Stephen F Austin State University
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for Stephen F Austin State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 21, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2025-26 report, Stephen F Austin State University says 21,123 first-year students applied and 17,614 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 83%. 2,372 admitted students enrolled (13% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 950–1130 and ACT of 18–24. Compared with 2024-25, applications rose 12% (18,877 to 21,123) and the acceptance rate went from 74% to 83%.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 21,123 | 17,614 | 83% | 2,372 | School-reported totals. |
Application fee: $50.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
6 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1018 | 1707 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 291 | 397 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2030 | 3280 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 3339 | 5384 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 3 | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 3342 | 5392 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 13 | 16 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 12 | 21 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 257 | 495 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 282 | 532 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 139 | 218 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 421 | 750 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 3763 | 6142 | 0 | 9905 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 38 | 81 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 144 | 426 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 10 | 28 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 154 | 392 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 192 | 535 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 346 | 927 | 0 | 1273 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | 4109 | 7069 | 0 | 11178 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 11 | 70 | 73 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 563 | 2164 | 2173 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 547 | 1485 | 1507 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1423 | 5232 | 5496 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 6 | 33 | 33 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 37 | 123 | 134 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 39 | 169 | 169 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 128 | 261 | 320 |
| Total | 2754 | 9537 | 9905 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1884 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 474 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 11 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2036 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2036 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 844 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 225 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 66 |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1135 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 705% | 182% | 3389% | 21123% |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 72% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 16847 | 705 | 3389 | 21,123 |
| Admitted | 16820 | 705 | 6 | 17,614 |
| Enrolled | 901 | 1471 | 0 | 2,372 |
| Enrolled full-time | 890 | 1456 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 11 | 15 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | — | Yes |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 48 | 1131 |
| ACT | 11 | 249 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 950 | 1040 | 1130 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 490 | 530 | 590 |
| SAT math | 450 | 500 | 558 |
| ACT composite | 18 | 21 | 24 |
| ACT math | 16 | 19 | 24 |
| ACT English | 17 | 20 | 24 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1843 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1228 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 749 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 7761 | 7761 |
| Tuition: in-state | 7761 | 7761 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 19911 | 19911 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 3467 | 3467 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 13940 | 13940 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1206 | 1206 | 1206 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 12908 |
| Transportation | 1388 | 1388 | 1388 |
| Other expenses | 1850 | 1850 | 1850 |
Financial Aid
13 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 307 | 1194 | 79 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 3718 | 3072 | 1464 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 72 | 348 | 49 |
| Average athletic grant | 8962 | 13686 | 3120 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 2162 | 8354 | 1415 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2011 | 6764 | 571 |
| Determined to have financial need | 1530 | 5345 | 470 |
| Awarded any aid | 1530 | 5325 | 444 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1346 | 4642 | 401 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1461 | 5021 | 389 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 936 | 2583 | 103 |
| Need fully met | 153 | 684 | 105 |
| Average percentage of need met | 55.9 | 57.0 | 66.2 |
| Average financial aid package | 16459 | 15796 | 11807 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 11617 | 9924 | 7341 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3803 | 4978 | 5169 |
| Average need-based loan | 3691 | 4656 | 5048 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 621 | 52.32 | 23959 |
| Federal loan programs | 610 | 53.26 | 19596 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| State loan programs | 16 | 1.00 | 32624.00 |
| Private student loans | 97 | 8.00 | 26720 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 488 | 155 | 643 |
| Members of minority groups | 68 | 16 | 84 |
| Females | 240 | 107 | 347 |
| Males | 248 | 48 | 296 |
| Nonresidents | 19 | 2 | 21 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 348 | 54 | 402 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 103 | 65 | 168 |
| Bachelor's degree | 13 | 17 | 30 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 24 | 19 | 43 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 42 | 23 |
| 10-19 students | 42 | 23 |
| 20-29 students | 237 | 67 |
| 30-39 students | 404 | 68 |
| 40-49 students | 163 | 24 |
| 50-99 students | 108 | 11 |
| 100+ students | 70 | 0 |
| Total | 5 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.1% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 14.5% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 5.8% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.7% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 10.5% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.