University of California, Los Angeles
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for University of California, Los Angeles — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$82,511
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
93%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$12,548
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$14,000
federal loans only
FSA
5%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
189numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Quarter
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 32119 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 15397 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 47516 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 690 | 3309 | 3309 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1384 | 6955 | 6955 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 217 | 1016 | 1016 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1680 | 8402 | 8402 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 10 | 52 | 52 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 1858 | 9299 | 9299 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 8 | 58 | 58 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 517 | 2163 | 2163 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 220 | 864 | 865 |
| Total | 6584 | 32118 | 32119 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 10208 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 3150 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 698 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 652 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1905 | 690 | 3084 | 2021 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 1 | 3 | 5 |
| Final cohort | 1904 | 689 | 3081 | 5674 |
| Completed in less than four years | 1441 | 593 | 2651 | 4685 |
| Completed in less than five years | 213 | 56 | 196 | 465 |
| Completed in less than six years | 32 | 7 | 31 | 70 |
| Total completers | 1686 | 656 | 2878 | 5220 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 88.6% | 95.2% | 93.4% | 2021% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 60821 | 75341 | Not reported | 136,162 |
| Admitted | 5820 | 8843 | Not reported | 14,663 |
| Enrolled | 2407 | 4128 | Not reported | 6,535 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 4128 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 5 | 12 | Not reported | Not reported |
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
Percent who had GPA of 4.055.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9936.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.745.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.491.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.6
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?No
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?No
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)No
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 13517 | 14385 | Not reported | 28645 |
| Admitted | 2317 | 3164 | Not reported | 5622 |
| Enrolled | 1400 | 1987 | Not reported | 3435 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month30
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Fall Closing Date:Day30
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)No
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:UCLA may award credit for military training but it does not adhere to the recommendations from ACE. D - Transfer Admission Page 16 Common Data Set 2021-2022
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)19%
Percent of males who join fraternities11%
Percent of females who join sororities13%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing94%
Percent who live off campus or commute6%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)13%
Percent of males who join fraternities11%
Percent of females who join sororities13%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing48%
Percent who live off campus or commute52%
Percent of students age 25 and older4%
Average age of full-time students18.5
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.5
Average age of full-time students20.7
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20.7
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESMinimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
3 TABLESTotal Scholarships/Grants$0
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$0
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 7.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 16.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 7.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.7% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 10.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 25.8% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.0% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.