University of California, Irvine
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for University of California, Irvine — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$80,735
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
87%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$14,251
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$15,000
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
187numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.oir.uci.edu/Data-Hub/CDS-Reports.php
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Academic year calendar:Quarter
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 1145 | 5171 | 5171 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1623 | 75 | 75 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 112 | 608 | 608 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 649 | 4039 | 4039 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 3 | 20 | 20 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2198 | 10953 | 10953 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 13 | 75 | 75 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 265 | 1341 | 1341 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 60 | 355 | 355 |
| Total | 6068 | 30382 | 30382 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 8400 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 125 |
| Master's degrees | 1912 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 110 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2015 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2015 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 94.00% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 45576 | 49992 | Not reported | 95,568 |
| Admitted | 11487 | 13874 | Not reported | 25,361 |
| Enrolled | 2608 | 3444 | Not reported | 6,052 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 3444 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 6 | 10 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies0
History2
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language3
Social studies0
History2
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 100 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1190 | 1400 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 570 | 690 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 590 | 750 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class98
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class100
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:CDS-C Page 11
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 12027 | 9709 | Not reported | 21736 |
| Admitted | 4714 | 4842 | Not reported | 9556 |
| Enrolled | 1580 | 1509 | Not reported | 3089 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.40
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month6
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?Yes
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:36
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)No
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2019-2020 E. ACADEM IC OFFERINGS AND POLICIES E1 Special study options: Identify those programs available at your institution. Refer to the glossary for definitions. E1 Accelerated program X E1 Cooperative education program E1 Cross-registration X E1 Distance learning X E1 Double major X E1 Dual enrollment X E1 English as a Second Language (ESL) X E1 Exchange student program (domestic) E1 External degree program E1 Honors Program X E1 Independent study X E1 Internships X E1 Liberal arts/career combination E1 Student-designed major E1 Study abroad X E1 Teacher certification program X E1 W eekend college E1 Other (specify): E2 This question has been removed from the Common Data Set. E3 Areas in which all or most students are required to complete some course work prior to graduation: E3 Arts/fine arts X E3 Computer literacy X E3 English (including composition) X E3 Foreign languages X E3 History E3 Humanities X E3 Mathematics X E3 Philosophy E3 Sciences (biological or physical) X E3 Social science X E3 Other (describe): X
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)3%
Percent who live off campus or commute22%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)2%
Percent who live off campus or commute59%
Percent of students age 25 and older4%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESIf your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Minimum2
Financial Aid
7 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$62,480,265
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$145,890,142
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,162,483
Total Scholarships/Grants$359,316,415
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$43,794,614
Federal Work-Study$6,501,430
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$3,396,142
Total Self-Help$53,692,186
Parent Loans$11,665,764
Federal$582,989
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$5,867,586
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,803,660
Total Scholarships/Grants$9,849,935
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$11,430,571
Total Self-Help$11,430,571
Parent Loans$28,821,409
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.4,982
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:46
If yes, starting date (Month):4
If yes, starting date (Day):1
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:UC Blue & Gold Opportunity Plan guaranteeing needy in-state students from families earning less than $80,000/yr that their system-wide tuition and fees will be paid through scholarships and grants. Middle Class Scholarship (MCS) is a program that provides undergraduate students with family incomes up to $150,000 and a maximum annual
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18
based on ____ students2,019
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 17% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.