Rice University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Rice University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jun 27, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Rice University says 32,473 first-year students applied and 2,597 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 8.0%. 1,148 admitted students enrolled (44% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1510–1560 and ACT of 34–35. Early decision: 519 of 3,087 applicants admitted (17%). Waitlist: 3,920 offered a spot, 2,794 accepted one, and 122 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
Applicants, admits, and class seats use separate stage scales so Early Decision and all other rounds stay readable.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Early Decision | 3,087 | 519 | 17% | 519 | Likely class seats assume ED admits enroll. |
| All other rounds | 29,386 | 2,078 | 7% | 629 | All other rounds are residual CDS totals, not exact Regular Decision. |
71% joined after being offered a spot. 4% of students who joined were admitted. 12% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 3,920 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 2,794 |
| Admitted from wait list | 122 |
| Joined after being offered | 71% |
| Admitted after joining | 4% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
This school marks applicant interest as Considered. Read yield and wait-list behavior with that policy in mind.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
7 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
4 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 586 | 561 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 35 | 24 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1727 | 1738 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 2348 | 2323 | 1 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 4 | 8 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 2352 | 2331 | 1 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 1 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 60 | 45 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 2412 | 2376 | 1 | 0 | 4789 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 821 | 539 | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1381 | 880 | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 13 | 11 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 2215 | 1430 | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 47 | 29 | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 281 | 119 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 24 | 20 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 352 | 168 | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 4172 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 8961 | Not reported | Not reported | 7 | 8961 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 156 | 611 | 622 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 192 | 797 | 797 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 67 | 377 | 377 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 294 | 1221 | 1223 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 7 | 7 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 333 | 1390 | 1390 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 69 | 265 | 265 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 34 | 105 | 105 |
| Total | 1147 | 4776 | 4789 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 167 | 58 | 733 | 958 |
| Did not persist | 2 | 0 | 4 | 6 |
| Final cohort | 165 | 58 | 729 | 952 |
| Completed in less than four years | 143 | 53 | 632 | 828 |
| Completed in less than five years | 8 | 3 | 50 | 61 |
| Completed in less than six years | 3 | 0 | 9 | 12 |
| Total completers | 154 | 56 | 691 | 901 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 93.3% | 96.6% | 94.8% | 94.6% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 163 | 113 | 770 | 1046 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Final cohort | 162 | 112 | 769 | 1043 |
| Completed in less than four years | 136 | 99 | 697 | 932 |
| Completed in less than five years | 13 | 8 | 33 | 54 |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 2 | 10 | 12 |
| Total completers | 149 | 109 | 740 | 998 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 92.0% | 97.3% | 96.2% | 95.7% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 17033 | 15436 | 4 | 0 | 32,473 |
| Admitted | 1330 | 1267 | Not reported | Not reported | 2,597 |
| Enrolled full-time | 587 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 561 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,148 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1510 | 1540 | 1560 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 740 | 760 | 770 |
| SAT math | 770 | 790 | 800 |
| ACT composite | 34 | 35 | 35 |
| ACT math | 33 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT English | 35 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
2 TABLES| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1490 | 1490 | 1490 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 700 | 300 | 700 |
| Other expenses | 3025 | 3025 | 3025 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 55 | 234 | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 26665 | 19109 | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 35 | 220 | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1147 | 4776 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 896 | 3307 | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | 543 | 2179 | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 539 | 2158 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 531 | 2126 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 154 | 784 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 55 | 194 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 539 | 2153 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | 71698 | 69040 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 69891 | 66070 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | 2627 | 2740 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | 3154 | 3874 | Not reported |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 818 | 185 | 1003 |
| Members of minority groups | 234 | 42 | 276 |
| Females | 311 | 72 | 383 |
| Males | 505 | 105 | 610 |
| Nonresidents | 59 | 3 | 62 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 794 | 110 | 904 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 15 | 43 | 58 |
| Bachelor's degree | 9 | 27 | 36 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 59 | 34 | 93 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 297 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 297 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 427 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 153 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 86 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 59 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 89 | Not reported |
| Total | 28 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 13.2% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 14.8% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 14.2% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 5.8% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 5.2% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 5.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.