University of California, Berkeley
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for University of California, Berkeley — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$92,446
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
93%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$13,481
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$13,000
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
167numbers from this report.
General Information
6 TABLESFirst Name:Erryn
Last Name:Rivers
Title:Institutional Research Analyst
Office:Office of Planning and Analysis
Address Line 1:Suite 201 1608 4th Street
Zipcode94710-1510
Country:United States
Email Address:opa@berkeley.edu
City:Berkeley
StateCalifornia
Street Address Line 1:110 Sproul Hall
CityBerkeley
StateCalifornia
Zip94,720
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(510) 642-6000
WWW Home Page Address:www.berkeley.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(510) 642-3175
Admissions Email Address:https://admissions.berkeley.edu/contact-us/
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://diversity.berkeley.edu/
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2674.0 | 3824.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 129.0 | 174.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 10844.0 | 13483.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 13647.0 | 17481.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 97% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESIn-state first-time, first-year who applied72,666
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted11,002
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied31,313
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted2,541
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies0
History2
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts1
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies0
History2
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: Below 60
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Application closing date (fall): Month11
Application closing date (fall): Day30
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 9757 | 8569 | 528 | 19334 |
| Admitted | 2293 | 2552 | 187 | 5172 |
| Enrolled | 1336 | 1277 | 101 | 2777 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Supplemental Forms
Fall Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month4
Fall Closing Date:Day30
Fall Notification Date: Day30
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://admission.universityofcalifornia.edu/counselors/preparing-transfer-students/transfer-credit-practice.html
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Arts/fine artsX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)15%
Percent of males who join fraternities2%
Percent of females who join sororities5%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing93%
Percent who live off campus or commute7%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)15%
Percent of males who join fraternities2%
Percent of females who join sororities5%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing27%
Percent who live off campus or commute73%
Percent of students age 25 and older5%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Coed residence hallsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://saservices.berkeley.edu/calculator/
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1132.00 | 1132.00 | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 7732.00 |
| Transportation | 742.00 | 2444.00 | Not reported |
| Other expenses | 6612.00 | 6844.00 | Not reported |
Financial Aid
4 TABLESAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
FAFSAX
State aid formX
State LoansX
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AcademicsX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
State/district residencyX
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18.69
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 16.5% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 16.5% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 11.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.2% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.7% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 9.6% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9.6% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 18.2% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 4.1% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.