Stephen F Austin State University
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Stephen F Austin State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Apr 10, 2023. Subscribe via RSS.
Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2022-23 template isn't published yet.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$49,634
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
53%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$14,260
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$23,409
federal loans only
FSA
19%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
421numbers from this report.
General Information
6 TABLESName of College/University:Stephen. F. Austin State University
Street Address Line 1:P.O. Box 13051, SFA Station
CityNacogdoches
StateT exas
Zip75,962
Main Phone Number (Area Code)936
Main Phone Number:468-3401
WWW Home Page Address:www.sfasu.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):936
Admissions Phone Number:468-2504
Admissions Email Address:admissions@sfasu.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:http://applytexas.org
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.sfasu.edu/odei/about/welcome
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 621 | 1145 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 290 | 286 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1944 | 3506 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 9823 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 14 | Not reported | 65 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 409 | Not reported | 2088 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 206 | Not reported | 1153 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1029 | Not reported | 5736 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 26 | Not reported | 126 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | Not reported | 5 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2342 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2342 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 856 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 345 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 55 |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2247 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2247 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 63 |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1192 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 53.05% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 150 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 73.20% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 3256 | 6688 | Not reported | 9,944 |
| Admitted | 2807 | 6084 | Not reported | 8,891 |
| Enrolled | 621 | 1145 | Not reported | 1,787 |
| Enrolled full-time | 621 | 1145 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 8 | 13 | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Do you have a policy of placing students on a waiting list?No
Total academic units26
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language2
Social studies3.5
Academic electives6
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | — | Yes |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Entrance Exams
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 58 | 1035 |
| ACT | 18 | 327 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 970 | 1050 | 1140 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 480 | 530 | 580 |
| SAT math | 470 | 520 | 560 |
| ACT composite | 17 | 20 | 23 |
| ACT math | 16 | 19 | 22 |
| ACT English | 16 | 19 | 23 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8003
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69921
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59951
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49923
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3992
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 700-8001
SAT Math: 600-69915
SAT Math: 500-59952
SAT Math: 400-49928
SAT Math: 300-3994
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16001
SAT Composite: 1200-139917
SAT Composite: 1000-119954
SAT Composite: 800-99926
SAT Composite: 600-7992
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-363
ACT Composite: 24-2926
ACT Composite: 18-2351
ACT Composite: 12-1720
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class14
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class39
Percent in top half of high school graduating class65
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class19
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class5
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:84
Total0
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Yes, on a rolling basis:X
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:##
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESDescribe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:##
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:2
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:66
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:42
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:Yes No - D10 Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students? - D11 Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable: ## D12-D17: Transfer Credit Policies - D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit: 2.00 - D13 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution: - D14 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution: - D15 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree: - D16 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor's degree: - D17 Describe other transfer credit policies: ## D18-D22: Military Service Transfer Credit Policies - D18 Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits: Yes No Number Unit Type Number Unit Type Yes No X Number Unit Type 66 Credits Number Unit Type N/A 42.00 ##
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Other (specify):X
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)1%
Percent of males who join fraternities8%
Percent of females who join sororities11%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing82%
Percent who live off campus or commute18%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)2%
Percent of males who join fraternities9%
Percent of females who join sororities5%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing37%
Percent who live off campus or commute63%
Percent of students age 25 and older15%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
7 TABLESIf your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 7842 | 7842 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 20118 | 20118 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 2758 | 2758 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum12
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1202 | 1202 | 1202 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1800 | 1800 | 1800 |
| Other expenses | 1874 | 1874 | 1874 |
In-district:$273
Out-of-state:$670
Financial Aid
9 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 222 | 886 | 68 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 4954 | 3605 | 2269 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 62 | 338 | 30 |
| Average athletic grant | 12373 | 13771 | 5224 |
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1663 | 8871 | 2277 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1466 | 6949 | 851 |
| Determined to have financial need | 1073 | 5546 | 641 |
| Awarded any aid | 1073 | 5545 | 640 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 852 | 4382 | 552 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1034 | 5280 | 596 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 615 | 2245 | 123 |
| Need fully met | 215 | 955 | 238 |
| Average percentage of need met | 59.97 | 60.57 | 74.6 |
| Average financial aid package | 14361 | 13664 | 10647 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 9455 | 8469 | 6179 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3967 | 5227 | 5247 |
| Average need-based loan | 3764 | 4834 | 5018 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,290
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 852 | 60.55 | 22813 |
| Federal loan programs | 834 | 59.28 | 20329 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| State loan programs | 17 | 1.00 | 27464 |
| Private student loans | 106 | 8.00 | 22168 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:42
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$281,338
Other (specify):X
Specify:TASFA application
FAFSAX
b) Students notified on a rolling basis:X
State LoansX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic?
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 595 | 206 | 801 |
| Members of minority groups | 67 | 27 | 94 |
| Females | 314 | 141 | 455 |
| Males | 281 | 65 | 346 |
| Nonresidents | 11 | 1 | 12 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 415 | 74 | 489 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 163 | 95 | 258 |
| Bachelor's degree | 11 | 31 | 42 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio15
based on ____ students664
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 43 | 11 |
| 10-19 students | 43 | 11 |
| 20-29 students | 290 | 119 |
| 30-39 students | 331 | 71 |
| 40-49 students | 166 | 13 |
| 50-99 students | 47 | 5 |
| 100+ students | 35 | 3 |
| Total | 2 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 3.06% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.19% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.71% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.27% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.65% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.31% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.00% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.14% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.65% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.06% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.79% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 12.57% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 6.50% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.04% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.35% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3.84% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.96% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.14% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 10.08% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 12.79% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 19.07% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.18% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.