The University of Alabama
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for The University of Alabama — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jul 3, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, The University of Alabama says 56,795 first-year students applied and 43,531 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 77%. 8,032 admitted students enrolled (18% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1110–1360 and ACT of 22–30.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 56,795 | 43,531 | 77% | 8,032 | School-reported totals. |
Application fee: $40. Fee waivers are reported as available.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
3 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 34389 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6457 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 40846 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 74 | 275 | 341 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 670 | 2508 | 2544 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 1022 | 3806 | 4038 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 5619 | 23588 | 24297 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 43 | 116 | 124 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 121 | 491 | 521 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 5 | 32 | 32 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 332 | 1247 | 1270 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 146 | 1164 | 1222 |
| Total | 8032 | 182 | 1404 |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 89.5% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 23104 | 33691 | 0 | Not reported | 56,795 |
| Admitted | 17506 | 26025 | 0 | Not reported | 43,531 |
| Enrolled full-time | 3336 | 4637 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 26 | 33 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 8,032 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 20 | 1644 |
| ACT | 54 | 4368 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1110 | 1220 | 1360 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 560 | 620 | 670 |
| SAT math | 540 | 600 | 680 |
| ACT composite | 22 | 26 | 30 |
| ACT math | 19 | 24 | 28 |
| ACT English | 21 | 25 | 32 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2366 | 2789 | 0 | 5155 |
| Admitted | 1255 | 1429 | 0 | 2684 |
| Enrolled | 569 | 643 | 0 | 1212 |
Student Life
2 TABLESAnnual Expenses
5 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | 11380 | 11380 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 33372 | 33372 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 33372 | 33372 |
| Required fees | 800 | 800 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 13516 | 13516 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 8900 | 8900 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 4616 | 4616 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
8 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 2942 | 10928 | 186 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 19109 | 17380 | 7485 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 93 | 480 | 6 |
| Average athletic grant | 27639 | 31763 | 31396 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 8215 | 29956 | 2367 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 6422 | 17609 | 1118 |
| Determined to have financial need | 4169 | 12520 | 908 |
| Awarded any aid | 4052 | 12255 | 843 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3670 | 10375 | 602 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 2143 | 7919 | 613 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3382 | 8526 | 219 |
| Need fully met | 1279 | 2636 | 43 |
| Average percentage of need met | 64.63 | 57.14 | 32.29 |
| Average financial aid package | 21106 | 17699 | 6592 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 19144 | 15842 | 4724 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3373 | 4125 | 3842 |
| Average need-based loan | 4069 | 3835 | 52 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 2280 | 42.8 | 39588 |
| Federal loan programs | 2159 | 40.5 | 20389 |
| Institutional loan programs | 31 | 0.6 | 4558 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0.0 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 712 | 13.4 | 64747 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1616 | 449 | 2065 |
| Members of minority groups | 337 | 93 | 430 |
| Females | 775 | 281 | 1056 |
| Males | 841 | 168 | 1009 |
| Nonresidents | 77 | 4 | 81 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1346 | 255 | 1601 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 256 | 180 | 436 |
| Bachelor's degree | 12 | 14 | 26 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 2 | Not reported | 2 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 40 | 30 | 70 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 23 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 23 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 202 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 326 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 69 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 34 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 23 |
| Total | Not reported | 8 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.64% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.14% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 9.01% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.54% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 2.38% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 9.19% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.82% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.79% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.25% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.01% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.49% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.18% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 100% | Not reported | 1.22% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.51% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.44% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.12% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.89% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.04% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.91% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.57% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.58% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 8.47% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 29.40% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.41% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.