Tufts University
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for Tufts University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$83,214
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
94%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$39,998
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$16,250
federal loans only
FSA
2%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
238numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 11586 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 159 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 117 | 1 | 1 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 73 | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 806 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 229 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 91 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 1541 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 7 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1402 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 168 |
| Master's degrees | 1305 |
| Post-master's certificates | 60 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 158 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 500 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 135 | 278 | 894 | 1307 |
| Completed in less than four years | 110 | 247 | 776 | 1133 |
| Completed in less than five years | 10 | 6 | 47 | 63 |
| Completed in less than six years | 3 | 1 | 10 | 14 |
| Total completers | 123 | 254 | 833 | 1210 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 91% | 91% | 93% | 93% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 144 | 346 | 824 | 1314 |
| Completed in less than four years | 118 | 299 | 728 | 1145 |
| Completed in less than five years | 11 | 15 | 36 | 62 |
| Completed in less than six years | 4 | 3 | Not reported | 18 |
| Total completers | 133 | 317 | 775 | 1225 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 92.4% | 91.6% | 94.1% | 93.2% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2014 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2014 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 96.0% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 8933 | 12568 | Not reported | 21,501 |
| Admitted | 1375 | 1768 | Not reported | 3,143 |
| Enrolled | 652 | 832 | Not reported | 1,484 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 832 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies4
Science4
Foreign language4
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 43 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 680 | 750 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 700 | 780 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 31 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.0
Total0
Amount of application fee:75
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 519 | 635 | Not reported | 1154 |
| Admitted | 61 | 106 | Not reported | 167 |
| Enrolled | 19 | 28 | Not reported | 47 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Fall Notification Date: Month6
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 15 Common Data Set 2018-2019 E. ACADEM IC OFFERINGS AND POLICIES E1 Special study options: Identify those programs available at your institution. Refer to the glossary for definitions. E1 Accelerated program E1 Cooperative education program E1 Cross-registration X E1 Distance learning E1 Double major X E1 Dual enrollment X E1 English as a Second Language (ESL) E1 Exchange student program (domestic) X E1 External degree program E1 Honors Program E1 Independent study X E1 Internships X E1 Liberal arts/career combination E1 Student-designed major X E1 Study abroad X E1 Teacher certification program X E1 W eekend college E1 Other (specify): E2 This question has been removed from the Common Data Set. E3 Areas in which all or most students are required to complete some course work prior to graduation: E3 Arts/fine arts X E3 Computer literacy E3 English (including composition) X E3 Foreign languages X E3 History E3 Humanities X E3 Mathematics X E3 Philosophy E3 Sciences (biological or physical) X E3 Social science X E3 Other (describe):
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)79%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)76%
Percent of males who join fraternities12%
Percent of females who join sororities15%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing65%
Percent who live off campus or commute35%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18.7
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.7
Average age of full-time students20.2
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20.2
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 57324 | 57324 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
4 TABLESAcademic Year2017-2018 estimated
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,319
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:168
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 24 Common Data Set 2018-2019
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEbased on ____ students5,553
and ____ faculty635
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.4% | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Architecture | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.0% | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Communication/journalism | 8.6% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication technologies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Computer and information sciences | 0.4% | Not reported | 8.5% |
| Personal and culinary services | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Education | 5.6% | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Engineering | 0.0% | Not reported | 9.7% |
| Engineering technologies | 8.6% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 0.0% | Not reported | 4.8% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 0.0% | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Law/legal studies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| English | 0.0% | Not reported | 2.7% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 3.5% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Library science | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Biological/life sciences | 0.9% | Not reported | 10.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0.0% | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 17.7% | Not reported | 7.1% |
| Parks and recreation | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 0.0% | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Physical sciences | 0.0% | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Science technologies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Psychology | 0.0% | Not reported | 5.3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Public administration and social services | 0.4% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Social sciences | 3.0% | Not reported | 25.1% |
| Construction trades | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Precision production | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Visual and performing arts | 6.5% | Not reported | 5.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | 44.4% | Not reported | 4.4% |
| Business/marketing | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| History | 0.0% | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 0.00% | 100.0% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.