University of California, San Diego
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for University of California, San Diego — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$84,943
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
86%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$12,470
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$15,500
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
462numbers from this report.
General Information
7 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://ir.ucsd.edu/undergrad/stats-data/common-data-set.html
Name of College/University:University of California, San Diego
Street Address Line 1:9500 Gilman Drive
CityLa Jolla
StateCA
Zip92,093
Country:USA
Main Phone Number (Area Code)858
Main Phone Number:534-2230
WWW Home Page Address:www.ucsd.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):858
Admissions Phone Number:534-4831
Admissions Email Address:admissionsreply@ucsd.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://admission.universityofcalifornia.edu/apply-now.html
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Quarter
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://diversity.ucsd.edu/
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 33096 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 8386 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 41482 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 596 | 4627 | 4627 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1960 | 7488 | 7488 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 253 | 1081 | 1081 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 969 | 6156 | 6156 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 24 | 138 | 138 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2602 | 12780 | 12780 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 10 | 47 | 47 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 132 | 779 | 779 |
| Total | 6546 | 33096 | 33096 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 8438 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 1970 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1756 | 737 | 3221 | 5714 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 1756 | 737 | 3221 | 5714 |
| Completed in less than four years | 1119 | 523 | 2466 | 4108 |
| Completed in less than five years | 311 | 108 | 377 | 796 |
| Completed in less than six years | 43 | 16 | 50 | 109 |
| Total completers | 1473 | 647 | 2893 | 5013 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.84% | 0.88% | 0.90% | 0.88% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1373 | 698 | 3215 | 5286 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 1373 | 698 | 3215 | 5286 |
| Completed in less than four years | 912 | 498 | 2450 | 3860 |
| Completed in less than five years | 253 | 101 | 384 | 738 |
| Completed in less than six years | 38 | 16 | 71 | 125 |
| Total completers | 1203 | 615 | 2905 | 4723 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.88% | 0.88% | 0.90% | 0.89% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 93.3% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESEntrance Exams
In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?Yes
SATX
ACTX
APX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 58894 | 67389 | Not reported | 126,283 |
| Admitted | 12412 | 17655 | Not reported | 30,067 |
| Enrolled | 2680 | 3596 | Not reported | 6,276 |
| Enrolled full-time | 2680 | 3596 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 30 | 52 | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Do you have a policy of placing students on a waiting list?Yes
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:51,350
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:36,113
Number of wait-listed students admitted:2,400
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies0
History2
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts1
Other (specify)0
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies0
History2
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts1
Other (specify)0
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | Yes | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total0
SAT Math: Total0
SAT Composite: Total0
ACT Composite: Total0
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class100
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class100
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:96
Percent who had GPA of 4.086
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9912
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.742
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.490
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:4.16
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month11
Application closing date (fall): Day30
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Refundable if student does not enroll?X
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESDescribe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:- D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit: C Number Unit Type - D13 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution: 105 Quarter Number Unit Type - D14 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution: 129 Quarter Number Unit Type - D15 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree: Number Unit Type - D16 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor's degree: 68 Quarter - D17 Describe other transfer credit policies: ## D18-D22: Military Service Transfer Credit Policies - D18 Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits: Yes No Number Unit Type - D19 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on military education evaluated by the American Council on Education (ACE): Number Unit Type D20 Yes No - D21 Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website? - D22 Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution: ##
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:68
American Council on Education (ACE)No
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)No
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://admissions.ucsd.edu/military-connected/index.html
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2022-2023
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Other (specify):X
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
Physical EducationX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)16%
Percent of males who join fraternities10%
Percent of females who join sororities10%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing80%
Percent who live off campus or commute20%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent of males who join fraternities14%
Percent of females who join sororities14%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing39%
Percent who live off campus or commute61%
Percent of students age 25 and older5%
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
Coed residence hallsX
Apartments for married studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Wellness housingX
Living Learning CommunitiesX
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://fas.ucsd.edu/forms-and-resources/financial-aid-estimator/index.html
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 13752 | 13752 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 46326 | 46326 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 46326 | 46326 |
| Required fees | 4560 | 4560 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum22
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1308 | 1308 | 1308 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 858 | 2280 | 1509 |
| Other expenses | 1632 | 2049 | 1788 |
Financial Aid
10 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 217 | 1137 | 31 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 12530 | 12701 | 14728 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 44 | 225 | 2 |
| Average athletic grant | 18457 | 14462 | 9307 |
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 6530 | 32129 | 963 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 5217 | 20424 | 423 |
| Determined to have financial need | 3962 | 16813 | 363 |
| Awarded any aid | 3867 | 16417 | 345 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3684 | 15648 | 323 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 2705 | 10628 | 202 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 86 | 274 | 1 |
| Need fully met | 917 | 4319 | 80 |
| Average percentage of need met | 86.4 | 85.4 | 76.4 |
| Average financial aid package | 28830 | 27134 | 21922 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 25700 | 24176 | 19531 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 5982 | 6127 | 6068 |
| Average need-based loan | 5351 | 6222 | 6281 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.5,798
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 2260 | 39 | 19230 |
| Federal loan programs | 2196 | 38 | 16790 |
| Institutional loan programs | 826 | 14 | 1917 |
| State loan programs | 34 | 1 | 7921 |
| Private student loans | 144 | 2 | 32887 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:42
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$17,843
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$749,410
Other (specify):X
Specify:Not Eligible
FAFSAX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month3
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day2
b) Students notified on a rolling basis:X
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):15
State LoansX
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AcademicsX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
ArtX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:UC's Blue and Gold Opportunity Plan is a finacial aid program intended to expand access to UC for low income familes. Systemwide tuition and fees are fully covered by scholarship and grant money for eligible students. The plan combines all sources of scholarship and grant awards received (federal, state, UC and private) to go toward covering tuition and fees. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes X No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1385 | 193 | 1578 |
| Members of minority groups | 377 | 42 | 419 |
| Females | 532 | 82 | 614 |
| Males | 853 | 111 | 964 |
| Nonresidents | 126 | 17 | 143 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1360 | 188 | 1548 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 17 | 4 | 21 |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio19
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 374 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 374 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 432 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 326 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 123 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 93 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 178 | Not reported |
| Total | 292 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.6% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 11.7% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 18.9% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.3% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 16.8% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 7.6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11.2% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.