The University of Alabama
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for The University of Alabama — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$59,221
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
73%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$22,420
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,750
federal loans only
FSA
12%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
353numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Lorne
Last Name:Kuffel
Title:Executive Director, OIRA
Office:Institutional Research and Assessment
Address Line 1:University of Alabama, Box 870166
Zipcode35487-0166
Country:USA
Phone:(205) 348-7200
Email Address:lkuffel@ua.edu
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://oira.ua.edu/new/reports/?Report%20Type[0][0]=Common%20Data%20Set
City:Tuscaloosa
StateAlabama
Name of College/University:The University of Alabama
Street Address Line 1:Box 870100
CityTuscaloosa
StateAL
Zip35487-0100
Country:USA
Main Phone Number:(205) 348-6010
WWW Home Page Address:www.ua.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(205) 348-5666
Admissions Email Address:admissions@ua.edu
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://diversity.ua.edu/
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 32458 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6186 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 38644 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 50 | 287 | 352 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 502 | 1808 | 1862 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 834 | 3363 | 3552 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 5151 | 23007 | 23687 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 31 | 113 | 119 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 106 | 457 | 487 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 8 | 33 | 34 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 290 | 1080 | 1119 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 1065 | 1212 | 1246 |
| Total | 8037 | 31360 | 32458 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 6 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 6741 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 19 |
| Master's degrees | 2180 |
| Post-master's certificates | 92 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 215 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 181 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 86.7% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 21550 | 32522 | Not reported | 54,072 |
| Admitted | 17129 | 26161 | Not reported | 43,290 |
| Enrolled | 3462 | 4519 | Not reported | 7,981 |
| Enrolled full-time | 3462 | 4519 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 28 | 28 | Not reported | Not reported |
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 21 | 1668 |
| ACT | 55 | 4431 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1090 | 1210 | 1370 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 550 | 610 | 680 |
| SAT math | 530 | 600 | 690 |
| ACT composite | 22 | 26 | 31 |
| ACT math | 19 | 25 | 28 |
| ACT English | 21 | 26 | 33 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80020
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69937
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59935
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4998
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80024
SAT Math: 600-69927
SAT Math: 500-59938
SAT Math: 400-49910
SAT Math: 300-3991
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160021
SAT Composite: 1200-139932
SAT Composite: 1000-119939
SAT Composite: 800-9998
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-3633
ACT Composite: 24-2931
ACT Composite: 18-2329
ACT Composite: 12-177
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class48.5
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class64.3
Percent in top half of high school graduating class84
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class16
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class4.5
Percent who had GPA of 4.038
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9917
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7416
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4911
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.249
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.998
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.77
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.3
If yes, maximum period of postponement:One Year
Transfer Admission
1 TABLEDescribe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:Please select “Evaluation of Credit from Non-Traditional Sources” from the link below: https://catalog.ua.edu/undergraduate/about/academic-regulations/policies/transfer-credit/ N:\SURVEYS\CDS\2022-23\CDS 2022-23 W C.xlsx Page 16 The University of Alabama: Common Data Set 2022-23
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)65%
Percent of males who join fraternities32%
Percent of females who join sororities51%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing94%
Percent who live off campus or commute6%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)60%
Percent of males who join fraternities29%
Percent of females who join sororities44%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing28%
Percent who live off campus or commute72%
Percent of students age 25 and older7%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:](http://financialaid.ua.edu/net-price-calculator/)
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | 11100 | 11100 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 31460 | 31460 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 31460 | 31460 |
| Required fees | 840 | 840 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state (out-of-district):$545
Out-of-state:$1,385
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 2708 | 9650 | 210 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 15640 | 15653 | 5991 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 95 | 476 | 5 |
| Average athletic grant | 29754 | 31101 | 19082 |
Federal$32,975,789
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,924,261
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$68,610,974
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,556,495
Total Scholarships/Grants$107,067,519
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$73,111,622
Federal Work-Study$1,342,140
Total Self-Help$74,453,762
Parent Loans$41,728,694
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,889,479
Athletic Awards$430,003
Federal$7,080,851
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,227,447
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$177,211,084
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$13,546,270
Total Scholarships/Grants$200,065,652
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$58,283,775
Total Self-Help$58,283,775
Parent Loans$42,894,458
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,103,157
Athletic Awards$14,469,609
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 7540 | 28074 | 2651 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 5627 | 16248 | 1229 |
| Determined to have financial need | 3626 | 11615 | 1002 |
| Awarded any aid | 3481 | 11155 | 923 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3088 | 9016 | 595 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 2044 | 7691 | 705 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2725 | 7413 | 224 |
| Need fully met | 953 | 2743 | 67 |
| Average percentage of need met | 60.1 | 57.1 | 34.7 |
| Average financial aid package | 17061 | 15614 | 6066 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 15166 | 13064 | 4009 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3344 | 4195 | 3817 |
| Average need-based loan | 3279 | 4069 | 3811 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,022
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 2537 | 48.1 | 38615 |
| Federal loan programs | 2390 | 45.3 | 20954 |
| Institutional loan programs | 31 | 0.6 | 4274 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0.0 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 805 | 15.3 | 59319 |
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? No N:\SURVEYS\CDS\2022-23\CDS 2022-23 W C.xlsx Page 29 The University of Alabama: Common Data Set 2022-23
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1515 | 454 | 1969 |
| Members of minority groups | 298 | 92 | 390 |
| Females | 714 | 291 | 1005 |
| Males | 801 | 163 | 964 |
| Nonresidents | 70 | 1 | 71 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1258 | 266 | 1524 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 242 | 170 | 412 |
| Bachelor's degree | 13 | 17 | 30 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 41 | 31 | 72 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio19
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 419 | 36 |
| 10-19 students | 419 | 36 |
| 20-29 students | 1304 | 183 |
| 30-39 students | 534 | 303 |
| 40-49 students | 268 | 76 |
| 50-99 students | 313 | 12 |
| 100+ students | 317 | 13 |
| Total | 246 | 5 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.33% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.19% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 9.12% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.30% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 4.27% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 11.42% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.91% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.42% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.28% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.22% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.20% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 100% | Not reported | 1.21% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.44% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.46% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.00% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.00% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.76% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.02% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.84% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.40% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 9.35% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 28.60% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.26% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.