Seattle University
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for Seattle University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$75,272
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
76%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$34,662
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,883
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
416numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESWe invite you to indicate if there are items on the CDS for which you cannot use the requested analytic convention, cannot provide data for the cohort requested, whose methodology is unclear, or about which you have questions or comments in general. This information will not be published but will help the publishers further refine CDS items.City/State/Zip/Country:
City:voloshii@seattleu.edu
First Name:Irina Voloshin
Last Name:Director
Title:Institutional Research
Office:901 12th Ave
Address Line 1:Seattle, WA 98122-1090
Address Line 2:(206) 296-2802
ZipcodeYes
Country:No
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:Mailing Address:
Name of College/University:206-296-2000
Street Address Line 1:800-426-7123
Street Address Line 2:Seattle University; Admissions Office, 901 12th Avenue; P.O.Box 222000
Street Address Line 3:Seattle, WA 98122-1090
City206-296-5656
Stateadmissions@seattleu.edu
Admissions Toll-Free Phone Number (Out-of-State Area Code):If your academic year has changed because of the COVID-19 pandemic, please indicate as other below.
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:Differs by program (describe):
Classify your undergraduate institution:X
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1 | 0 | 5 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1,618 | 2,474 | 102 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 182 | 360 | 121 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 302 | 690 | 318 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 1 | 4 | 2 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 4,299 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 2,751 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 7,050 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 227 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 117 | 558 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 24 | 146 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 301 | 1,675 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | 1 | 6 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 78 | 398 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 14 | 151 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 805 | 4,285 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | 162 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | 652 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | 9 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Recipients of a Subsidized Stafford Loan who did not receive a Pell Grant | Students who did not receive either a Pell Grant or a subsidized Stafford Loan | Total (sum of 3 columns to the left) |
| White, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 272 | 498 | 958 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 272 | 498 | 958 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 167 | 320 | 585 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 38 | 43 | 108 |
| Total | 5 | 5 | 12 |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2,343 | 4,244 | Not reported | 6,587 |
| Admitted | Not reported | 1 | 6 | 7 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | No | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | TOTAL | 262 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | 515 | 0 | Not reported |
C2 · Wait List
Is your waiting list ranked?2
If yes, do you release that information to students?3
Do you release that information to school counselors?1
EnglishX
ScienceX
Other (specify)X
Foreign languageX
Social studiesX
Computer ScienceX
Standardized test scoresADMISSION
Application EssayRequire
Please provide additional information if the importance of any specific academic or nonacademic factors differ by academic program.SAT with Essay component required
C8 · Entrance Exams
SAT OnlyX
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Percent | Number | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 0.8 | 601 | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | 0.4 | 321 | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69925
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5991,130
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-499570
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-399560
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-29924
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total23
SAT Math: 600-69975
SAT Math: 500-5991,310
SAT Math: 400-499660
SAT Math: 300-399670
SAT Math: 200-29930
SAT Math: Total28
SAT Composite: 800-999SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing
SAT Composite: 600-7990.1
SAT Composite: 400-5990.5
SAT Composite: Total0.3
ACT Composite: 24-291
ACT Composite: 12-17SAT Composite
ACT Composite: 6-110.1
ACT Composite: Below 60.5
ACT Composite: Total0.3
ACT English: 24-291
Percent in top half of high school graduating classACT Math
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0.2
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0.5
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:0.3
TotalPercent
Percent who had GPA of 4.00.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.990.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.740.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.490.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.240.1
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9937.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.74Top half +
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.49bottom half = 100%
Beginning date: MonthDate
Beginning date: DayDate
Date: Month2021-03-01 00:00:00
Date: Day2021-03-01 00:00:00
Other:2021-11-01 00:00:00
Must reply by (date)C15
Must reply by May 1st or within____weeks if notified afterC16
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institutionYes
Please provide significant details about your early decision plan:First or only early decision plan closing date
