Texas Woman's University

2009-10

The 2009-10 Common Data Set for Texas Woman's University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Dec 13, 2012. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

85.2%

Applications

2,382

Admitted

2,030

Enrolled

725

SAT Math

450-560

ACT Composite

19-24

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$56,544
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
49%
6-year completion
Average net price
$11,963
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$19,218
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report175numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?No
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

4 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking38699Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking3373850Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents4Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino213Not reportedNot reported
Black or African American, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic261Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic3671950
Asian, non-Hispanic77Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total10010000
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diplomaNot reported
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degreesNot reported
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degreesNot reported
Post-master's certificates23
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship92
Doctoral degrees, professional practice4
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort591Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort591Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years128Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years87Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years43Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers258Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort511Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort511Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years113Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years81Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years29Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2005Not reported
Final cohort200513
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported

First-Time, First-Year Admission

4 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied1832199Not reported2,382
Admitted1801850Not reported2,030
Enrolled38687Not reported725
Enrolled full-timeNot reported687Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time116Not reportedNot reported
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT739
ACT249
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT math450Not reported560
ACT composite19Not reported24
ACT mathNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT EnglishNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class21
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class50
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class1
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7416
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4916
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2421
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9926
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.496
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:30
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month7
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Priority Date: Month2
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:125
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:2 years
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,009
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan10

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:1
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing77%
Percent who live off campus or commute23%
Percent of students age 25 and older3%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing11%
Percent who live off campus or commute89%
Percent of students age 25 and older38%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students23
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)26

Annual Expenses

4 TABLES
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition1308013080
Tuition: in-district47404740
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required fees19201920
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
Public Tuition
All Institutions Expenses
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
In-district:$336
In-state (out-of-district):$336
Out-of-state:$956

Financial Aid

5 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2009-2010 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$14,121,674
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$4,431,269
Total Scholarships/Grants$26,128,521
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$38,471,220
Federal Work-Study$377,125
Total Self-Help$38,941,113
Parent Loans$269,437
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$1,899,115
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$416,056
Total Scholarships/Grants$2,315,171
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$5,121,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$471,000
Total Self-Help$5,592,000
Parent Loans$231,010
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$111,000
Athletic Awards$451,000
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:97
Institutional Aid
ArtX
AthleticsX
ArtX
AthleticsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 26 Com m on Data Set 2009-10

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
based on ____ students13,237
and ____ faculty834

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported0.1%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.4%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EngineeringNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reported5.8%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reported1.1%
EnglishNot reportedNot reported2%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported11.6%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.9%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported1.1%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported0.1%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported16%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.6%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported6%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported0.7%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported2.1%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.7%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported4.7%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported36.7%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported5.6%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported0.8%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%0.00%100.00%

Source Document