Rice University
2009-10
The 2009-10 Common Data Set for Rice University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$89,718
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
95%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$13,370
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$11,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
243numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3319 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2344 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 5663 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 111 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 108 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 66 | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 355 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 179 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 72 | Not reported | 203 |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1015 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 571 |
| Post-master's certificates | 168 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 717 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 716 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 591 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 67 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 11 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 669 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 93% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 700 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 700 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 571 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 75 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 7 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 653 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 93% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2005 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2005 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | 1261 | 1234 | Not reported | 2,495 |
| Enrolled | 465 | Not reported | Not reported | 465 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History3
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language4
Social studies2
History3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 6 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 680 | 780 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 30 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
If yes, maximum period of postponement:2 years
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 228 | 219 | Not reported | 447 |
| Admitted | 63 | 50 | Not reported | 113 |
| Enrolled | 36 | 33 | Not reported | 69 |
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Spring Closing Date: Month10
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Spring Notification Date: Day15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:60
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)46%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing97%
Percent who live off campus or commute3%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)44%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing70%
Percent who live off campus or commute30%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 33120 | 33120 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 651 | 651 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Financial Aid
7 TABLESAcademic Year2008-2009 estimated
Federal$2,502,504
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$28,003,152
Total Scholarships/Grants$32,430,600
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,940,078
Federal Work-Study$1,264,695
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$4,343
Total Self-Help$3,209,116
Athletic Awards$533,191
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$10,037,325
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,499,036
Total Scholarships/Grants$13,812,361
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,379,266
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$402,025
Total Self-Help$1,781,291
Parent Loans$1,939,493
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,391,640
Athletic Awards$8,700,021
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:61
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month3
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
If yes, starting date (Month):4
If yes, starting date (Day):1
AcademicsX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Starting with the entering class of 2008, we implemented a no loan policy for families with incomes below 60K.
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio8.2
based on ____ students4,901
and ____ faculty596
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | 0% | 0% | 3.8% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 0% | 0% | 2.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Education | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Engineering | 0% | 0% | 17.1% |
| Engineering technologies | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| English | 0% | 0% | 5.5% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | 0% | 8.2% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0% | 0% | 3.5% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 0% | 0% | 1.6% |
| Parks and recreation | 0% | 0% | 3.4% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 0% | 0% | 2.8% |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 0% | 0% | 4.4% |
| Science technologies | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Psychology | 0% | 0% | 6.3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | 0% | 0% | 3.0% |
| Social sciences | 0% | 0% | 16.7% |
| Construction trades | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Precision production | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 0% | 0% | 6.9% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | 0% | 0% | 4.9% |
| Other | 0% | 0% | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.