University of California, Santa Barbara
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for University of California, Santa Barbara — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$74,915
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
83%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$16,109
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$13,993
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
141numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Steven
Last Name:Velasco
Title:Director
Office:Institutional Research, Planning & Assessment
Address Line 1:1325 Cheadle Hall
Zipcode93106-2032
Country:United States
Phone:(805) 893-8487
Email Address:steven.velasco@ucsb.edu
City:Santa Barbara
StateCalifornia
Street Address Line 1:552 University Road
CitySanta Barbara
StateCalifornia
Zip93,106
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(805) 893-8000
WWW Home Page Address:https://www.ucsb.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(805) 893-2881
Admissions Email Address:admissions@sa.ucsb.edu
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://diversity.ucsb.edu/
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1949 | 3007 | 58 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 7610 | 9806 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 7610 | 9806 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 9559 | 12813 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 92% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 110,876 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 30,805 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied74,691
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted20,951
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied18,672
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted6,092
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied17,513
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted3,762
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies0
History2
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts1
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies0
History2
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts1
Percent who had GPA of 4.089.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.996.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.742.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.490.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.089.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.996.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.742.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.490.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:4.30
Application closing date (fall): Month11
Application closing date (fall): Day30
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 8701 | 7957 | 419 | 17077 |
| Admitted | 4796 | 5248 | 233 | 10277 |
| Enrolled | 879 | 983 | 37 | 1899 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
Fall Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month3
Fall Closing Date:Day30
Fall Notification Date: Day15
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://veterans.sa.ucsb.edu/
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.finaid.ucsb.edu/net-price-calculator
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | 13146 | 12260 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 47346 | 44555 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 3200 | 3200 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 19947 | 19947 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1381 | 1381 | 1381 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 17047 |
| Transportation | 927 | 2450 | 1394 |
| Other expenses | 2144 | 2535 | 2304 |
Financial Aid
2 TABLESAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$75
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 4.7% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 1.8% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 8.7% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 9.3% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.2% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.2% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 26.8% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 5.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.