Tulane University
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for Tulane University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
The numbers, as published
215numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://tulane.edu/oair/common_data_set.cfm
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 100 | 381 | 381 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 129 | 521 | 521 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 92 | 323 | 323 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1266 | 4982 | 4982 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 9 | 9 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 111 | 388 | 388 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 5 | 5 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 104 | 288 | 288 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 17 | 71 | 71 |
| Total | 1821 | 6968 | 6968 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | 52 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1862 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 35 |
| Master's degrees | 1728 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 125 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 348 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 92.77% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 15647 | 26538 | Not reported | 42,185 |
| Admitted | 1999 | 3432 | Not reported | 5,431 |
| Enrolled | 721 | 1100 | Not reported | 1,821 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units4
Mathematics3
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 26 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1370 | 1480 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 660 | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 700 | 770 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 31 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 27 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 32 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class63.6
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class87.8
Percent in top half of high school graduating class96.6
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class3.4
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent who had GPA of 4.08.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9924.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7426.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4922.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2411.1
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.996.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.7
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.56
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 562 | 754 | Not reported | 1316 |
| Admitted | 226 | 282 | Not reported | 508 |
| Enrolled | 79 | 72 | Not reported | 151 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.50
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month2
Spring Closing Date: Month10
Fall Notification Date: Month4
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Spring Notification Date: Day1
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:60
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Number12
Unit Typecredit
Number12
Unit Typecredit
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:https://sopa.tulane.edu/content/veterans-active-duty-military-benefits
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)91%
Percent of males who join fraternities23%
Percent of females who join sororities60%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing98%
Percent who live off campus or commute2%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)80%
Percent of males who join fraternities22%
Percent of females who join sororities51%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing46%
Percent who live off campus or commute54%
Percent of students age 25 and older6%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students22
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)25
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 52760 | 52760 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Financial Aid
6 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$3,705,025
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$75,022,675
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$466,408
Total Scholarships/Grants$80,703,027
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$8,887,892
Federal Work-Study$3,773,778
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$417,914
Total Self-Help$13,079,584
Parent Loans$1,475,601
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,574,614
Athletic Awards$3,624,945
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$81,937,282
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$863,378
Total Scholarships/Grants$87,057,580
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$13,094,474
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,134,900
Total Self-Help$14,229,374
Parent Loans$11,599,928
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,342,200
Athletic Awards$11,031,172
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,474
If yes, starting date (Month):12
If yes, starting date (Day):12
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 23 Common Data Set 2019-2020
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio8
based on ____ students6,945
and ____ faculty867
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | 1.18% | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | 3.01% | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | 0.64% | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | 5.77% | 5.91% | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 9.62% | 2.69% | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | 0.64% | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | 3.6% | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | 1.56% | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | 25.00% | 0.59% | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | 2.31% | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | 0.48% | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | 10.53% | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | 1.34% | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | 0.75% | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | 0.97% | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | 6.23% | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 15.38% | 1.45% | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | 5.77% | 17.35% | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | 11.54% | 8.16% | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | 26.92% | 26.26% | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | 1.13% | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.