Southwestern University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Southwestern University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$56,878
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
73%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$29,224
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$25,000
federal loans only
FSA
11%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
205numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESOffice:Institutional Research & Effectiveness
Email Address:hoeppneh@southwestern.edu
Street Address Line 1:1001 E. University Ave
CityGeorgetown
StateTexas
Zip78,626
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(512) 863-6511
WWW Home Page Address:https://www.southwestern.edu/
Admissions Phone Number:(512) 863-1200
Admissions Email Address:admission@southwestern.edu
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.southwestern.edu/jedi-center/
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 177 | 225 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 52 | 41 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 419 | 526 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 648 | 792 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 123 | 412 | 413 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 30 | 86 | 86 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 206 | 786 | 786 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 14 | 60 | 60 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 20 | 69 | 69 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 1 | 8 | 8 |
| Total | 403 | 1454 | 1457 |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 83% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6,585 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2,573 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied4,231
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted2,110
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied741
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted382
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied1,613
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted81
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History1
Academic electives1
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language3
Social studies3
History1
Academic electives1
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 44 | 176 |
| ACT | 17 | 67 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1180 | 1250 | 1320 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 590 | 640 | 690 |
| SAT math | 570 | 610 | 650 |
| ACT composite | 23 | 27 | 30 |
| ACT math | 22 | 26 | 27 |
| ACT English | 23 | 26 | 31 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80023
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69953
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59920
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4994
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-80011
SAT Math: 600-69948
SAT Math: 500-59939
SAT Math: 400-4992
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-160013
SAT Composite: 1200-139957
SAT Composite: 1000-119927
SAT Composite: 800-9993
SAT Composite: 600-7991
SAT Composite: 400-599100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class28.6
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class65.6
Percent who had GPA of 4.010.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9925.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7424.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2414.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.997.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.7
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.5
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.53
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 173 | 211 | Not reported | 384 |
| Admitted | 64 | 74 | Not reported | 138 |
| Enrolled | 24 | 34 | Not reported | 58 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month10
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://www.southwestern.edu/live/files/97
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing96%
Percent who live off campus or commute4%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)12%
Percent of males who join fraternities32%
Percent of females who join sororities28%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing73%
Percent who live off campus or commute27%
Percent of students age 25 and older3%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.southwestern.edu/scholarships-financial-aid/grants-loans/net-price-calculator/
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 53288 | 53288 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 525 | 325 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 15072 | 16230 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 8276 | 9434 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 6796 | 6796 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1250 | 1250 | 1250 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 444 | 1186 | 1186 |
| Other expenses | 1297 | 1451 | 1329 |
NONRESIDENTS:$28
Financial Aid
1 TABLEAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio11.3
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 9.0% | Not reported | 2% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 22.0% | Not reported | 5% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 12.0% | Not reported | 3% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | 12.0% | Not reported | 3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | 36.0% | Not reported | 8% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 13.0% | Not reported | 3% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 40.0% | Not reported | 9% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 8.0% | Not reported | 2% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 17.0% | Not reported | 4% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | 43.0% | Not reported | 9% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | 66.0% | Not reported | 14% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 29.0% | Not reported | 6% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | 89.0% | Not reported | 19% |
| History | 13.0% | Not reported | 3% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.