Stony Brook University
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Stony Brook University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$74,502
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
76%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$18,784
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,228
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
420numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESFirst Name:No
ZipcodeStony Brook University
Country:Nicolls Road
Phone:Stony Brook/NY/11794
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:Admissions Fax Number:
Admissions Office Street Address (if different) Line 1:If your academic year has changed because of the COVID-19 pandemic, please indicate as other below.
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:Transfer Associate
If you have a mailing address other than the above to which applications should be sent, please provide:Bachelor's
Source of institutional control (Check only one):X
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 20 | 45 | 17 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 8,140 | 8,558 | 670 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 866 | 839 | 143 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 1,978 | 2,053 | 561 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 13 | 10 | 61 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 17,999 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 8,609 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 26,608 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 347 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 490 | 2,546 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 197 | 1,106 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 904 | 5,163 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | 2 | 11 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 110 | 517 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 208 | 1,148 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 3,416 | 17,900 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | 105 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | 2,480 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | 247 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | Recipients of a Subsidized Stafford Loan who did not receive a Pell Grant | Students who did not receive either a Pell Grant or a subsidized Stafford Loan | Total (sum of 3 columns to the left) |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 353 | 1,578 | 2,852 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 353 | 1,576 | 2,850 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 221 | 983 | 1,800 |
| Total | 32 | 181 | 316 |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESC8G · Entrance Exams
APC8G
CLEPX
Institutional ExamX
ACT OnlySAT essay
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 7,809 | 10,850 | Not reported | 18,659 |
| Admitted | Not reported | 1,819 | 4 | 1,823 |
| Enrolled | 18,659 | 3,416 | Not reported | 22,075 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | No | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who appliedNo
In-state first-time, first-year who were admittedX
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolledX
C2 · Wait List
Is your waiting list ranked?4
If yes, do you release that information to students?4
Do you release that information to school counselors?4
Does your institution require or recommend a general college-preparatory program for degree-seeking students?C6
ScienceVery Important
Foreign languageX
HistoryX
Academic electivesX
ScienceImportant
Computer ScienceX
Visual/Performing ArtsX
Explain:Racial/ethnic status
InterviewADMISSION
Extracurricular activitiesRequire
Please provide additional information if the importance of any specific academic or nonacademic factors differ by academic program.If your institution will make use of the SAT in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants for Fall 2023 please indicate which ONE of the following applies (regardless of whether the Essay score will be used in the admissions process):
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 0.1 | 194 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | 25 | 75 | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 1,320 | 1,460 | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | 630 | 710 | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-399SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total0.5
SAT Math: 300-399SAT Math
SAT Math: 200-2990.6
SAT Math: Total0.3
SAT Composite: 1400-16000
SAT Composite: 1200-13990
SAT Composite: 1000-11991
SAT Composite: 600-799SAT Composite
SAT Composite: 400-5990.5
SAT Composite: Total0.5
ACT Composite: 30-360
ACT Composite: 24-290
ACT Composite: 18-231
ACT Composite: 6-11ACT Composite
ACT Composite: Below 60.7
ACT Composite: Total0.3
ACT English: 6-11ACT English
ACT English: Below 60.7
ACT English: Total0.3
ACT Math: 6-11ACT Math
ACT Math: Below 60.5
ACT Math: Total0.4
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class1
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating classPercent
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:0.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.74Percent
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.490.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.1
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.0
Percent who had GPA below 1.00.0
Total0.0
Amount of application fee:Yes
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?50
Yes, by:C16
No set DateC17
Otherx
Other:2021-05-01 00:00:00
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD):Month2
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD): Day2
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Please provide significant details about your early decision plan:Please provide significant details about your early decision plan:
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2,657 | 4,979 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | 1,652 | 2,948 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled | 792 | 1,404 | Not reported | Not reported |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)X
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?X
FallX
SummerD4
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:36
