The University of Alabama
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for The University of Alabama — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$59,221
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
73%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$22,420
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,750
federal loans only
FSA
12%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
231numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESFirst Name:Lorne
Last Name:Kuffel
Title:Executive Director, Institutional Research and Assessment
Office:Institutional Research and Assessment
Address Line 1:University of Alabama, Box 870166
Zipcode35487-0166
Country:USA
Phone:(205) 348-7200
Email Address:lkuffel@ua.edu
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://oira.ua.edu/new/reports/?Report%20Type[0][0]=Common%20Data%20Set
City:Tuscaloosa
StateAlabama
Name of College/University:The University of Alabama
Street Address Line 1:Box 870100
CityTuscaloosa
StateAL
Zip35487-0100
Country:USA
Main Phone Number:(205) 348-6010
WWW Home Page Address:www.ua.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(205) 348-5666
Admissions Email Address:admissions@ua.edu
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 32795 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 5305 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 38100 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 82 | 750 | 867 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 345 | 1611 | 1631 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 653 | 3214 | 3329 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 5267 | 24508 | 25089 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 24 | 118 | 123 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 94 | 381 | 402 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 3 | 37 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 268 | 1122 | 1149 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 28 | 159 | 168 |
| Total | 6764 | 31900 | 32795 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 6912 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 0 |
| Master's degrees | 1750 |
| Post-master's certificates | 20 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 229 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 187 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 14709 | 23796 | Not reported | 38,505 |
| Admitted | 12230 | 19605 | Not reported | 31,835 |
| Enrolled | 2879 | 3855 | Not reported | 6,734 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 3855 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 9 | 21 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language1
Social studies4
History5
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies4
History5
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1080 | 1340 | 1206 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 550 | 660 | 604 |
| SAT math | 530 | 680 | 602 |
| ACT composite | 23 | 31 | 26.9 |
| ACT math | 21 | 29 | 25 |
| ACT English | 23 | 33 | 28 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class39.9
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class61.2
Percent in top half of high school graduating class84.1
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class15.9
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class3.7
Percent who had GPA of 4.038
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9917
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7416
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4911
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.248
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.999
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.77
Amount of application fee:40
If yes, maximum period of postponement:One Year
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2145 | 2502 | Not reported | 4647 |
| Admitted | 1421 | 1831 | Not reported | 3252 |
| Enrolled | 726 | 888 | Not reported | 1614 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Transfer students with less than 24 semester hours must meet the 2.0 GPA on college work, as well as requirements for freshman admission. N:\SURVEYS\CDS\2019-20\CDS 2019-20 FINAL.xlsx Page 14 The University of Alabama: Common Data Set 2019-20
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:12
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:Select “Evaluation of Credit from Non-Traditional Sources” https://catalog.ua.edu/undergraduate/about/academic-regulations/policies/transfer-credit/ N:\SURVEYS\CDS\2019-20\CDS 2019-20 FINAL.xlsx Page 16 The University of Alabama: Common Data Set 2019-20
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)62%
Percent of males who join fraternities33%
Percent of females who join sororities54%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing95%
Percent who live off campus or commute6%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)61%
Percent of males who join fraternities28%
Percent of females who join sororities42%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing25%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older8%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:http://financialaid.ua.edu/net-price-calculator/
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 30250 | 30250 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 0 | 0 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
4 TABLESFederal$33,528,655
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$78,753,643
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,290,163
Total Scholarships/Grants$118,403,572
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$90,322,607
Federal Work-Study$1,852,854
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$92,175,461
Parent Loans$52,374,830
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,047,701
Athletic Awards$465,623
Federal$9,248,501
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$155,013,724
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,896,293
Total Scholarships/Grants$174,843,127
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$55,972,171
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$55,972,171
Parent Loans$45,517,311
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,770,260
Athletic Awards$14,129,060
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,019
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:N:\SURVEYS\CDS\2019-20\CDS 2019-20 FINAL.xlsx Page 27 The University of Alabama: Common Data Set 2019-20
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio20
based on ____ students2,019
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.33% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.34% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 10.12% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.18% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 5.66% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 12.01% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.19% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.08% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.06% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.01% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.58% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.33% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.07% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.02% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.82% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.62% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.31% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.22% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 7.84% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 28.94% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.67% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100.00% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.