San Diego State University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for San Diego State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 17, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$64,909
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
76%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$15,364
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$15,000
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
178numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESAre your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
PublicPublic
Coeducational collegeCoeducational college
SemesterSemester
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://sacd.sdsu.edu/cie
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 34637 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 4736 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 39373 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 148 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 2174 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 177 | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2489 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 880 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 11 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 601 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 144 | 1195 | Not reported |
| Total | 6629 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 8582 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 82 |
| Master's degrees | 1907 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 90% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Academic electives1
Computer Science1
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class4
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent who had GPA of 4.037
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9930
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7420
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.499
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.243
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.991
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.84
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation?No
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Other early decision plan closing date1/3
Other early decision plan notification date1/3
Number of early decision applications received by your institution3
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan15
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 7645 | 8571 | 68 | 16284 |
| Admitted | 4036 | 4634 | 37 | 8707 |
| Enrolled | 1985 | 2221 | 16 | 4222 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Completion of required transfer supplemental application. CDS-D Page 13 Common Data Set 2024-25
Fall11
Winter30
Fall5
Winter1
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:SDSU awards credit for military education, MOS Rankings (Military Occupational Specialties) and Military Experience with ACE recommended baccalaureate/associate or graduate degree category units. SDSU awards lower and/or upper division units as specified in the ACE credit recommendations. SDSU does not award credit for any vocational, technical or certificate degree category units.
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)24%
Percent of men who join fraternities14%
Percent of women who join sororities15%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing70%
Percent who live off campus or commute30%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)16%
Percent of men who join fraternities11%
Percent of women who join sororities12%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing24%
Percent who live off campus or commute76%
Percent of students age 25 and older9%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://sacd.sdsu.edu/financial-aid/financial-aid/eligibility/cost-of-attendance/net-price-calculator
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 19770 | 19770 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 2730 | 2730 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 23736 | 23736 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
In-state (out-of-district):$444
Financial Aid
6 TABLESBoth FM and IM79638015
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$34,376,122
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$56,449,607
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,549,525
Federal Work-Study$0
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$58,999,132
Total Self-Help$4,070,862
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers
Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$9,559
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$3,404,600
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$4,270,513
Total Scholarships/Grants$28,377,379
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$0
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$28,377,379
Total Self-Help$38,061,795
Parent Loans$6,107,584
Tuition Waivers
Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$8,327,624
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.4,124
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:72
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$23,748
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$1,709,835
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 26 Common Data Set 2024-25
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2024 Student to Faculty ratio24
based on ____ students35,305
and ____ faculty1,462
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 6.7% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.4% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 7.4% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 4.9% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 7.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 6.3% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.7% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 5.9% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 25.0% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.