Santa Clara University
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for Santa Clara University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$109,183
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
88%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$50,062
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,162
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
218numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESMain Phone Number (Area Code)408
Main Phone Number:554-4000
WWW Home Page Address:www.scu.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):408
Admissions Phone Number:554-4700
Admissions Email Address:Admission@scu.edu
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 75 | 229 | 243 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 245 | 993 | 994 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 36 | 166 | 166 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 623 | 2673 | 2674 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 7 | 7 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 247 | 901 | 901 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 3 | 12 | 12 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 121 | 406 | 406 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 40 | 117 | 117 |
| Total | 1391 | 5504 | 5520 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 105 |
| Master's degrees | 856 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 12 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 236 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 152 | 263 | 861 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 152 | 263 | 861 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 123 | 224 | 725 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 10 | 14 | 50 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 1 | 8 | 9 |
| Total completers | 133 | 239 | 783 | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 87.5% | 90.9% | 90.9% | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2014 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2014 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 94.6% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units14
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Social studies3
Computer Science1
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 62 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 630 | 700 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 640 | 740 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80029
SAT Math: 700-80049
ACT Composite: 30-3661
ACT Composite: 24-2936
ACT Composite: 18-232
ACT Composite: 12-171
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 6100
ACT Composite: Total820
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.71
Amount of application fee:60
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:One year, unless serving required military service or mission work.
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 425 | 395 | Not reported | 820 |
| Admitted | 177 | 197 | Not reported | 374 |
| Enrolled | 75 | 73 | Not reported | 148 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:https://www.scu.edu/admission/undergraduate/transfer-students/
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:87.5
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESDistance learningX
Double majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing96%
Percent who live off campus or commute4%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing56%
Percent who live off campus or commute44%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsX
Theme housingX
Other housing options (specify):X
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.scu.edu/financialaid/net-pricecalculator/
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 52998 | 52998 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 636 | 636 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1971 | 1971 | 1971 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 864 | 1134 | 1278 |
| Other expenses | 2853 | 3564 | 3996 |
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$3,204,290
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$58,064,268
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,338,908
Total Scholarships/Grants$67,023,088
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$7,463,710
Federal Work-Study$718,752
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$8,182,462
Parent Loans$7,699,182
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$28,669,112
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,371,712
Total Scholarships/Grants$30,040,823
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,188,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$1,188,000
Parent Loans$2,065,356
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,232
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ Common Data Set 2018-2019
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio10.46
based on ____ students6,360
and ____ faculty608
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 16 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 16 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 66 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 20 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 3 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 1 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.