Stony Brook University
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Stony Brook University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$74,502
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
76%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$18,784
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,228
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
417numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESWe invite you to indicate if there are items on the CDS for which you cannot use the requested analytic convention, cannot provide data for the cohort requested, whose methodology is unclear, or about which you have questions or comments in general. This information will not be published but will help the publishers further refine CDS items.Admissions E-mail Address:
Last Name:Yes
Title:No
Phone:Stony Brook University
Email Address:Nicolls Road
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:Admissions Office Mailing Address:
Street Address (if different) Line 3:If your academic year has changed because of the COVID-19 pandemic, please indicate as other below.
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:Diploma
If you have a mailing address other than the above to which applications should be sent, please provide:Transfer Associate
Source of institutional control (Check only one):X
Classify your undergraduate institution:A6
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1,609 | 1,733 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 483 | 610 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 5,896 | 5,983 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 7,988 | 8,326 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 30 | 62 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 819 | 788 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1,945 | 2,028 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 5 | 2 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 2,769 | 2,818 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 10,787 | 11,206 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 25,710 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Degree-Seeking First-Time First Year | Degree-Seeking Undergraduates (include first-time first-year) | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | 243 | 1,661 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | 0 | 11 | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | 92 | 480 | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | 182 | 969 | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | Recipients of a Subsidized Stafford Loan who did not receive a Pell Grant | Students who did not receive either a Pell Grant or a subsidized Stafford Loan | Total (sum of 3 columns to the left) |
| Hispanic/Latino | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 287 | 1,631 | 2,931 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | ` |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 287 | 1,631 | 2,931 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 169 | 1,076 | 1,905 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 29 | 155 | 303 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 3 | 39 | 71 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 201 | 1,270 | 2,279 |
| Total | 0.7 | 0.78 | 0.78 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | 944 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 0 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 944 |
| Master's degrees | 599 |
| Post-master's certificates | 105 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 26 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 730 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0.77 |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | 18,093 | 18,093 |
| Admitted | 8,324 | 11,584 | Not reported | 19,908 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | 1,733 | 3 | 1,736 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | No | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who were admittedNo
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolledX
C2 · Wait List
Is your waiting list ranked?19
If yes, do you release that information to students?4
Do you release that information to school counselors?4
Of these, units that must be labVery Important
Social studiesX
Academic electivesX
Computer ScienceX
Of these, units that must be labImportant
Visual/Performing ArtsX
Other (specify)X
Explain:Religious affiliation/commitment
Character/personal qualitiesADMISSION
First generationRequire
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 27 | 32 |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 0.4 | 0.7 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 0.5 | 0.3 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 0.1 | 0.0 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 0.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | 1.0 | 1 | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | SAT Composite | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5991.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-399ACT Composite
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990.7
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total0.3
SAT Math: 300-399ACT English
SAT Math: 200-2990.6
SAT Math: Total0.3
SAT Composite: 1000-11991.0
ACT Math: 18-23Percent
ACT Math: 12-170.5
ACT Math: 6-110.8
ACT Math: Below 61.0
ACT Math: Total0.0
ACT Reading: Below 6Top half +
ACT Reading: Totalbottom half = 100%
Percent who had GPA of 4.01
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.740.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.491.0
Priority Date: Month2022-04-01 00:00:00
Priority Date: Day2022-04-01 00:00:00
Yes, on a rolling basis:X
Beginning date: Month2
Beginning date: Day2
OtherX
Refundable if student does not enroll?C19
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Applicants | 2,276 | 2,367 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Admitted Applicants | 1,173 | 1,342 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Enrolled Applicants | 523 | 656 |
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
FallD3
SpringX
High school transcriptRequired of All
Essay or personal statementX
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:
Fall Priority Date: MonthPriority Date
Fall Priority Date: DayPriority Date
Winter Priority Date: Month2022-03-01 00:00:00
Winter Priority Date: Day2022-03-01 00:00:00
Summer Priority Date: Month2022-11-01 00:00:00
Fall Closing Date: MonthClosing Date
Fall Notification Date: MonthNotification Date
Fall Reply Date: MonthReply Date
Fall Rolling AdmissionRolling Admission
Winter Rolling AdmissionX
Summer Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?Yes
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:
