University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2007-08
The 2007-08 Common Data Set for University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$72,200
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
91%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$11,655
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$14,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
212numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESAdmissions Phone Number:(919) 966-3621
Admissions Email Address:unchelp@admissions.unc.edu
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 50 | 231 | 239 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 431 | 765 | 777 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2695 | 12291 | 12641 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 35 | 142 | 145 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 277 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 3893 | 17138 | 17628 |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2003 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2003 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Social studies2
Academic electives2
Total academic units19
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 610 | 700 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 26 | 31 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 25 | 31 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 25 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:_One year_
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1321 | 1576 | Not reported | 2897 |
| Admitted | 504 | 611 | Not reported | 1115 |
| Enrolled | 369 | 424 | Not reported | 793 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:__Some programs have requirements specific to that department_________________ ___________________________________________________________________________________________ Common Data Set 2007-08
Fall Closing Date: Month1
Fall Closing Date:Day21
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESCross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)17%
Percent of males who join fraternities13%
Percent of females who join sororities17%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing83%
Percent who live off campus or commute17%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)17%
Percent of males who join fraternities15%
Percent of females who join sororities17%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing46%
Percent who live off campus or commute54%
Percent of students age 25 and older3%
Average age of full-time students18.5
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.5
Average age of full-time students20.4
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20.5
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for married studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 1635 | 1635 |
| Tuition: in-district | 3705 | 3705 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1635 | 1635 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 560 | 560 | 560 |
| Other expenses | 1200 | 1200 | 1400 |
Financial Aid
4 TABLESAcademic Year2007-2008 estimated
Federal$7,817,335
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$26,145,954
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,041,777
Total Scholarships/Grants$46,444,360
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$18,026,296
Federal Work-Study$1,882,801
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$19,909,097
Parent Loans$3,152,628
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$15,291
Federal$632,310
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$5,277,497
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$6,922,509
Total Scholarships/Grants$13,509,381
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$9,912,904
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$9,912,904
Parent Loans$6,026,379
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$52,392
AcademicsX
Job skillsX
AcademicsX
Job skillsX
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEI3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 110 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 110 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 41 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 41 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 3 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 7 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | 922 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0% | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | 0% | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.87% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 1.69% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.22% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 4.54% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.16% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.35% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.17% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 4.28% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.51% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.25% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.15% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.36% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 17.16% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.90% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 6.49% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 8.16% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 4.46% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.