University of California, Irvine
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of California, Irvine — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jul 30, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, University of California, Irvine says 122,706 first-year students applied and 35,317 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 29%. 6,736 admitted students enrolled (19% yield). Waitlist: 13,155 offered a spot, 6,259 accepted one, and 6,259 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 122,706 | 35,317 | 29% | 6,736 | School-reported totals. |
48% joined after being offered a spot. 100% of students who joined were admitted. 11% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 13,155 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 6,259 |
| Admitted from wait list | 6,259 |
| Joined after being offered | 48% |
| Admitted after joining | 100% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2796 | 3837 | 84 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1340 | 1281 | 60 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 8580 | 11285 | 252 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 12716 | 16403 | 396 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 12716 | 16403 | 396 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 12716 | 16403 | 396 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 11 | 7 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 375 | 305 | 9 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 375 | 305 | 9 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 13091 | 16708 | 405 | 0 | Not reported |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 1133 | 1282 | 45 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1989 | 1949 | 69 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 3122 | 3231 | 114 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 3122 | 3231 | 114 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 63 | 65 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 228 | 265 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 291 | 330 | 4 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 291 | 330 | 4 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 3413 | 3561 | 118 | 0 | Not reported |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 16504 | 20269 | 523 | 0 | Not reported |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 1142 | 3714 | 3714 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1770 | 8105 | 8105 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 98 | 590 | 590 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 700 | 3856 | 3856 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 8 | 42 | 42 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2449 | 11316 | 11316 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 3 | 24 | 24 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 403 | 1903 | 1903 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 164 | 654 | 654 |
| Total | 6737 | 30204 | 30204 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1939 | 919 | 2922 | 5780 |
| Did not persist | 1 | Not reported | 8 | 9 |
| Final cohort | 1938 | 919 | 2914 | 5771 |
| Completed in less than four years | 1350 | 683 | 2214 | 4247 |
| Completed in less than five years | 244 | 106 | 302 | 652 |
| Completed in less than six years | 43 | 25 | 51 | 119 |
| Total completers | 1637 | 814 | 2567 | 5018 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.844685% | 0.885745375% | 0.88092% | 0.86952% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2464 | 1050 | 3020 | 6534 |
| Did not persist | 2 | Not reported | 1 | 3 |
| Final cohort | 2462 | 1050 | 3019 | 6531 |
| Completed in less than four years | 1714 | 776 | 2300 | 4790 |
| Completed in less than five years | 319 | 110 | 310 | 739 |
| Completed in less than six years | 33 | 16 | 42 | 91 |
| Total completers | 2066 | 902 | 2652 | 5620 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.839155% | 0.859048% | 0.878437% | 0.860511% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 94.20% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 56925 | 64049 | 1732 | Not reported | 122,706 |
| Admitted | 14682 | 20174 | 461 | Not reported | 35,317 |
| Enrolled full-time | 2796 | 3837 | 84 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 11 | 7 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6,736 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
1 TABLEFinancial Aid
12 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 226 | 1208 | 19 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 12649 | 10188 | 9066 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 36 | 149 | 3 |
| Average athletic grant | 17848 | 19922 | 8186 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 6717 | 29509 | 688 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 4882 | 20162 | 298 |
| Determined to have financial need | 3296 | 15798 | 224 |
| Awarded any aid | 3229 | 15489 | 213 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3158 | 15032 | 194 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 2575 | 8271 | 94 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 149 | 472 | 1 |
| Need fully met | 826 | 2411 | 22 |
| Average percentage of need met | 85.5 | 77.9 | 58.6 |
| Average financial aid package | 29751 | 27265 | 17967 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 25236 | 24200 | 15366 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 6027 | 6786 | 8995 |
| Average need-based loan | 7283 | 8153 | 10102 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1436 | 307 | 1743 |
| Members of minority groups | 484 | 95 | 579 |
| Females | 659 | 134 | 793 |
| Males | 777 | 173 | 950 |
| Nonresidents | 70 | 7 | 77 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 577 | 184 |
| 10-19 students | 577 | 184 |
| 20-29 students | 493 | 249 |
| 30-39 students | 568 | 376 |
| 40-49 students | 123 | 332 |
| 50-99 students | 80 | 344 |
| 100+ students | 240 | 221 |
| Total | 263 | 33 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 10% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 12% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 17% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.