Unit TypeX
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:Number
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:Unit Type
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:Number
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:Unit Type
American Council on Education (ACE)X
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)X
Summer Priority Date: Day2022-11-01 00:00:00
Fall Closing Date:DayClosing Date
Fall Notification Date: DayNotification Date
Fall Reply Date: DayReply Date
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programE1
Cross-registrationx
Distance learningx
Double majorx
Dual enrollmentx
English as a Second Language (ESL)x
Exchange student program (domestic)x
External degree programx
Honors Programx
Internshipsx
Liberal arts/career combinationx
Student-designed majorx
Study abroadx
Teacher certification programx
Undergraduate Researchx
Weekend collegex
Other (specify):x
Specify:Weekend college
Computer literacyE3
English (including composition)x
Historyx
Physical Educationx
Humanitiesx
Mathematicsx
Philosophyx
Sciences (biological or physical)x
Other (describe):x
Describe:Social science
Student Life
2 TABLESCampus Ministries* estimated
Concert bandF2
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsF4
Special housing for international studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Specify:Fraternity/sorority housing
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | $7,070 | $7,070 |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $3,490 | $3,490 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $16,408 | $16,408 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $10,254 | $10,254 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
MinimumMinimum
MaximumMaximum
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?Yes
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Residents | Commuters (living at home) | Commuters (not living at home) |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | $10,578 |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $900 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $6,154 |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | $500 | $4,744 | $4,744 |
Out-of-state:$295
NONRESIDENTS:$1,041
Financial Aid
13 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | Full-time First-time First-year | Full-time Undergrad (Incl. Fresh.) | Less Than Full-time Undergrad |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $646 | $1,849 | $9 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 5,150.48 | 5,618.62 | 1,807.78 |
| Average athletic grant | $53 | $221 | $3 |
Academic Year2022-2023 estimated
Institutional methodology (IM)x
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$36,645,504
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$30,411,356
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$19,242,066
Total Scholarships/Grants$1,217,103
Federal Work-Study$71,650,756
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,160,171
Total Self-Help$4,095,442
Parent Loans$76,906,369
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$4,352,467
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$589,484
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$2,626,228
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$11,325,510
Total Scholarships/Grants$1,546,296
Total Self-Help$5,970,254
Parent Loans$32,319,955
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$6,054,306
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Full-time First-time First-year | Full-time Undergrad (Incl. Fresh) | Less Than Full-time Undergrad |
| Applied for need-based aid | 3,407 | 16,633 | 1,267 |
| Determined to have financial need | 3,014 | 12,292 | 628 |
| Awarded any aid | 2,200 | 10,160 | 538 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2,171 | 9,945 | 470 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1,991 | 8,735 | 331 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1,971 | 9,042 | 391 |
| Need fully met | 187 | 762 | 4 |
| Average percentage of need met | 249% | 1398% | ` |
| Average financial aid package | $1 | $1 | $0 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $14,712 | $14,316 | $6,061 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $11,511 | $9,848 | $2,897 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,937 | $5,494 | $4,711 |
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Federal loan programs | 1,298 | 0% | $23,899 |
| Institutional loan programs | 1,285 | 0% | $19,455 |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Institutional scholarship or grant aid is not availablex
Specify:International Student’s Financial Aid Application
Institution's own financial aid formH8
State aid formx
Other (specify):x
Specify:Noncustodial PROFILE
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:Indicate filing dates for first-year students:
a) Students notified on or about (date):Indicate notification dates for first-year students (answer a or b):
If yes, starting date (Month):b) Students notified on a rolling basis:
If yes, starting date (Day):b) Students notified on a rolling basis:
Federal Direct Subsidized Stafford LoansH12
Federal Direct PLUS Loansx
Federal Nursing Loansx
State Loansx
Specify:State Loans
Federal SEOGH13
Private scholarshipsx
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsx
United Negro College Fundx
Federal Nursing Scholarshipx
Other (specify):x
Specify:United Negro College Fund
ArtNon-Need Based
Athleticsx
Job skillsx
ROTCx
Leadershipx
Music/dramax
State/district residencyx
ArtNeed-Based
Athleticsx
State/district residencyx
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Religious affiliation
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Members of minority groups | Full-Time | Part-Time | Total |
| Females | 1,056 | 575 | 1,631 |
| Males | 258 | 116 | 374 |
| Nonresidents | 419 | 287 | 706 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 637 | 288 | 925 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 57 | 8 | 65 |
| Bachelor's degree | 959 | 299 | 1,258 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 84 | 211 | 295 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 12 | 58 | 70 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Diploma/Certificates% | Associate% | Bachelor’s% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 6.6% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 14.2% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 9.9% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 11.2% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 11.4% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 13.9% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 8.8% |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.