Santa Clara University
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Santa Clara University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$109,183
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
88%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$50,062
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,162
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
483numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESName of College/University:Santa Clara University
Street Address Line 1:500 El Camino Real
CitySanta Clara
StateCA
Zip95,053
Main Phone Number (Area Code)408
Main Phone Number:554-4000
WWW Home Page Address:www.scu.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):408
Admissions Phone Number:554-4700
Admissions Email Address:Admission@scu.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 5895 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3023 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 8918 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 95 | 324 | 330 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 283 | 1056 | 1056 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 55 | 155 | 155 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 628 | 2474 | 2475 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 308 | 1202 | 1202 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 4 | 14 | 14 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 146 | 539 | 539 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 34 | 120 | 121 |
| Total | 1554 | 5887 | 5895 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 0 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1446 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 58 |
| Master's degrees | 895 |
| Post-master's certificates | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 112 | 175 | 973 | 1260 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 112 | 175 | 973 | 1260 |
| Completed in less than four years | 97 | 152 | 822 | 1071 |
| Completed in less than five years | 7 | 9 | 50 | 66 |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 1 | 7 | 8 |
| Total completers | 104 | 162 | 879 | 1145 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 92.9% | 92.6% | 90.3% | 90.9% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 94.3% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?No
APX
CLEPX
Institutional ExamX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?Yes
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 8131 | 8717 | Not reported | 16,848 |
| Admitted | 4097 | 4998 | Not reported | 9,095 |
| Enrolled | 814 | 735 | Not reported | 1,549 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units14
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Social studies3
Computer Science1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | Yes | — |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 29 | 453 |
| ACT | 18 | 277 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1300 | 1460 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 630 | 710 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 660 | 760 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 29 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80036
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69951
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59912
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4991
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80057
SAT Math: 600-69932
SAT Math: 500-59911
SAT Math: 400-4990
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160048
SAT Composite: 1200-139943
SAT Composite: 1000-11999
SAT Composite: 800-9990
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-3672
ACT Composite: 24-2925
ACT Composite: 18-233
ACT Composite: 12-170
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class35
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class72
Percent in top half of high school graduating class93
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class7
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class2
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:15
Percent who had GPA of 4.07
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9937
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7434
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.246
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.991
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.67
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Refundable if student does not enroll?X
If yes, maximum period of postponement:One year, unless serving required military service or mission
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 474 | 439 | Not reported | 913 |
| Admitted | 305 | 309 | Not reported | 614 |
| Enrolled | 131 | 104 | Not reported | 235 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
FallX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:https://www.scu.edu/admission/undergraduate/transfer-students/
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:##
American Council on Education (ACE)No
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)No
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?No
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 19 Common Data Set 2021-2022
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESDouble majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Other (specify):X
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Describe:Theology, Religious Studies, Ethics
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)45%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing96%
Percent who live off campus or commute4%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)43%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing53%
Percent who live off campus or commute47%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Theme housingX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 56880 | 56880 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 654 | 654 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1152 | 1152 | 1152 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 351 | 1026 | 936 |
| Other expenses | 2700 | 3348 | 3924 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 560 | 1972 | 31 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 15628 | 16341 | 8919 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 39 | 200 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 34838 | 34977 | 0 |
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Federal$3,718,024
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$4,576,988
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$59,246,168
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,023,575
Total Scholarships/Grants$68,564,756
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$6,735,580
Federal Work-Study$1,417,962
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$8,153,542
Parent Loans$6,155,605
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,845,122
Athletic Awards$1,346,193
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$34,217,963
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,138,334
Total Scholarships/Grants$35,356,297
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,793,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$1,793,000
Parent Loans$2,618,851
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,426,656
Athletic Awards$5,649,301
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1553 | 5773 | 114 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 930 | 3387 | 30 |
| Determined to have financial need | 511 | 2323 | 22 |
| Awarded any aid | 502 | 1855 | 21 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 441 | 1632 | 21 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 219 | 854 | 13 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 268 | 880 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 206 | 625 | 0 |
| Average percentage of need met | 80.5 | 76.8 | 41.7 |
| Average financial aid package | 39070 | 40476 | 21441 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 31882 | 33381 | 19609 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 4417 | 5158 | 3498 |
| Average need-based loan | 3378 | 4375 | 2634 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,247
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 457 | 38 | 23847 |
| Federal loan programs | 446 | 36 | 18442 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:54
FAFSAX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month2
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Heritage/ Student Relief Funds and Student Emergency Funds Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? X Yes No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 584 | 321 | 905 |
| Members of minority groups | 180 | 88 | 268 |
| Females | 282 | 146 | 428 |
| Males | 302 | 175 | 477 |
| Nonresidents | 23 | 2 | 25 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 549 | 202 | 751 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 31 | 102 | 133 |
| Bachelor's degree | 3 | 17 | 20 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 91 | 97 | 188 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio10.97
based on ____ students358
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 26 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 26 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 75 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 14 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 1 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 1 |
| Total | Not reported | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | 36% | Not reported | 2% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 18% | Not reported | 1% |
| Communication/journalism | 120% | Not reported | 8% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 7% | Not reported | 1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | 221% | Not reported | 15% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 12% | Not reported | 1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 9% | Not reported | 1% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | 25% | Not reported | 2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 2% | Not reported | 0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | 99% | Not reported | 7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 13% | Not reported | 1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 19% | Not reported | 1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 10% | Not reported | 1% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | 90% | Not reported | 6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | 192% | Not reported | 13% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 28% | Not reported | 2% |
| Health professions and related programs | 28% | Not reported | 2% |
| Business/marketing | 442% | Not reported | 31% |
| History | 14% | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 1446% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.