University of Michigan
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for University of Michigan — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$83,648
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
93%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$13,138
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,500
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
225numbers from this report.
General Information
1 TABLEAcademic year calendar:Trimester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 50 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 407 | 2617 | 2737 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 640 | 2352 | 2358 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 309 | 1262 | 1267 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 3803 | 17067 | 17124 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 9 | 36 | 37 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 1339 | 5481 | 5499 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 11 | 11 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 405 | 1617 | 1619 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 376 | 1620 | 1630 |
| Total | 7290 | 32063 | 32282 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 16 |
| Master's degrees | 4821 |
| Post-master's certificates | 277 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 793 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 769 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 14880 |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 97.4% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 40378 | 39365 | Not reported | 79,743 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled | 3251 | 4000 | Not reported | 7,251 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 4000 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 26 | 13 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Of these, units that must be lab1
Social studies1
History3
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language4
Social studies1
History3
Computer Science1
Visual/Performing Arts2
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 54 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | 1360 | 1530 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | 670 | 750 |
| SAT math | Not reported | 690 | 780 |
| ACT composite | Not reported | 31 | 35 |
| ACT math | Not reported | 29 | 35 |
| ACT English | Not reported | 33 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80061.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69933.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5994.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80071.5
SAT Math: 600-69921.5
SAT Math: 500-5996.1
SAT Math: 400-4990.8
SAT Math: 300-3990.1
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.033.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7410
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.491.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)45%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing95%
Percent who live off campus or commute5%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)39%
Percent of males who join fraternities7%
Percent of females who join sororities16%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing28%
Percent who live off campus or commute72%
Percent of students age 25 and older2%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:npc.collegeboard.org/student/app/umich
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 52904 | 54769 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 328 | 328 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
Financial Aid
6 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 885 | 2923 | 115 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 4480 | 6118 | 3448 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 177 | 782 | 6 |
| Average athletic grant | 30635 | 31746 | 14406 |
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Federal$32,906,524
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$194,704,422
Total Scholarships/Grants$228,292,408
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$29,332,737
Federal Work-Study$19,158,191
Total Self-Help$48,490,928
Federal$8,095,289
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$73,156,782
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$18,390,497
Total Scholarships/Grants$103,348,151
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$46,414,791
Total Self-Help$46,414,791
Parent Loans$27,779,775
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$24,618,150
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 6835 | 29813 | 1376 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 5063 | 17152 | 495 |
| Determined to have financial need | 2645 | 11882 | 311 |
| Awarded any aid | 2505 | 11487 | 260 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1985 | 9647 | 198 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1686 | 8770 | 194 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Need fully met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:The University of Michigan is committed to meeting the full demonstrated need of resident students, and provides some aid to out-ofstate students. Applicants who were permanent legal residents of Michigan when undertaking active military duty, missionary work, Peace Corps, or similar service are presumed to retain their eligibility. ##
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio15
based on ____ students2,021
and ____ faculty2,839
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 631 | 105 |
| 10-19 students | 631 | 105 |
| 20-29 students | 1642 | 848 |
| 30-39 students | 741 | 1404 |
| 40-49 students | 262 | 408 |
| 50-99 students | 158 | 85 |
| 100+ students | 469 | 32 |
| Total | 313 | 7 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 119% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 58% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 81% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 240% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1142% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 72% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 1311% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 146% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 120% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 66% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 757% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 243% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 301% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 274% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 44% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 126% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 631% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 82% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 918% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 399% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 316% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 648% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 109% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.