Rutgers University
2013-14
The 2013-14 Common Data Set for Rutgers University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
FSA
9%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
204numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESName of College/University:Universityw ide
Street Address Line 1:65 Davidson Road, Room #202
CityPiscataway
StateNJ
Zip08854-8097
Country:USA
Main Phone Number (Area Code)732
Main Phone Number:932-1766
WWW Home Page Address:http://www.rutgers.edu
Admissions Phone Number:732-932-INFO (4636)
Admissions Email Address:admissions@ugadm.rutgers.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 45959 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 19553 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 65512 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 468 | 1539 | 1674 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1031 | 153 | 154 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 636 | 4635 | 4688 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 3011 | 19520 | 19780 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 6 | 39 | 39 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2245 | 10449 | 10583 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 24 | 153 | 154 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 299 | 1470 | 1478 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 166 | 851 | 1211 |
| Total | 7886 | 6361 | 4147 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 6655 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 6650 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 3440 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 1324 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 310 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 5074% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 3276 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 229 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 16452 | 17093 | Not reported | 33,545 |
| Admitted | 10905 | 11463 | Not reported | 22,368 |
| Enrolled | 4006 | 3866 | Not reported | 7,872 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 3866 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 9 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units4
Mathematics4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 98 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 550 | 680 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class34
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class68
Percent in top half of high school graduating class98
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class2
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Amount of application fee:65
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:Deferral is granted only for a full academic year, from one fall semester to
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 5266 | 5923 | Not reported | 11189 |
| Admitted | 2926 | 3435 | Not reported | 6361 |
| Enrolled | 1900 | 2247 | Not reported | 4147 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
Fall Closing Date: Month1
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Spring Notification Date: Day23
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:60
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)8%
Percent who live off campus or commute23%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)5%
Percent who live off campus or commute63%
Percent of students age 25 and older12%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEIn-state (out-of-district):$353
Out-of-state:$835
Financial Aid
7 TABLESAcademic Year2012-2013 estimated
Federal$71,384,632
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$37,639,011
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$197,714,868
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$97,759,963
Federal Work-Study$8,293,932
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$106,053,895
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$33,791,529
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,674,576
Total Scholarships/Grants$39,467,965
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$117,884,914
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$14,959,352
Total Self-Help$132,844,266
Parent Loans$58,631,351
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$10,154,005
Athletic Awards$9,091,510
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:5
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month3
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):1
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Rutgers University - Universitywide, August 2014 Page 25 Common Data Set 2013-2014 RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW JERSEY: UNIVERSITYWIDE
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio12
based on ____ students43,003
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 1.4% | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 1.1% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | 0.4% | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.8% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 7.6% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 6.8% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.4% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 5.6% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11.4% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 17.1% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100% | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.