChapel Hill
StateNC
Zip27,599
Main Phone Number:(919) 962-2211
WWW Home Page Address:http://www.unc.edu/
Admissions Phone Number:(919) 966 -3621
Admissions Email Address:unchelp@admissions.unc.edu
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 51 | 244 | 252 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 414 | 852 | 873 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2647 | 12315 | 12629 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 31 | 134 | 135 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 310 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 3865 | 17422 | 17895 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 19 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 4131 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 0 |
| Master's degrees | 1836 |
| Post-master's certificates | 1 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2004 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2004 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 96.5% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 8721 | 12822 | Not reported | 21,543 |
| Admitted | 3029 | 4286 | Not reported | 7,315 |
| Enrolled | 1582 | 2270 | Not reported | 3,852 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 2270 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 7 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Social studies2
Academic electives1
Total academic units19
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 1 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 620 | 700 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 26 | 31 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 26 | 31 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 25 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:4.44
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:_One Year
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1350 | 1603 | Not reported | 2953 |
| Admitted | 504 | 654 | Not reported | 1158 |
| Enrolled | 343 | 440 | Not reported | 783 |
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of Some
Standardized test scoresRequired of Some
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Some programs have requirements specific to their respective department __________ _____________________________________________________________________________________________ _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 12 Common Data Set 2008- 2009
Fall Closing Date: Month2
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:2
Fall Closing Date:Day11
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESCross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)17%
Percent of males who join fraternities11%
Percent of females who join sororities15%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing82%
Percent who live off campus or commute18%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)17%
Percent of males who join fraternities15%
Percent of females who join sororities17%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing45%
Percent who live off campus or commute55%
Percent of students age 25 and older4%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students19.9
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 1692 | 1692 |
| Tuition: in-district | 3705 | 3705 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | 1250 | 1250 | 1458 |
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2008-2009 estimated
Federal$9,205,338
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$27,780,357
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,379,400
Total Scholarships/Grants$52,020,355
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$17,832,246
Federal Work-Study$2,082,274
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$19,914,520
Parent Loans$2,986,452
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,500
Athletic Awards$1,910,052
Federal$861,454
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$5,225,025
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$6,520,435
Total Scholarships/Grants$13,843,364
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$10,039,125
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$10,039,125
Parent Loans$5,004,244
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,000
Athletic Awards$4,480,908
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month03
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day01
AcademicsX
Job skillsX
AcademicsX
Job skillsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 23 Common Data Set 2008- 2009
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio14
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 128 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 128 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 520 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 255 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 31 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 1 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 3 |
| Total | Not reported | 2 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0.0% | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | 0.0% | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 4.1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.5% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 15.8% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.7% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 8.7% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 4.3% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.