Describe other transfer credit policies:American Council on Education (ACE)
Unit TypeX
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESComprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
Physical EducationX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Student Life
3 TABLESChoral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
Name of Cooperating InstitutionName of Cooperating Institution
Coed residence hallsF4
Women's residence halls (Females)X
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Other housing options (specify):X
Specify:Other housing options (specify):
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESIf your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.x
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $7,070 | $7,070 |
| Tuition: in-state | $7,070 | $7,070 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $24,990 | $24,990 |
| Tuition: nonresident | $24,990 | $24,990 |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $9,908 | Not reported | $10,578 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $5,590 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $4,744 |
| Transportation | $1,920 | $1,920 | $1,920 |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-district:$295
In-state (out-of-district):$1,041
Out-of-state:$1,041
Financial Aid
15 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 497 | 1,767 | 3 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $5,030 | $5,425 | $4,605 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 46 | 227 | 4 |
| Average athletic grant | $17,239 | $19,599 | $11,732 |
Federal methodology (FM)X
Federal$35,123,915
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$26,637,711
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$18,195,953
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,188,610
Total Scholarships/Grants$81,146,189
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$67,111,209
Federal Work-Study$940,894
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$2,958,292
Total Self-Help$71,010,395
Parent Loans$3,044,032
Athletic Awards$2,372,445
Federal$572,362
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$3,028,871
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$10,576,936
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,467,407
Total Scholarships/Grants$15,645,577
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$25,528,134
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$5,138,273
Total Self-Help$30,666,407
Parent Loans$4,024,792
Athletic Awards$4,495,814
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 3,306 | 16,584 | 1,378 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2,909 | 12,032 | 668 |
| Determined to have financial need | 2,084 | 9,786 | 579 |
| Awarded any aid | 2,052 | 9,560 | 487 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1,841 | 8,384 | 337 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1,854 | 8,730 | 411 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 198 | 821 | 9 |
| Need fully met | 258 | 1,506 | 50 |
| Average percentage of need met | 1% | 1% | 0% |
| Average financial aid package | $13,195 | $13,928 | $6,585 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $10,356 | $9,485 | $3,460 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $3,626 | $5,324 | $4,869 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,485 | $4,790 | $4,728 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,700
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1,251 | 0% | $22,997 |
| Federal loan programs | 1,238 | 0% | $18,899 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 191 | 0% | $28,124 |
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:88
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$3,274
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$288,124
Specify:International Student’s Certification of Finances
FAFSAH8
CSS ProfileX
Business/Farm SupplementX
Specify:Business/Farm Supplement
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):2022-03-01 00:00:00
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):2022-03-01 00:00:00
a) Students notified on or about (date): Montha) Students notified on or about (date):
a) Students notified on or about (date): Daya) Students notified on or about (date):
If yes, starting date (Month):Yes
If yes, starting date (Day):Yes
or within____weeks of notification.2022-05-01 00:00:00
Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford LoansX
Federal Direct PLUS LoansX
Federal Nursing LoansX
Specify:College/university loans from institutional funds
Federal Pell GrantsH13
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
United Negro College FundX
Federal Nursing ScholarshipX
Specify:Federal Nursing Scholarship
Alumni affiliationNon-Need Based
ArtX
AthleticsX
Job skillsX
ROTCX
LeadershipX
Religious affiliationX
Alumni affiliationNeed-Based
ArtX
Religious affiliationX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:State/district residency
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1,072 | 545 | 1,617 |
| Members of minority groups | 259 | 105 | 364 |
| Females | 408 | 268 | 676 |
| Males | 664 | 277 | 941 |
| Nonresidents | 59 | 8 | 67 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 978 | 286 | 1,264 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 84 | 208 | 292 |
| Bachelor's degree | 8 | 43 | 51 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 2 | 8 | 10 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 83 | 187 | 270 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio19.28
based on ____ students21,364
and ____ faculty1,108.33
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 2-9 | 2-9 |
| 10-19 students | 10-19 | 10-19 |
| 20-29 students | 20-29 | 20-29 |
| 30-39 students | 30-39 | 30-39 |
| 40-49 students | 40-49 | 40-49 |
| 50-99 students | 50-99 | 50-99 |
| 100+ students | 100+ | 100+ |
| Total | Total | Total |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 7.4% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 13% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 10.2% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 10.6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 12.3% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 14.5% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 8.2% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 100.0% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.