Smith College
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Smith College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$64,027
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
89%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$27,579
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$17,550
federal loans only
FSA
3%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
123numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Liz
Last Name:Kamerer
Title:Research and Program Assistant
Office:Institutional Research & Educational Assessment
Address Line 1:201 Stoddard Annex
Zipcode1,063
Country:United States
Phone:413-585-3021
Email Address:institutionalresearc@smith.edu
City:Northampton
StateMassachusetts
Street Address Line 1:Elm Street
CityNorthampton
StateMassachusetts
Zip1,063
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(413) 585-3021
WWW Home Page Address:https://www.smith.edu/
Admissions Phone Number:(413) 585-2500
Admissions Email Address:admission@smith.edu
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.smith.edu/your-campus/offices-services/equity-inclusion
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2 | 647 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1 | 1836 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 3 | 2489 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 93% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 9,868 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,947 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied915
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted204
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied5,789
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted1,575
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied3,164
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted168
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies2
Academic electives1
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 33 | 212 |
| ACT | 15 | 100 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1430 | 1470 | 1520 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 718 | 750 | 770 |
| SAT math | 690 | 730 | 770 |
| ACT composite | 32 | 33 | 34 |
| ACT math | 28 | 30 | 33 |
| ACT English | 34 | 35 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80087
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69913
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-80070
SAT Math: 600-69927
SAT Math: 500-5992
SAT Math: 200-299100
ACT Composite: 30-3698
ACT Composite: 24-292
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class77
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class96
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:31
Percent who had GPA of 4.083
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9913
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.744
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.490
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:4.20
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:100
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESList any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://www.smith.edu/academics/registrar/transfer-credit
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/smith
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 64870 | 64870 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 308 | 308 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 22570 | 22570 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 11300 | 11300 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 11300 | 11300 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 800 | 800 | 800 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 692 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | 1800 | 12604 | 12604 |
Financial Aid
3 TABLESAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.538
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$11,063,208
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio8
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 115 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 100+ students | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.