Sul Ross State University
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Sul Ross State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jun 14, 2022. Subscribe via RSS.
Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2021-22 template isn't published yet.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$41,871
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
30%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$13,286
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$15,900
federal loans only
FSA
27%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
516numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESWe invite you to indicate if there are items on the CDS for which you cannot use the requested analytic convention, cannot provide data for the cohort requested, whose methodology is unclear, or about which you have questions or comments in general. This information will not be published but will help the publishers further refine CDS items.City/State/Zip/Country:
Address Line 3:432-837-8028
City:Aaron.Majek@sulross.edu
First Name:Aaron Majek
Last Name:Research Associate
Title:Institutional Research
Office:Box C-77
Address Line 1:Alpine, Texas 79832
Address Line 2:432-837-8454
ZipcodeYes
Country:No
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:Mailing Address:
Name of College/University:432-837-8055
Street Address Line 1:888-722-7778
Street Address Line 2:Lawrence Hall Box C-2
Street Address Line 3:Alpine, Texas 79832
City432-837-8431/8411
Stateadmissions@sulross.edu
Admissions Toll-Free Phone Number (Out-of-State Area Code):If your academic year has changed because of the COVID-19 pandemic, please indicate as other below.
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:Differs by program (describe):
Classify your undergraduate institution:X
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 2 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 470 | 514 | 160 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 16 | 19 | 42 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 37 | 21 | 61 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 0 | 3 | 16 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1,608 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 492 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 2,100 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 113 | 1,119 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 25 | 77 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 44 | 334 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | 2 | 7 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 10 | 41 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 0 | 17 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 195 | 1,603 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | 218 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Recipients of a Subsidized Stafford Loan who did not receive a Pell Grant | Students who did not receive either a Pell Grant or a subsidized Stafford Loan | Total (sum of 3 columns to the left) |
| White, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 39 | 76 | 328 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 39 | 76 | 328 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 2 | 3 | 14 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 12 | 19 | 86 |
| Total | 0 | 0 | 0 |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESC8G · Entrance Exams
APC8G
CLEPX
Institutional ExamX
ACT OnlySAT essay
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 308 | 241 | Not reported | 549 |
| Admitted | 308 | 241 | 2 | 549 |
| Enrolled | 549 | 195 | Not reported | 744 |
| Enrolled full-time | 121 | 70 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 2 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who appliedNo
C2 · Wait List
Is your waiting list ranked?4
If yes, do you release that information to students?4
Do you release that information to school counselors?4
Does your institution require or recommend a general college-preparatory program for degree-seeking students?C6
ScienceVery Important
Social studiesx
ScienceImportant
Foreign languagex
Historyx
Academic electivesx
Explain:Racial/ethnic status
InterviewADMISSION
Extracurricular activitiesRequire
Please provide additional information if the importance of any specific academic or nonacademic factors differ by academic program.If your institution will make use of the SAT in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants for Fall 2023 please indicate which ONE of the following applies (regardless of whether the Essay score will be used in the admissions process):
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 0.2 | 42 |
| ACT | 0.1 | 27 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 887 | 1,050 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 465 | 520 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 440 | 530 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 14 | 17 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-29925
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total887
SAT Math: 200-29975
SAT Math: Total1,050
SAT Composite: 1400-160014
SAT Composite: 1200-139914
SAT Composite: 1000-119912
SAT Composite: 800-999N/A
ACT Composite: 30-360.1
ACT Composite: 24-290.5
ACT Composite: 18-230.4
ACT Composite: 12-170.1
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 61
ACT English: 30-360.1
ACT English: 24-290.4
ACT English: 18-230.5
ACT English: 12-170.1
ACT English: 6-110
ACT English: Below 61
Percent who had GPA of 4.00
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.991
Percent who had GPA of 4.00
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.991
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.49Percent
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.0
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.5
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.5
Percent who had GPA below 1.00.2
Total1.0
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.49Top half +
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.99bottom half = 100%
Does your institution have an application fee?0.05235602094240838
Amount of application fee:0
Can on-line application fee be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Yes, on a rolling basis:C14
Date: Month2021-08-01 00:00:00
Date: Day2021-08-01 00:00:00
Other early decision plan closing date: MonthYes
Other early decision plan closing date: DayYes
Other early decision plan notification date: MonthX
Other early decision plan notification date: DayX
Please provide significant details about your early decision plan:Early Decision
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 258 | 398 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | 252 | 387 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled | 130 | 205 | Not reported | Not reported |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)X
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?X
FallX
WinterX
SummerD4
Fall Rolling Admissionx
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:55
