Sarah Lawrence College
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for Sarah Lawrence College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$53,603
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
71%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$41,437
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$27,000
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
282numbers from this report.
Enrollment And Persistence
1 TABLEB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 79 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESEntrance Exams
In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?No
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | — | Yes | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 41 | 157 |
| ACT | 23 | 88 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1230 | 1390 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 640 | 720 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 580 | 690 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 27 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 23 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 27 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80041
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69950
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5999
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80022
SAT Math: 600-69949
SAT Math: 500-59929
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160022
SAT Composite: 1200-139960
SAT Composite: 1000-119918
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.70
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD):Month6
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD): Day15
Amount of housing deposit:500
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:2 years
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 31 | 123 | Not reported | 154 |
| Admitted | 24 | 98 | Not reported | 122 |
| Enrolled | 4 | 39 | Not reported | 43 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
FallX
SpringX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month6
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:- D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit: 2.00 Number Unit Type - D13 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution: 60 Number Unit Type - D14 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution: 60 - D15 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree: - D16 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor's degree: 60.00 - D17 Describe other transfer credit policies: ## D18-D22: Military Service Transfer Credit Policies - D18 Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits: Yes No Number Unit Type - D19 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on military education evaluated by the American Council on Education (ACE): Number Unit Type - D20 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on Department of Defense supported prior learning assessments (College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)): Yes No - D21 Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website? - D22 Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution: American Council on Education (ACE) College Level Examination Program (CLEP) DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST) ##
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:2
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Spring Notification Date: Day15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:60
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 15 Common Data Set 2020-2021
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESDouble majorX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
HumanitiesX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)79%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing77%
Percent who live off campus or commute23%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)78%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing30%
Percent who live off campus or commute70%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)23
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Financial Aid
11 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 111 | 369 | 9 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 25241 | 23203 | 12541 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Academic Year2020-2021 estimated
Federal$1,095,444
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$159,623
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$24,585,745
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$346,211
Total Scholarships/Grants$26,187,023
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$3,506,466
Federal Work-Study$1,176,987
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$9,083
Total Self-Help$4,692,536
Parent Loans$898,089
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$52,998
Athletic Awards$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,500
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$10,247,692
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$549,057
Total Scholarships/Grants$10,799,249
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,636,738
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$24,567
Total Self-Help$1,661,305
Parent Loans$1,690,395
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$97,002
Athletic Awards$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 385 | 1274 | 16 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 287 | 901 | 7 |
| Determined to have financial need | 225 | 753 | 5 |
| Awarded any aid | 224 | 742 | 5 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 224 | 735 | 5 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 176 | 601 | 3 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 44 | 132 | 1 |
| Need fully met | 50 | 156 | 2 |
| Average percentage of need met | 86.0 | 80.0 | 89.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 44246 | 39377 | 41037 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 40349 | 35307 | 38029 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 4959 | 5436 | 5014 |
| Average need-based loan | 2751 | 3474 | 2333 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.269
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 153 | 57.00 | 31901 |
| Federal loan programs | 151 | 56.00 | 24571 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 27 | 10.00 | 43358 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:88
Institution’s own financial aid formX
FAFSAX
State aid formX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 89 | 151 | 240 |
| Members of minority groups | 16 | 31 | 47 |
| Females | 39 | 84 | 123 |
| Males | 50 | 67 | 117 |
| Nonresidents | 5 | 42 | 47 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 80 | 55 | 135 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 4 | 17 | 21 |
| Bachelor's degree | 5 | 29 | 34 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 50 | 50 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 17 | 17 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio10
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 88 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 88 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 195 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 11 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 11 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 16 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 1 | Not reported |
| Total | 0 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 100% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.