University of California, San Diego
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of California, San Diego — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jun 18, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, University of California, San Diego says 134,455 first-year students applied and 35,989 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 27%. 7,330 admitted students enrolled (20% yield). Waitlist: 27,521 offered a spot, 19,156 accepted one, and 4,539 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 134,455 | 35,989 | 27% | 7,330 | School-reported totals. |
70% joined after being offered a spot. 24% of students who joined were admitted. 20% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 27,521 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 19,156 |
| Admitted from wait list | 4,539 |
| Joined after being offered | 70% |
| Admitted after joining | 24% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Application fee: $80.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2972 | 3870 | 56 | 181 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1752 | 1812 | 50 | 75 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 10066 | 12375 | 228 | 407 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 14790 | 18057 | 334 | 663 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 14790 | 18057 | 334 | 663 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 14790 | 18057 | 334 | 663 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 59 | 184 | 2 | 6 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 25 | 36 | 3 | 4 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 409 | 365 | 6 | 12 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 493 | 585 | 11 | 22 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 493 | 585 | 11 | 22 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 493 | 585 | 11 | 22 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 15283 | 18642 | 345 | 685 | 34955 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 1872 | 1476 | 41 | 97 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2577 | 2128 | 52 | 91 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 4449 | 3604 | 93 | 188 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 4449 | 3604 | 93 | 188 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 194 | 78 | 1 | 5 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 388 | 279 | 7 | 15 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 582 | 357 | 8 | 20 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 582 | 357 | 8 | 20 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 5031 | 3961 | 101 | 208 | 9301 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 20314 | 22603 | 446 | 893 | 44256 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 807 | 3891 | 3891 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 2114 | 9267 | 9267 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 93 | 569 | 569 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1021 | 6005 | 6005 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 4 | 25 | 25 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2592 | 12108 | 12108 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 20 | 20 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 496 | 2258 | 2258 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 202 | 812 | 812 |
| Total | 7330 | 34955 | 34955 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 8784 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 209 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2303 | 699 | 3706 | 6708 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 2303 | 699 | 3706 | 6708 |
| Completed in less than four years | 1576 | 514 | 2848 | 4938 |
| Completed in less than five years | 234 | 74 | 347 | 655 |
| Completed in less than six years | 85 | 20 | 77 | 182 |
| Total completers | 1895 | 608 | 3272 | 5775 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.82% | 0.87% | 0.88% | 0.86% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2052 | 665 | 2973 | 5690 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 2052 | 665 | 2973 | 5690 |
| Completed in less than four years | 1392 | 510 | 2361 | 4263 |
| Completed in less than five years | 257 | 71 | 289 | 617 |
| Completed in less than six years | 49 | 13 | 44 | 106 |
| Total completers | 1698 | 594 | 2694 | 4986 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.83% | 0.89% | 0.91% | 0.88% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 94% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 60225 | 67953 | 1682 | 4595 | 134,455 |
| Admitted | 13964 | 20282 | 398 | 1345 | 35,989 |
| Enrolled full-time | 2972 | 3870 | 56 | 181 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 59 | 184 | 2 | 6 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7,330 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | Yes | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
4 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 13602 | 12800 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 51204 | 46650 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 51204 | 46650 |
| Required fees | 3654 | 3579 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 19629 | 19629 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1363 | 1363 | 1363 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1047 | 2998 | 2180 |
| Other expenses | 2363 | 2686 | 2511 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 204 | 1332 | 36 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 14948 | 13586 | 13243 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 65 | 254 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 14744 | 17156 | 0 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 7317 | 34101 | 847 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 5750 | 23171 | 329 |
| Determined to have financial need | 3916 | 18275 | 283 |
| Awarded any aid | 3853 | 18028 | 270 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3773 | 17703 | 252 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 2326 | 10524 | 134 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 225 | 765 | 7 |
| Need fully met | 538 | 1996 | 32 |
| Average percentage of need met | 82.4 | 80.9 | 68.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 30932 | 30549 | 24562 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 27749 | 27393 | 21562 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 5548 | 5840 | 8570 |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1515 | 256 | 1771 |
| Members of minority groups | 457 | 82 | 539 |
| Females | 617 | 107 | 724 |
| Males | 898 | 149 | 1047 |
| Nonresidents | 104 | 9 | 113 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1489 | 250 | 1739 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 19 | 5 | 24 |
| Bachelor's degree | 8 | 0 | 8 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 313 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 313 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 421 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 405 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 141 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 100 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 218 | Not reported |
| Total | 286 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLE| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 11.6% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 20.8% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 15.4% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.7% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9.2% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 5.2% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.