Princeton University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Princeton University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Mar 5, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Princeton University says 40,468 first-year students applied and 1,868 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 4.6%. 1,410 admitted students enrolled (75% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1500–1560 and ACT of 34–35. Waitlist: 1,734 offered a spot, 1,396 accepted one, and 40 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 40,468 | 1,868 | 5% | 1,410 | School-reported totals. |
81% joined after being offered a spot. 3% of students who joined were admitted. 4% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 1,734 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 1,396 |
| Admitted from wait list | 40 |
| Joined after being offered | 81% |
| Admitted after joining | 3% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 693 | 714 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 24 | 10 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2116 | 2152 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 2833 | 2876 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 12 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 2845 | 2881 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 48 | 37 | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 48 | 37 | 0 | 2 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 2893 | 2918 | 0 | 2 | 5813 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 435 | 325 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1394 | 1121 | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 28 | 13 | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 1857 | 1459 | 0 | 5 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 1 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 1859 | 1460 | 0 | 5 | 3324 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 9137 | 4378 | 0 | 7 | 9137 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 171 | 721 | 751 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 126 | 574 | 577 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 125 | 499 | 499 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 441 | 1921 | 1925 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 9 | 9 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 334 | 1339 | 1343 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 101 | 411 | 413 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 108 | 232 | 293 |
| Total | 1407 | 5709 | 5813 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 334 | 6 | 998 | 1338 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 333 | 6 | 998 | 1337 |
| Completed in less than four years | 261 | 5 | 741 | 1007 |
| Completed in less than five years | 46 | 1 | 219 | 266 |
| Completed in less than six years | 17 | 0 | 15 | 32 |
| Total completers | 324 | 6 | 975 | 1305 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 97.3% | 100.0% | 97.7% | 97.6% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 98% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 20563 | 19883 | 22 | Not reported | 40,468 |
| Admitted | 903 | 965 | Not reported | Not reported | 1,868 |
| Enrolled full-time | 693 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,410 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 56 | 783 |
| ACT | 21 | 303 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1500 | 1530 | 1560 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 740 | 760 | 780 |
| SAT math | 770 | 790 | 800 |
| ACT composite | 34 | 35 | 35 |
| ACT math | 32 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT English | 35 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
1 TABLEFinancial Aid
8 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1407 | 5709 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1120 | 4050 | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | 1018 | 3818 | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 1018 | 3818 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1018 | 3818 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 83 | 307 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 1018 | 3818 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | 71237 | 73711 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 71237 | 73711 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3146 | 3321 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | 2942 | 3603 | Not reported |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1076 | 156 | 1232 |
| Members of minority groups | 306 | 37 | 343 |
| Females | 413 | 75 | 488 |
| Males | 663 | 81 | 744 |
| Nonresidents | 73 | 3 | 76 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 387 | 303 |
| 10-19 students | 387 | 303 |
| 20-29 students | 409 | 695 |
| 30-39 students | 84 | 163 |
| 40-49 students | 40 | 23 |
| 50-99 students | 29 | 4 |
| 100+ students | 59 | 2 |
| Total | 46 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 16.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 17.2% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.8% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 9.8% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 19.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.0% | 0.0% | 100.0% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.