University of California, Berkeley
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of California, Berkeley — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 6, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, University of California, Berkeley says 124,245 first-year students applied and 13,714 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 11%. 6,272 admitted students enrolled (46% yield). Waitlist: 10,894 offered a spot, 7,853 accepted one, and 26 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 124,245 | 13,714 | 11% | 6,272 | School-reported totals. |
72% joined after being offered a spot. 0% of students who joined were admitted. 9% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 10,894 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 7,853 |
| Admitted from wait list | 26 |
| Joined after being offered | 72% |
| Admitted after joining | 0% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
7 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2,626 | 3,472 | 84 | 50 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 119 | 186 | 2 | 3 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 10,680 | 13,561 | 521 | 270 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 13,425 | 17,219 | 607 | 323 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 115 | 145 | 3 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 13,540 | 17,364 | 610 | 323 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 14 | 26 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 8 | 10 | 1 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 661 | 693 | 61 | 20 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 683 | 729 | 62 | 20 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 70 | 43 | 3 | 22 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 753 | 772 | 65 | 42 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 14,293 | 18,136 | 675 | 365 | 33,469 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 1,752 | 1,821 | 105 | 34 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 3,051 | 3,217 | 149 | 54 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 21 | 24 | 0 | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 4,824 | 5,062 | 254 | 89 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 409 | 250 | 7 | 10 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 1,122 | 794 | 17 | 20 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 32 | 32 | 1 | 11 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 1,563 | 1,076 | 25 | 41 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 6,387 | 6,138 | 279 | 130 | 12,934 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 20,680 | 24,274 | 954 | 495 | 46,403 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 381 | 3,255 | 3,255 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1,399 | 7,308 | 7,308 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 127 | 679 | 679 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1,161 | 6,544 | 6,544 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 13 | 44 | 44 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2,396 | 11,721 | 11,722 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 7 | 33 | 33 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 473 | 2,241 | 2,242 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 315 | 1,243 | 1,243 |
| Total | 6,272 | 33,068 | 33,070 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 9,370 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 59 |
| Master's degrees | 3,898 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 824 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 455 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,366 | 544 | 4,079 | 5,989 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 1,366 | 544 | 4,079 | 5,989 |
| Completed in less than four years | 971 | 438 | 3,376 | 4,785 |
| Completed in less than five years | 182 | 63 | 425 | 670 |
| Completed in less than six years | 34 | 6 | 64 | 104 |
| Total completers | 1,187 | 507 | 3,865 | 5,559 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.9% | 0.9% | 0.9% | 0.9% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,241 | 513 | 4,590 | 6,344 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 1,241 | 513 | 4,590 | 6,344 |
| Completed in less than four years | 890 | 400 | 3,835 | 5,125 |
| Completed in less than five years | 172 | 58 | 428 | 658 |
| Completed in less than six years | 35 | 8 | 67 | 110 |
| Total completers | 1,097 | 466 | 4,330 | 5,893 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.9% | 0.9% | 0.9% | 0.9% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 57,337 | 60,324 | 2,098 | 4,486 | 124,245 |
| Admitted | 5,058 | 7,788 | 252 | 616 | 13,714 |
| Enrolled full-time | 2,626 | 3,472 | 84 | 50 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 14 | 26 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6,272 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 10,977 | 9,294 | 598 | 600 | 21,469 |
| Admitted | 2,490 | 2,658 | 186 | 151 | 5,485 |
| Enrolled | 1,350 | 1,186 | 97 | 58 | 2,691 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
5 TABLESAnnual Expenses
7 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | $13,602 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Tuition in $ | Expenses in $ |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Varies according to cohort year* | $4,119 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Varies according to cohort year* | $24,558 |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Expenses in $ | Expenses in $ |
| Housing only, on-campus | Varies according to cohort year* | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $24,558 | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | $20 | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Expenses in $ | Not reported | $1,180 |
| Food only | Not reported | Expenses in $ | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $7,762 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | $1,442 | $1,442 | Not reported |
| Other expenses | $8,652 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
14 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | Number | Number | Number |
| Average institutional non-need grant | Average in $ | Average in $ | Average in $ |
| Athletic grant recipients | Number | Number | Number |
| Average athletic grant | Average in $ | Average in $ | Average in $ |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Number | Number | Number |
| Applied for need-based aid | 6,232 | 31,572 | 1,496 |
| Determined to have financial need | 4,878 | 19,651 | 976 |
| Awarded any aid | 2,724 | 14,495 | 830 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2,683 | 14,331 | 812 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 2,602 | 14,024 | 806 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1,596 | 8,504 | 426 |
| Need fully met | 157 | 533 | 4 |
| Average percentage of need met | Percentage | Percentage | Percentage |
| Average financial aid package | Average in $ | Average in $ | Average in $ |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $37,119 | $34,883 | $34,438 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $33,723 | $31,583 | $32,259 |
| Average need-based loan | $6,687 | $6,312 | $4,575 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | Number | Percent | Average in $ |
| Federal loan programs | 1,434 | 0% | $18,728 |
| Institutional loan programs | 1,366 | 0% | $13,832 |
| State loan programs | 436 | 0% | $2,447 |
| Private student loans | 9 | 0% | $4,124 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Members of minority groups | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Females | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Males | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nonresidents | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | Total | Total | Not reported |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 1,159 | 3,133 | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | 296 | 862 | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 546 | 1,413 | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 613 | 1,720 | Not reported |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 3,015 | 3,002 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | Total | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 76 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 525 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 1,565 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 602 | Not reported |
| Total | 97 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 1% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.