Stanford University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Stanford University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Aug 4, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Stanford University says 57,326 first-year students applied and 2,067 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 3.6%. 1,693 admitted students enrolled (82% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1510–1570 and ACT of 34–35. Waitlist: 483 offered a spot, 414 accepted one, and 25 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
86% joined after being offered a spot. 6% of students who joined were admitted.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 483 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 414 |
| Admitted from wait list | 25 |
| Joined after being offered | 86% |
| Admitted after joining | 6% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Application fee: $100.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
3 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
4 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 835 | 858 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2819 | 3042 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 3654 | 3900 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 3654 | 3900 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 186 | 164 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 186 | 164 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 3840 | 4064 | Not reported | Not reported | 7904 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 1374 | 1282 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 3641 | 3235 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 90 | 56 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 5105 | 4573 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 59 | 24 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 185 | 115 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 478 | 182 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 722 | 321 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 5827 | 4894 | Not reported | Not reported | 10721 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 9667 | 8958 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 242 | 965 | 965 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 248 | 1289 | 1501 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 76 | 560 | 644 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 408 | 1737 | 1754 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 12 | 60 | 62 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 559 | 2170 | 2199 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 14 | 16 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 141 | 724 | 724 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 5 | 35 | 39 |
| Total | 1693 | 7554 | 7904 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 299 | 30 | 1367 | 1696 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | 30 | 1367 | 1696 |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 138 | 16 | 708 | 862 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | 11 | 445 | 553 |
| Total completers | Not reported | 29 | 1268 | 1559 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 87.6% | 96.7% | 92.8% | 91.9% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 275 | 28 | 1397 | 1700 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 275 | 28 | 1397 | 1700 |
| Completed in less than four years | 151 | 16 | 821 | 988 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | 1 | 104 | 117 |
| Total completers | 246 | 23 | 1309 | 1578 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | 16 |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 57,326 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2,067 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,693 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 50.3 | 857 |
| ACT | 19.0 | 324 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1510 | 1540 | 1570 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 740 | 760 | 780 |
| SAT math | 770 | 790 | 800 |
| ACT composite | 34 | 35 | 35 |
| ACT math | 33 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT English | 35 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESFinancial Aid
3 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 2 | 44 | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 4150 | 7017 | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 139 | 529 | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | 56823 | 58360 | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1699 | 7841 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1107 | 4470 | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | 843 | 3928 | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 843 | 3928 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 833 | 3885 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 540 | 2898 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 5 | 80 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 808 | 3405 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | 74244 | 72172 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 70114 | 68013 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | 2827 | 3096 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | 3243 | 4205 | Not reported |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | Not reported | Not reported | 2213 |
| Members of minority groups | Not reported | Not reported | 537 |
| Females | Not reported | Not reported | 887 |
| Males | Not reported | Not reported | 1326 |
| Nonresidents | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | 602 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 17.9% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 16.1% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.9% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 15.2% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 16.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.0% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.