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:sch
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:30
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:sch
Describe other transfer credit policies:Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits:
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Number
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)55
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESDistance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Computer literacyX
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
Physical EducationX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
Student Life
2 TABLESCampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
YearbookX
Men's residence halls (Men)X
Women's residence halls (Females)X
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.sulross.edu/net-price-calculator
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $6,774 | $6,774 |
| Tuition: in-state | $6,774 | $6,774 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $19,014 | $19,014 |
| Tuition: nonresident | $19,014 | $19,014 |
| Required fees | $8,724 | $8,724 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $5,938 | $5,938 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $3,510 | $3,510 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Not reported | Not reported | $7,050 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | $9,558 |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $3,510 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $3,620 |
| Transportation | $1,552 | $1,552 | $1,552 |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
PRIVATE INSTITUTIONS:X
In-district:$226
In-state (out-of-district):$634
Out-of-state:$634
Financial Aid
12 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 85 | 263 | 34 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $2,749 | $2,749 | $1,954 |
| Athletic grant recipients | NA | NA | NA |
| Average athletic grant | NA | NA | NA |
Both FM and IMX
Federal$5,272,687
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$1,990,494
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$487,399
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$7,750,580
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,789,446
Federal Work-Study$482,098
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$22,197
Total Self-Help$3,293,740
Parent Loans$0
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$454,521
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$360,347
Total Scholarships/Grants$814,868
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,456,313
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$2,456,313
Parent Loans$377,123
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 240 | 1,154 | 630 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 196 | 913 | 380 |
| Determined to have financial need | 182 | 875 | 353 |
| Awarded any aid | 182 | 875 | 353 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 173 | 824 | 326 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 124 | 555 | 141 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 62 | 193 | 17 |
| Need fully met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | $10,459 | $10,923 | $5,770 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $7,332 | $7,672 | $4,384 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $3,780 | $4,881 | $4,146 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,081 | $3,997 | $4,050 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
Institution’s own financial aid formX
Specify:International Student’s Certification of Finances
FAFSAH8
CSS ProfileX
Specify:Business/Farm Supplement
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):January 15th
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):January 15th
a) Students notified on or about (date): Montha) Students notified on or about (date):
a) Students notified on or about (date): Daya) Students notified on or about (date):
If yes, starting date (Month):Yes
If yes, starting date (Day):Yes
Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford LoansX
Federal Direct PLUS LoansX
Federal Nursing LoansX
Other (specify):X
Specify:College/university loans from institutional funds
Federal Pell GrantsH13
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
United Negro College FundX
Federal Nursing ScholarshipX
Specify:Federal Nursing Scholarship
Alumni affiliationNon-Need Based
ArtX
AthleticsX
Job skillsX
Religious affiliationX
Alumni affiliationNeed-Based
ArtX
Job skillsX
Religious affiliationX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:State/district residency
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 75 | 88 | 163 |
| Members of minority groups | 30 | 27 | 57 |
| Females | 31 | 51 | 82 |
| Males | 44 | 37 | 81 |
| Nonresidents | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 57 | 43 | 100 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 17 | 36 | 53 |
| Bachelor's degree | 1 | 4 | 5 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio11
based on ____ students1,192
and ____ faculty107
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 192 | 38 |
| 10-19 students | 121 | 13 |
| 20-29 students | 88 | 5 |
| 30-39 students | 31 | 0 |
| 40-49 students | 3 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 1 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 0 | 0 |
| Total | 436 | 56 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Architecture | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Communication/journalism | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Communication technologies | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Personal and culinary services | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Education | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Engineering | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Engineering technologies | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Law/legal studies | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| English | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Library science | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | 0% | 0% | 0.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 0% | 0% | 0.2% |
| Parks and recreation | 0% | 0% | 0.1% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Physical sciences | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Science technologies | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Psychology | 0% | 0% | 0.1% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 0% | 0% | 0.1% |
| Public administration and social services | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Social sciences | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Construction trades | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Precision production | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Business/marketing | 0% | 0% | 0.2% |
| History | 0% | 0% | 0.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 1.0% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.