Reed College
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Reed College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$62,927
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
71%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$33,013
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$21,500
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
382numbers from this report.
General Information
8 TABLESFirst Name:Ellen
Last Name:Kotler
Title:Assistant Director
Office:Institutional Research
Address Line 1:3203 SE Woodstock Blvd
Phone:503-777-7501
Email Address:institutional-research@groups.reed.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
City:Portland, OR
Name of College/University:Reed College
Street Address Line 1:3203 SE Woodstock Blvd
CityPortland
StateOR
Zip97,202
Main Phone Number (Area Code)503
Main Phone Number:771-1112
WWW Home Page Address:www.reed.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):503
Admissions Phone Number:777-7511
Admissions Email Address:admission@reed.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1566 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 31 | 132 | 137 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 56 | 169 | 171 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 10 | 20 | 20 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 312 | 900 | 910 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 41 | 121 | 124 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 47 | 156 | 157 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 47 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 4 | 21 | 27 |
| Total | 502 | 1521 | 1548 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 58 | 103 | 260 | 421 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Final cohort | 58 | 101 | 259 | 418 |
| Completed in less than four years | 32 | 68 | 153 | 253 |
| Completed in less than five years | 8 | 9 | 25 | 42 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 5 | 3 | 9 |
| Total completers | 41 | 82 | 181 | 304 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 71% | 81% | 70% | 73% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 56 | 71 | 220 | 347 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 56 | 71 | 219 | 346 |
| Completed in less than four years | 47 | 29 | 138 | 214 |
| Completed in less than five years | 5 | 6 | 26 | 37 |
| Completed in less than six years | 2 | 4 | 8 | 14 |
| Total completers | 54 | 39 | 172 | 265 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 96% | 55% | 79% | 77% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 87.36% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESEntrance Exams
Institutional ExamX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2545 | 4028 | Not reported | 6,573 |
| Admitted | 999 | 1874 | Not reported | 2,873 |
| Enrolled | 160 | 284 | Not reported | 444 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:3,285
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:1,066
Number of wait-listed students admitted:1
Total academic units4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | Yes | — | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 39 | 195 |
| ACT | 28 | 139 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1330 | 1500 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 690 | 750 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 630 | 760 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 30 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 27 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 33 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80069.7
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69925.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5994
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80048
SAT Math: 600-69937.9
SAT Math: 500-59913.1
SAT Math: 400-4991
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160057.6
SAT Composite: 1200-139936.9
SAT Composite: 1000-11995.1
SAT Composite: 800-9990.5
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3681.3
ACT Composite: 24-2913.7
ACT Composite: 18-235
ACT Composite: Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:4.01
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESDescribe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:- D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit: C- Number Unit Type - D13 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution: Number Unit Type - D14 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution: - D15 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree: - D16 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor's degree: 60.00 - D17 Describe other transfer credit policies: ## D18-D22: Military Service Transfer Credit Policies - D18 Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits: Number Unit Type - D19 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on military education evaluated by the American Council on Education (ACE): Number Unit Type - D20 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on Department of Defense supported prior learning assessments (College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)): Yes No - D21 Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website? - D22 Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution: Yellow Ribbon Program X If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located: https://www.reed.edu/governance/faculty-code/index.html#iv.m.4.-credit-for-military-service American Council on Education (ACE) College Level Examination Program (CLEP) DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST) ##
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:60
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://www.reed.edu/governance/faculty-code/index.html#iv.m.4.-credit-for-military-service
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:Yellow Ribbon Program X If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located: https://www.reed.edu/governance/faculty-code/index.html#iv.m.4.-credit-for-military-service American Council on Education (ACE) College Level Examination Program (CLEP) DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST) ## D12-D17: Transfer Credit Policies ##
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESCross-registrationX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Other (specify):X
Specify:-
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)90%
Percent who live off campus or commute1%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)90%
Percent who live off campus or commute30%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Cooperative housingX
Wellness housingX
Financial Aid
12 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Federal$1,468,933
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$74,046
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$38,004,169
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$337,337
Total Scholarships/Grants$39,884,485
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,910,670
Federal Work-Study$514,190
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$761,214
Total Self-Help$3,186,074
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$0
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,500
Total Scholarships/Grants$2,500
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$3,087,912
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$3,087,912
Parent Loans$1,920,516
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 502 | 1511 | 0 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 353 | 931 | 0 |
| Determined to have financial need | 301 | 867 | 0 |
| Awarded any aid | 301 | 866 | 0 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 301 | 864 | 0 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 240 | 726 | 0 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Need fully met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.3
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 142 | 47 | 23822 |
| Federal loan programs | 131 | 43 | 19547 |
| Institutional loan programs | 11 | 4 | 14977 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 14 | 5 | 46947 |
CSS ProfileX
Noncustodial ProfileX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month1
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:X
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):1
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):15
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:- [ ] Yes
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 159 | 10 | 169 |
| Members of minority groups | 36 | 2 | 38 |
| Females | 75 | 3 | 78 |
| Males | 84 | 7 | 91 |
| Nonresidents | 11 | 1 | 12 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 152 | 10 | 162 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Bachelor's degree | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 82 | 79 |
| 10-19 students | 82 | 79 |
| 20-29 students | 155 | 27 |
| 30-39 students | 77 | 17 |
| 40-49 students | 7 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 0 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 3 | 0 |
| Total | 1 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 5.5% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 7.4% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.9% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 12.9% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 6.7% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 8.9% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 11.3% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 16.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 5.5% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 4.9% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.