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1,098 | 1,702 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | 544 | 941 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled | 221 | 368 | Not reported | Not reported |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)X
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?X
FallX
WinterX
SummerD4
Essay or personal statementX
Fall Closing Date: Month2018-05-15 00:00:00
Fall Notification Date: Monthsame as fall
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:
Fall Closing Date:Day2018-05-15 00:00:00
Fall Notification Date: Daysame as fall
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:135
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:Quarter
American Council on Education (ACE)135
Number135
Unit Typequarter
NumberYes
Unit TypeNo
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESCross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Computer literacyX
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
Physical EducationX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
Student Life
3 TABLESCampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Name of Cooperating InstitutionUniversity of Washington
Name of Cooperating InstitutionUniversity of Washington
Men's residence halls (Men)X
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Wellness housingX
Living Learning CommunitiesX
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESG5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Not reported | Not reported | $8,985 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | $13,035 |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $4,050 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $1,200 |
| Transportation | $2,400 | $2,400 | $2,400 |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Out-of-state:$1,078
Financial Aid
13 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 177 | 303 | 2 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $23,867 | $18,402 | $11,138 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 50 | 254 | 1 |
| Average athletic grant | $20,956 | $24,674 | $8,571 |
Academic YearX
Federal methodology (FM)X
Federal$5,377,941
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$5,897,681
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$67,724,246
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,473,178
Total Scholarships/Grants$81,473,046
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$12,617,244
Federal Work-Study$2,385,254
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,467,735
Total Self-Help$16,470,233
Parent Loans$2,909,005
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$392,128
Federal$5,762,684
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$18,882,818
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$295,814
Total Scholarships/Grants$24,941,316
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$7,173,146
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$7,173,146
Parent Loans$4,459,370
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,477,832
Athletic Awards$5,883,515
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 798 | 4,091 | 187 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 678 | 2,782 | 83 |
| Determined to have financial need | 495 | 2,246 | 75 |
| Awarded any aid | 495 | 2,240 | 71 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 407 | 2,014 | 55 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 334 | 1,575 | 45 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 488 | 1,603 | 34 |
| Need fully met | 168 | 715 | 10 |
| Average percentage of need met | 1% | 1% | 1% |
| Average financial aid package | $39,537 | $40,525 | $26,000 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $32,226 | $30,466 | $21,391 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $7,391 | $8,120 | $6,240 |
| Average need-based loan | $4,156 | $5,733 | $4,248 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.798
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 558 | 1% | $27,813 |
| Federal loan programs | 558 | 1% | $21,465 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0% | $0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0% | $0 |
| Private student loans | 63 | 0% | $56,233 |
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:424
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$13,236
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$5,612,116
Institution’s own financial aid formX
Specify:International Student’s Certification of Finances
FAFSAH8
CSS ProfileX
State aid formX
Specify:Business/Farm Supplement
a) Students notified on or about (date): Montha) Students notified on or about (date):
a) Students notified on or about (date): Daya) Students notified on or about (date):
If yes, starting date (Month):Yes
If yes, starting date (Day):Yes
Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford LoansX
Federal Direct PLUS LoansX
Federal Nursing LoansX
State LoansX
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Specify:College/university loans from institutional funds
Federal Pell GrantsH13
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
United Negro College FundX
Federal Nursing ScholarshipX
Specify:Federal Nursing Scholarship
Alumni affiliationNon-Need Based
ArtX
AthleticsX
ROTCX
Music/dramaX
Religious affiliationX
State/district residencyX
Alumni affiliationNeed-Based
ArtX
Religious affiliationX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:State/district residency
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 529 | 147 | 676 |
| Members of minority groups | 122 | 35 | 157 |
| Females | 294 | 81 | 375 |
| Males | 231 | 63 | 294 |
| Nonresidents | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 459 | 58 | 517 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 58 | 71 | 129 |
| Bachelor's degree | 6 | 7 | 13 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 5 | 8 | 13 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 83 | 46 | 129 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio10.67
based on ____ students5,113.42
and ____ faculty479.33
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 146 | 16 |
| 10-19 students | 323 | 49 |
| 20-29 students | 202 | 2 |
| 30-39 students | 86 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 19 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 2 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 778 | 67 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 1.0% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.