San Diego State University
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for San Diego State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jul 28, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$64,909
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
76%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$15,364
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$15,000
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
229numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESAre your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 36196 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 4988 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 41184 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 143 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 2370 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 243 | 1213 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2428 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 905 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 17 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 640 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 157 | 1230 | Not reported |
| Total | 6911 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 9108 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 212 |
| Master's degrees | 1899 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 141 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 37 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1332 | 588 | 3269 | 5189 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 246 | Not reported | Not reported | 839 |
| Completed in less than six years | 75 | 12 | 113 | 200 |
| Total completers | 961 | 462 | 2627 | 4050 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 72% | 79% | 80% | 78% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 5646 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 271 | 85 | Not reported | 947 |
| Completed in less than six years | 66 | 16 | 109 | 191 |
| Total completers | 1007 | 536 | 2772 | 4315 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 72% | 77% | 78% | 76% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 95,444 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6,911 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied84,805
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled5,368
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied9,043
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled1,400
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied1,596
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled143
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Academic electives1
Computer Science1
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7421
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.991
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.991
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.82
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:100
Amount of application fee:70
Application closing date (fall): Month11
Application closing date (fall): Day30
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Must reply by (date)X
Date: Month5
Date: Day1
Amount of housing deposit:375
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)No
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Other early decision plan closing date: Month1
Other early decision plan closing date: Day3
Number of early decision applications received by your institution3
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan15
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 7614 | 8525 | Not reported | 16556 |
| Admitted | 4136 | 4716 | Not reported | 9093 |
| Enrolled | 2040 | 2284 | Not reported | 4432 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Completion of required transfer supplemental application. CDS-D Page 15 Common Data Set 2025-26
Fall Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Fall Closing Date:Day30
Fall Notification Date: Day1
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:SDSU awards credit for military education, MOS Rankings (Military Occupational Specialties) and Military Experience with ACE recommended baccalaureate/associate or graduate degree category units. SDSU awards lower and/or upper division units as specified in the ACE credit recommendations. SDSU does not award credit for any vocational, technical or certificate degree category units.
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)21%
Percent of males who join fraternities14%
Percent of females who join sororities15%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing71%
Percent who live off campus or commute29%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)15%
Percent of males who join fraternities11%
Percent of females who join sororities12%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing25%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older9%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:$20,968
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance will be available:No
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 20968 | 6838 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | 2824 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | 24749 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Out-of-state:$471
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 413 | 1025 | 32 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 2390 | 2425 | 1800 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 61 | 266 | 3 |
| Average athletic grant | 27563 | 27398 | 15788 |
Academic Year2025-2026 estimated
Federal$80,712,892
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$40,725,946
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,649,329
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$63,086,116
Federal Work-Study$3,081,863
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$66,167,979
Parent Loans$10,662,325
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$26,084
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$2,680,484
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,631,705
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$27,331,492
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$27,331,492
Parent Loans$44,698,389
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$7,245,818
Athletic Awards$9,171,872
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.4,450
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:73
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$29,537
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$2,156,216
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 28 Common Data Set 2025-26
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio24
based on ____ students36,401
and ____ faculty1,494
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | 1.3% | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | 0.4% | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | 7.0% | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | 5.8% | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | 1.7% | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | 0.2% | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | 1.6% | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | 3.0% | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | 3.1% | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | 1.3% | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | 2.5% | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | 4.5% | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | 0.4% | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | 0.8% | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | 8.3% | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | 6.0% | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | 1.7% | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | 7.5% | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | 5.5% | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | 24.2% | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | 1.0% | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.