Stony Brook University
2017-18
The 2017-18 Common Data Set for Stony Brook University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$74,502
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
76%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$18,784
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,228
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
314numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESWe invite you to indicate if there are items on the CDS for which you cannot use the requested analytic convention, cannot provide data for the cohort requested, whose methodology is unclear, or about which you have questions or comments in general. This information will not be published but will help the publishers further refine CDS items.Classify your undergraduate institution:
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:Private (nonprofit)
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 8,630 | 7,582 | 628 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 901 | 859 | 107 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 1,867 | 1,876 | 645 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 20 | 35 | 115 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 2,788 | 2,770 | 867 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Degree-Seeking First-Time First Year | Degree-Seeking Undergraduates (include first-time first-year) | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | 437 | 2,468 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | 350 | 2,088 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | 4 | 27 | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 86 | 440 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 224 | 1,077 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 3,167 | 17,215 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 4,289 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 114 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 354 | 1,406 | 2,733 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 186 | 727 | 1,410 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 65 | 230 | 477 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 14 | 51 | 91 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 265 | 1,008 | 1,978 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0.75 | 0.72 | 0.72 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC8G · Entrance Exams
APC9
Institutional ExamC9
Specify:0.38
SAT or ACTYes
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | 1,691 | 4 | 1,695 |
| Admitted | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | 3 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | 3,778 | 1,697 | 5,475 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Does your institution require or recommend a general college-preparatory program for degree-seeking students?C7
Open admission policy as described above for most students, but--C8A
Open admission policy as described above for all studentsC8
other (explain):C8A
Explain:SAT or ACT
Please provide additional information if the importance of any specific academic or nonacademic factors differ by academic program.For admission
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 0.2 | 0.16 |
| ACT | 0.0 | 0.01 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 0.1 | 0.2 | 0.1 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| SAT math | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| ACT composite | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| ACT math | 1 | 1.0 | 1 |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5 |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8 |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0 |
SAT Math: 600-6990.6
SAT Math: 500-5990.2
SAT Math: 400-4990.1
SAT Math: 300-3990.1
SAT Math: 200-2990.0
SAT Math: Total0.0
ACT Composite: 30-3650
ACT Composite: 24-29Yes
ACT Composite: 18-23X
ACT Composite: Below 6X
ACT Composite: Total50
ACT English: 24-29No
Yes, on a rolling basis:C22
Yes, by:C22
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 3,088 | 3,803 | 6,891 | Not reported |
| Admitted | 1,239 | 1,573 | 2,812 | Not reported |
| Enrolled | 624 | 887 | 1,511 | Not reported |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?X
FallD3
WinterD3
SummerD4
Spring Notification Date: MonthYes
Spring Rpely Date: MonthNo
Spring Reply Date: DayNo
Summer Reply Date: MonthX
Summer Reply Date: DayX
Spring Notification Date: DayYes
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programE1
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesE1
Cross-registrationE1
Distance learningE1
Double majorE1
Dual enrollmentE1
English as a Second Language (ESL)E1
Exchange student program (domestic)E1
External degree programE1
Honors ProgramE1
Independent studyE1
InternshipsE1
Liberal arts/career combinationE1
Student-designed majorE1
Study abroadE1
Teacher certification programE1
Undergraduate ResearchE1
Specify:This question has been removed from the Common Data Set.
Arts/fine artsE3
Computer literacyE3
English (including composition)E3
Foreign languagesE3
HistoryE3
Physical EducationE3
HumanitiesE3
Intensive writingE3
MathematicsE3
Student Life
2 TABLESCampus MinistriesF2
Choral groupsF2
Concert bandF2
DanceF2
Drama/theaterF2
International Student OrganizationF2
Jazz bandF2
Literary magazineF2
Marching bandF2
Model UNF2
Music ensemblesF2
Musical theaterF2
OperaF2
Pep bandF2
Radio stationF2
Student governmentF2
Student newspaperF2
Student-run film societyF2
Symphony orchestraF2
Television stationF2
YearbookF2
Coed residence hallsF4
Men's residence halls (Men)F4
Women's residence halls (Females)F4
Apartments for married studentsF4
Apartments for single studentsF4
Special housing for disabled studentsF4
Special housing for international studentsF4
Fraternity/sorority housingF4
Cooperative housingF4
Theme housingF4
Wellness housingF4
Living Learning CommunitiesF4
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance will be available:Undergraduate full-time tuition, required fees, room and board List the typical tuition, required fees, and room and board for a full-time undergraduate student for the FULL 2018-2019 academic year (30 semester or 45 quarter hours for institutions that derive annual tuition by multiplying credit hour cost by number of credits). A full academic year refers to the period of time generally extending from September to June; usually equated to two semesters, two trimesters, three quarters, or the period covered by a four-one-four plan. Room and board is defined as double occupancy and 19 meals per week or the maximum meal plan. Required fees include only charges that all full-time students must pay that are not included in tuition (e.g., registration, health, or activity fees.) Do not include optional fees (e.g., parking, laboratory use).
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $5,044 | $5,044 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Minimum |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | $12 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | X | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?Commuters
(living at home)
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?900
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $1,368 | $1,368 | $1,368 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | $278 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
11 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | x | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | x | Not reported |
Academic Year8406
Federal methodology (FM)H2
Institutional methodology (IM)H2
Both FM and IMH2
Federal$4,763
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the collegeFull-time
Undergrad
(Incl. Fresh.)
Total Scholarships/Grants$1,592
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$213
Federal Work-Study$17,748
Federal$4,152
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the collegeLess Than
Full-time
Undergrad
Total Scholarships/Grants$1
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$5
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Determined to have financial need | 194 | 0.08 | 28,807.8 |
| Awarded any aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Need fully met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | Not reported | x | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | $35 |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Federal loan programs | Yes | No | Not reported |
| Institutional loan programs | x | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | 2016-04-01 00:00:00 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableH12
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableH12
Institutional scholarship or grant aid is not availableH12
CSS ProfileH13
Other (specify):H13
Specify:Federal Pell
FAFSAH13
Institution's own financial aid formH13
Noncustodial ProfileH14
Business/Farm SupplementH14
Other (specify):H14
Specify:Alumni affiliation
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:Job skills
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Monthx
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Dayx
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:Leadership
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):x
No deadline for filing required forms (applications processed on a rolling basis)Music/drama
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):x
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Members of minority groups | Full-Time | Part-Time | Total |
| Females | 1,075 | 491 | 1,566 |
| Males | 223 | 74 | 297 |
| Nonresidents | 404 | 239 | 643 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 671 | 252 | 923 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 93 | 13 | 106 |
| Bachelor's degree | 982 | 221 | 1,203 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 83 | 188 | 271 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 9 | 66 | 75 |
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 2-9 | 2-9 |
| 10-19 students | 10-19 | 10-19 |
| 20-29 students | 20-29 | 20-29 |
| 30-39 students | 30-39 | 30-39 |
| 40-49 students | 40-49 | 40-49 |
| 50-99 students | 50-99 | 50-99 |
| 100+ students | 100+ | 100+ |
| Total | Total | Total |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.9% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 9.6% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 13.8% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 6.3% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9.1% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 19.7% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 9.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 100.0% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.